Home · Serbia · Belgrade
← Back to home

Osnovna škola Savremena

Сербия Belgrade, Serbia · Private
Illustration · Belgrade
68.5#18 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The school works in New Belgrade and takes children from the preparatory group to the eighth grade; it is a separate institution, although the gymnasium and the international school of the same educational group stand beside it in its own texts, and the group describes itself as a system with more than twenty years of experience. There are three programmes to choose from. The national one goes by the state plan, in Serbian, and gives the national leaving certificate. The combined one teaches part of the subjects in English, joining the state plan with the Cambridge one, and adds a Cambridge report to the certificate; on it pupils sit Cambridge Checkpoint. A fully Cambridge programme in English the school announces as being prepared. Separately it names the Finnish model of teaching, work by the Cambridge Global Perspectives method, the Life Skills programme with financial literacy and entrepreneurship, and a ban on mobile telephones in the school. The languages: English with the emphasis on teaching it as a mother tongue, and also German, French with DELF certification and Spanish. About its teachers the school gives not names but shares: all with higher education, four out of five with a master's degree, more than half with over ten years of experience, all fluent in English, about a third speaking three languages or more, seven out of ten having worked in state schools. There are twelve clubs, from drama and music to robotics, financial literacy, LEGO engineering, judo with wrestling and school vlogging. In summer the bilingual Summer Boost camp runs, in July and until the end of the holidays, in blocks of one week, of four weeks and of eight weeks. The school publishes its fees itself and states them in euros. In 2024 the school received an award for the most innovative approach to education, with a mention of robotics and artificial intelligence in teaching.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $7 119–11 722 a year
6 128–10 090 EUR
Programmes
Cambridge · Lower Secondary
Admits from
5 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Serbian, English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish
Summer camp
Yes, open to all
About the fees The school publishes its fees itself, on a cost page, and states the sums in euros rather than in dinars. Payment can be made in full or in twelve monthly parts; for payment of the whole sum at once the school gives a further five per cent discount. Discounts for children from one family: ten per cent for the second child, thirty for the third, and the fourth and further children study free of charge as long as the periods of study overlap. The reduced prices are announced as valid until 30 September. In the tuition package the school includes textbooks and school supplies, uniform, the library, sports activities in the school and outside it, outings to the theatre, the cinema and concerts, clubs, physical education equipment, security services, the internet and preparation for secondary school for grades V-VIII. Meals, organised transport, the annual medical check-up and creative workshops go on top of the fee, and the school names no prices for them: transport, it says, is worked out by the number of pupils on one route, the number of days and the distance. Of the extras one firm price is named, the FAST after-school care until 18:00 at 120 euros a month.
Admissions Admission the school sets out in six steps: an application through the site or by telephone, the arrangement of a convenient time, a conversation at the school, testing on entry to the first grade and a check of aptitudes, the signing of a contract and enrolment. After the contract the family brings an extract from the birth certificate, a medical certificate of fitness for school and confirmation of payment, of the first part, of the half year or of the whole year; the remaining documents the school draws up itself. For the preparatory group fewer documents are needed than for the grades. There is a separate procedure for transfer from other schools. The school names no deadlines and no number of places, but warns that the number of places is strictly limited.
Stages and year groups Grades preparatory group (5-6 years) - grade VIII. The school runs a preparatory group for five-year-olds and six-year-olds, the junior grades from the first to the fourth and the senior ones from the fifth to the eighth; there is no ninth grade in a Serbian basic school, after it comes the gymnasium, and the same group does have a gymnasium of its own, but that is a separate institution with a separate licence. There are three programmes to choose from: the national one, the combined one with teaching in Serbian and English, and the fully Cambridge one, which the school announces as being prepared. The school names no class sizes and no number of classes; it says only that the number of places is strictly limited and that more than sixty per cent of them are taken by the new year.
Address Bulevar heroja sa Košara 17, Novi Beograd, Beograd, Srbija

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · Lower Secondary · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Lower Secondary (ages 11-14). Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: The building is in New Belgrade, at present 2,000 square metres, and the school announces an extension to 10,000. The classrooms are glazed, as are the offices, with interactive boards, cameras for live broadcasting of lessons, tablets and laptops; school node chairs allow a classroom to be reassembled for group work. There is a learning centre with a library, a computer room, work corners throughout the building, a virtual reality room, a school restaurant and rest rooms with billiards, table football and a piano. In the yard there is a large playground with greenery, a multi-purpose pitch for football, basketball, volleyball and tennis, a running track with a tartan surface, a summer dining area, an open stage with movable stands, an area for the youngest children and the Future Hub dome. The school describes the way to the site by the motorway and by city transport lines and separately offers organised transport.
Clubs and activities (12): Drama · Music · Art club · Mali kulinari (cookery) · Zabavna robotika (coding and robotics) · Financial literacy · LEGO club · Judo and wrestling · Language and literature club · Savremeni vlogeri (school vlogging and journalism) · Environmental club · Školica engleskog jezika
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp and takes children from outside as well
The Summer Boost summer camp is bilingual, both teaching and recreational, and runs from July until the end of the holidays, in blocks of one, four and eight weeks, from Monday to Friday from 8 to 18. It takes pupils from the first to the eighth grade, both its own and those from other schools. Nine directions: outings and city visits, sport (volleyball, basketball, football, athletics, table tennis, badminton), school subjects presented through play, solving Brainfinity problems, English by the Cambridge method, programming and the basics of robotics, life skills, fine art with music, theatre and creative writing, and Friday tournaments. The school promises 280 teaching hours and 308 activities, a daily snack, a T-shirt, a certificate, materials and access to equipment. The price: 250 euros for a week, 750 for four weeks, 1,500 for eight; with payment before 30 June, 150, 600 and 1,200 euros.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The number of teachers by name the school does not publish, but it gives shares: one hundred per cent with higher education, eighty per cent with a master's degree, more than half with over ten years of teaching experience, most with over five; one hundred per cent speak English fluently, about a third have three languages or more; seventy per cent have worked in state schools, forty in private ones, almost half in both. The school separately names a page with the criteria for selecting teachers and continuous professional development through seminars and conferences. On the page with the staff, the teachers of the junior grades, the subject teachers and the language specialists are listed: for English, German, French and Spanish.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school keeps a separate programme for the prevention of bullying and speaks of a safe environment as a task of its own: psychologists and mental health specialists run classes about behaviour and mentoring projects with pupils, and the good behaviour workshops are run jointly by teachers, psychologists and invited specialists. Security services the school names as part of the tuition package, but what exactly they cover it does not spell out. The Intelligent school bus is described on a page of its own, and the annual medical check-up the school offers to carry out on its premises, through the partner Medi group system. The school names no video surveillance, no security, no access control system, no permanent medical worker, no written child protection policy and no checks on hiring; the cameras in its classrooms are mentioned as a means of broadcasting lessons live, not of surveillance.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
75
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Tereshkova First Russian International SchoolBelgrade · 68.4Brook Hill International SchoolBelgrade · 69London Gates BelgradeBelgrade · 67.9Gimnazija Jovan Jovanović ZmajNovi Sad · 69.5