← Back to the rankingQuestfield International College

Voluntari, Romania · est. 2003 · Private
Illustration · Voluntari
Questfield International College is a private bilingual school in Pipera, Voluntari, north of Bucharest: from crèche to A Level, more than 300 children. Its story began in 2003 with founder Fabiola Hosu's Wonderland Nursery; then came the Little London kindergarten and school in Pipera, and in 2012-2013 the Questfield name. The primary school opened in 2015, the middle school in 2020, the international line in 2022 and the high school in 2023. There are two lines under one roof: the Romanian national curriculum in Romanian with seven hours of English a week, and the British Cambridge curriculum in English with seven hours of Romanian a week; children can move between the lines, most often around grade 5-6. There is about one teacher for every five children. The school reports BSO accreditation, COBIS membership, Cambridge school and exam centre status and ARACIP accreditation and authorisation of its levels; it belongs to the UNESCO Associated Schools Network.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · National programme
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Romanian, English
Students per teacher
about 5 children per teacher at every level
Admissions The school admits children throughout the year, including mid-year, subject to availability, and children from other school systems: it assesses their level and previous curriculum and finds the right line and year group. Steps: a form or call, a reply within one working day, a visit to meet the teachers, a trial day in class, a conversation with the parents and the head of level, then the enrolment paperwork. Children who do not speak Romanian join the Cambridge line, taught in English, with Romanian lessons every week. A transfer usually takes two to three weeks; on the Cambridge line Year 7 is a natural entry point.
Stages and year groups Kindergarten from 2 to 6, bilingual (Romanian and English). Romanian line: preparatory class and grades 1-4, grades 5-8, high school since 2023, currently up to grade 11, leading to the Romanian bacalaureat. Cambridge line (National Curriculum for England): Year 1-6, Year 7-9 with Cambridge Checkpoint, IGCSE in Year 10-11, AS Level in Year 12 and A Level in Year 13. Cambridge line students do not sit the Romanian bacalaureat; A Level results are recognised in Romania through equivalence. Both lines offer Duke of Edinburgh, Model United Nations, TEDx, internships and career weeks.
Address Str. Titu Maiorescu 26, Pipera, Voluntari, Ilfov
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeBSO · accreditationCOBIS · membershipThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre (listed as Questfield School). It is inspected under the British Schools Overseas scheme and is a member of COBIS. The international line leads to IGCSE and A Level, with a Romanian national line alongside.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas
A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.
What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →COBISCouncil of British International Schools
An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.
What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results Cambridge Checkpoint, Lower Secondary, October 2024: English 44 out of 50 against an international average of 25, 72% of students scored Outstanding; mathematics 33 out of 50 against an average of 31; science 31 out of 50 against an average of 31.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Clubs and activities: Debate club · Duke of Edinburgh · Model United Nations · TEDx Questfield · Drama · ICT and Computer Science
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
Both lines are taught by the same teachers. Teaching assistants work in classes; every class has a form tutor and every division its own counsellor. The school describes balanced workloads, ongoing training, career pathways, a fair pay scale and transparent appraisal for staff.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
Around every child are a form tutor, school counsellors, a psychologist, a nurse and a safeguarding lead; the school's advisory board has a member for safeguarding. The school publishes child protection, anti-bullying, online safety, health and safety and medical policies; it has zero tolerance for bullying and uses restorative practices. Its welfare approach follows the eight principles of the Public Health England model, and the curriculum includes Personal, Social, Health and Moral Education.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data75 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data76 Value for money (6%) scored at the median55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country