Home · Spain · Palma
← Back to home

Queen's College

Spain Palma, Spain · est. 1977 · Private
Illustration · Palma
75.4#73 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Queen's College is a secular co-educational British school in Palma, founded in 1977; it has 400 pupils aged from three to eighteen, and legally the school is held by Bonanova English School S.L. Teaching follows the National Curriculum of England in English, and on top of it come subjects of the Spanish ministry - Spanish, social studies and Catalan - for Spaniards and for pupils of other nationalities with sufficient Spanish; the others learn Spanish as a foreign language. A second foreign language from Year 6 is French or German. At the end of Year 9 pupils sit Cambridge International Checkpoint in English, mathematics and science, in Year 10-11 GCSE and IGCSE from Cambridge and Edexcel, in Year 12-13 AS and A level, out of 17 subjects; the Spanish section gives recognition of the ESO and bachillerato certificates and access to Spanish universities. The school has taught A level since 1977 and has now also become an IB World School with the IB Diploma Programme, which has its own Queen's Baccalaureate page. The class of 2024: more than 20 percent achieved at least four A or A* grades, and 47 percent of all A level grades were A* or A. The school is recognised by the Balearic education department on the recommendation of the British Council, is a member of NABSS and is inspected by it. Most pupils are British or Spanish, but children of many other nationalities also attend. The buildings stand in a residential area overlooking the Bay of Palma, near the forest and Bellver Castle: the school grew out of a former convent, with new classrooms built around courtyards.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $8 903–15 522 a year
7 881–13 740 EUR
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Spanish, Catalan, French, German
School website
Students
400
Class size
up to 15 pupils in Years 7-9 (Key Stage 3)
About the fees The school publishes its fees itself and calls them public. For the 2026-2027 school year the annual fee runs from 7881 euros in Nursery to 13740 euros in Year 10-11; in Year 12-13 it is 13637 euros, excluding school materials. With advance payment of the whole year by 20 June the price is lower: from 7600 to 13250 euros; one can also pay by term (from 2695 to 4699 euros) or in ten monthly payments (from 845 to 1480 euros). If payment deadlines are missed, the whole year is recalculated retroactively at the monthly rate. Bills are issued by Bonanova English School S.L., payment is by direct debit only; a bank return costs the bank's charge plus 30 euros.
Admissions Admission at all stages is by interview and assessment. Except at Nursery, applicants are expected to have good spoken and written English for their age. Interviews for Nursery take place in October of the previous year. In the primary school the child spends a morning in class, where the teacher sees whether the school suits the child; in the secondary school applicants take tests in English and mathematics, and Spanish where relevant; Sixth Form (Year 12-13) entry depends on GCSE results and a reference from the previous school. Pupils from another school bring their latest reports and, on request, a character reference from the head teacher. The school accepts foreigners directly: most pupils are British or Spanish, but many other nationalities are represented; children without sufficient Spanish learn it as a foreign language. The school admits pupils of different faiths. Every year families fill in a re-enrolment form in the second term.
Stages and year groups Grades Nursery (age 3) - Year 13, to age 18. Stages: Nursery and Reception, primary Year 1-6, Key Stage 3 (Year 7-9, ages 11-14, in the Spanish system the sixth grade to the second year of ESO), Key Stage 4 (Year 10-11, the third and fourth years of ESO) and the Sixth Form (Year 12-13, bachillerato). In Key Stage 3 all subjects are taught in groups of no more than 15, and in Key Stage 4 classes are split in two for compulsory subjects. In the Sixth Form a pupil usually takes 4 or 5 subjects out of 17. Lessons run from 8:50 to 15:50, the gates open at 8:30, and extracurricular activities run from 16:00 to 17:00. The school describes itself as an IB World School with the IB Diploma Programme.
Address C/ Joan de Saridakis, 64, 07015 Palma, Illes Balears

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeNABSS · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
NABSSschool network

NABSS (National Association of British Schools in Spain) is not an owner of schools but an association of British schools in Spain, founded in 1978 by a group of leading British schools in the country. According to the association, it has more than 80 member schools, which educate more than 49,000 children and employ more than 5,000 teachers. Only schools officially authorised by the Spanish authorities as foreign schools teaching the British education system and certified by the British Council after inspections can be members; new schools that are still developing are not admitted straight away. The association represents the schools' common interests, encourages collaboration between them and holds an annual conference; its school finder places member schools in Madrid, Catalonia, the Valencian Community, Andalusia, the Balearic and Canary Islands, Murcia and other regions. The association's site is nabss.org.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results The class of 2024: more than 20 percent of pupils achieved at least four A or A* grades at A level and the school Sisu award (by the school's conversion 12.7 out of 14 on the Spanish scale or 39-40 IB points), and 47 percent of all A level grades were A* or A. External examinations by year: Cambridge International Checkpoint at the end of Year 9, GCSE and IGCSE in Year 10-11, AS in Year 12 and A level in Year 13.
Where leavers go: Imperial College London · Columbia University · ESSEC · University of Oxford · University of Cambridge · London School of Economics · TU Eindhoven · Maastricht University · University of Bristol · University of Southampton · University of Bath · University of Manchester and others, 20 universities in the school's list in all
Most leavers go on to universities in the United Kingdom and Spain; the school gives a list of universities and courses over five years (more than 30 lines, from Bath and Bristol to Passau and Complutense) and names entries to Oxford, Cambridge, LSE, Imperial College, Columbia and ESSEC. The class of 2024 went on to the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Spain, the USA, Germany and Italy, two of them to medicine.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Two addresses in Palma: the infant school at C/ Joan de Saridakis 64 and the main school at C/ Francisco Vidal i Sureda 74A-B, in a residential area overlooking the bay, near the forest and Bellver Castle. The school grew out of a former convent, which now houses the administration; classrooms are built around a series of courtyards. A new physics and chemistry laboratory and a biology laboratory from 2008 with ultra-short-throw projectors. Its own canteen; a pool at Queen's Centre, where swimming takes place in summer.
Clubs and activities (14): Little Penguins · Psychomotor skills · Homework Club · German · Science · Chinese · Art · Study Group · Football · Judo · Rhythmic gymnastics · Queen's Lingua language school · House system · Sisu awards

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school publishes neither a staff list nor the number of teachers. It describes its teachers as holding degrees and experience in their subjects, and the Sixth Form method as combining the teachers' long experience with new tools; the Sixth Form has its own coordinator, Ken Williams. The school states group sizes: in Key Stage 3 no more than 15 pupils per subject, in Key Stage 4 classes are split in half, and option groups are smaller still. Every pupil has a form tutor.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a psychologist: she works with pupils who have learning, behavioural, social or emotional difficulties when teachers refer them, sees those who come to her themselves, and works with parents and teachers. There is a separate service for children with special educational needs and a behaviour system with rewards. The school names no child protection policy, no security staff, no video surveillance and no medical room.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
92
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
60
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

The English Montessori SchoolMadrid · 75.4The English International CollegeMarbella · 75.4American School of BarcelonaEsplugues de Llobregat · 75.5Institució La FargaSant Cugat del Valles · 75.5