← Back to homeMontgomery International School

Brussels, Belgium · est. 2007 · Private
Illustration · Brussels
Montgomery International School was founded in 2007 by David Gerone as a school for children who did not fit the conventional system; in 2015 it adopted the IB and within eight years was authorised for the PYP, MYP and DP. Since September 2023 it has been part of the French Ermitage Education Group. It has almost 200 students from more than 50 nationalities, most of whom come from abroad. The school is in central Brussels by Montgomery square, close to the EU institutions and NATO, in a mansion built in 1907. Its distinctive feature is the choice of two tracks from PYP 2: fully English or Advanced Bilingual English-French, leading to the IB Advanced Bilingual Diploma. Admissions are open, without academic selection, yet graduates have passed the IB Diploma at 100% for seven consecutive years.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $29 373–38 128 a year
26 000–33 750 EUR
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP
Languages of instruction
English, French
Registration fee
≈ $2 259
2 000 EUR
About the fees Annual tuition for the 2026-2027 school year: Grades 1-5 (PYP 1-5) 26000 euros, Grades 6-8 (MYP 1-3) 27850, Grades 9-10 (MYP 4-5) 28950, Grade 11 (DP 1) 33100, Grade 12 (DP 2) 33750 euros.
Admissions "Montgomery International School is inclusive and welcomes students from all backgrounds, nationalities and cultures"; the school has an open admissions policy. In the PYP "we accept all students from the age of 5.5 (by September) to the age of 11", with the last two report cards. For the MYP report cards are reviewed and placement tests in Math, English and/or French may be required; for the DP two years of report cards and placement tests in mathematics and languages are required, and transfer into DP 2 is agreed with the previous school. Students can join with little or no English up until MYP 5 (Grade 10); English proficiency is required only for Grades 9-12. There is no application deadline and students are accepted during the year if places are left; the steps are an enquiry, a visit or video call, an application on the platform, report cards, an offer and enrolment.
Stages and year groups Grades PYP 1 - DP 2 (Grades 1-12). IB Primary Years Programme: PYP 1-5 (Grades 1-5, from age 5.5 to 11). IB Middle Years Programme: MYP 1-5 (Grades 6-10, ages 11-16). IB Diploma Programme: DP 1-2 (Grades 11-12, ages 16-19). From PYP 2 there are two tracks: the English track (all subjects in English, French as a second language) and the Advanced Bilingual track (in the PYP half of lessons in French, in the MYP about 30%; French Language and Literature and History in French). In the DP the bilingual track leads to the Advanced Bilingual Diploma: French Language and Literature, English Language and Literature and History in French. Children under 6 attend the sister school Montessori House Brussels.
Address 133 rue du Duc, 1200 Brussels
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programmeErmitage Education Group · school is part of the networkThe IB register lists three programmes at the school: the Primary Years, Middle Years and Diploma Programmes.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Ermitage Education Groupschool network
A French education group; its page is on the site of its flagship school, ermitage.fr. The group describes itself as a family-founded institution set up in 1941 that has grown into an international group in France and Belgium: nearly 2000 day and boarding students aged 3 to 18 on five campuses, with IB, Cambridge IGCSE and French curriculum programmes. The group's page names five schools: Ermitage International School Paris in Maisons-Laffitte (founded in 1941), Sainte Victoire International School in Aix-en-Provence (2011), Montgomery International School in Brussels (2007), International School 33 in Bordeaux (2014) and the new Ermitage International School Bordeaux. The group's president is Jim Doherty. Montgomery's own site says the school joined the group in September 2023 and names three schools in the group rather than five; we quote both figures.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Average IB score
34 (world average 30.88)
Exam results The Class of 2025 achieved a 100% IB Diploma pass rate, the seventh consecutive year. The 4-year average score is 34, and 50% of students graduate with the bilingual or advanced bilingual diploma. The school says it obtained the best IBDP score in Brussels in 2022.
Where leavers go: Imperial College London · King's College London · London School of Economics · University College London · University of Edinburgh · University of St Andrews · KU Leuven · Université Libre de Bruxelles · Bocconi University · Delft University of Technology · Erasmus University Rotterdam · Maastricht University
and others, 20 universities in the school's list in allGraduates have been accepted at, among others, Imperial College London, King's College London, LSE, UCL, the University of Edinburgh, the University of St Andrews, KU Leuven, ULB, Bocconi, TU Delft, Erasmus University Rotterdam, Maastricht University, the University of Amsterdam, Sciences Po Grenoble, ESSEC, the Sorbonne, McGill, the University of Toronto, the University of British Columbia and Trinity College Dublin. University counselling starts in MYP 5.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: Art Club · Coding School (Logiscool) · Dance · French Club · Piano lessons · Guitar or Bass lessons · Tennis lessons · Italian Lessons · Library Book Club · Team Sport · Homework Club
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school publishes a list of primary and secondary teachers by name and subject, along with a social-emotional learning teacher, a librarian, a learning support teacher and a university counsellor. It emphasises small classes and close student-teacher relationships, but gives no figures on qualifications or the student-teacher ratio.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)95 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country