Ranking · Sweden · Mora
← Back to the ranking

Mora gymnasium

Sweden Mora, Sweden · State
Illustration · Mora
71.5#26 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Mora gymnasium is a municipal upper secondary school in Mora (Dalarna) run by the joint upper secondary board of the municipalities of Mora, Orsa and Älvdalen. It has about 1000 upper secondary students and about 200 staff, with about 500 more in adult education. The school runs 14 national programmes (five university-preparatory and nine vocational) in Swedish, introductory programmes, apprenticeships, the adapted upper secondary school and seven sports programmes; its alumni include Olympic champions. Since October 2019 the school has been authorised by the IB for the Diploma Programme: a three-year track of a pre-IB preparatory year and two years of the IBDP with a social science or natural science path; in the IB track and pre-IB year English is the language of instruction and communication in all subjects. There is no pre-IB intake in autumn 2026. The school was the first IB upper secondary school in Sweden accredited by the World Academy of Sport as an athlete-friendly education centre (IB Sports). The share of fully qualified teachers is, the school says, very high.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Admits from
16 years
Languages of instruction
Swedish, English
Languages taught
German, Spanish, French
School website
Students
about 1000
About the fees Tuition is free: this is a municipal upper secondary school. Swedish, Nordic and international students pay no tuition; international students pay only the IB examination fees on the last invoice. IB exam retakes and remarking are paid by the student.
Admissions The pre-IB year is applied for in the same way as Swedish national programmes, through Antagningen Falun: passing grades from grundskola in English, mathematics and Swedish plus nine other subjects are required; exceptions are possible for Swedish and the number of subjects, but not for English and mathematics; the expected English level is CEFR B1.1, and B1.2 for the IBDP. International students are admitted directly to IBDP1 or IBDP2, without the pre-IB, via a form on the site; priority: Swedish students with Swedish grades, Swedish students with a foreign leaving certificate, students from the Nordic countries, then international students with a compulsory school certificate validated by Antagningen Falun. Applicants with foreign education may be asked to take a test in English and mathematics. Students from outside the EU may need a residence permit from Migrationsverket. Children in Sweden for a set period (for example, parents working for two years) may be granted an exception on Swedish. There is no pre-IB intake in autumn 2026.
Stages and year groups Grades 10-12. Swedish gymnasieskola: 14 three-year national programmes leading to the gymnasieexamen (university-preparatory: Business, Arts, Natural Science, Social Science, Technology and IB; nine vocational), introductory programmes, apprenticeships, the adapted upper secondary school, the Friskvård profile, seven sports programmes (RIG, NIU, LIU). IB Diploma Programme since October 2019: a pre-IB year (Swedish courses, no DP subjects; German, Spanish or French and biology for natural science requirements can be added), then two years of the IBDP with a social science or natural science path; six subjects at SL and HL, the Extended Essay, TOK, CAS; English A, Swedish A, English B, Swedish B, German B, Swedish ab initio. The track gives eligibility for universities in Sweden and abroad. There is no pre-IB intake in autumn 2026.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programme
The school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma Programme. The IB track runs inside a Swedish upper-secondary school; the preparatory year took no intake in 2026, and students join the IB Diploma directly.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Clubs and activities: UF Ung Företagsamhet (student enterprises) · Elevrådet (student council)

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: a very high share of fully qualified teachers, 13 lead teachers and one lecturer
About 200 staff; the school says the share of fully qualified teachers is very high, and it has 13 lead teacher (förstelärare) posts and one lecturer post. The IB track is run by the IBDP coordinator, a vice principal and a careers counsellor.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The student health team: special needs teachers, a counsellor, school nurses, a careers counsellor and principals, with access to a school doctor and psychologist. A policy against alcohol, drugs, doping and tobacco applies at school and in student housing, with prevention work together with the police and social services. The IB track has an equality and anti-discrimination plan.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
75
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
64
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Deutsche Schule StockholmStockholm · 71.5HaganässkolanAlmhult · 71.5AranäsgymnasietKungsbacka · 71.4International School of HelsingborgHelsingborg · 71.7