Ranking · Netherlands · Oegstgeest
← Back to the ranking

Rijnlands Lyceum Oegstgeest

Netherlands Oegstgeest, Netherlands · est. 1956 · State
Illustration · Oegstgeest
77.3#8 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Rijnlands Lyceum Oegstgeest (RLO) is a state-subsidised Dutch school in Oegstgeest near Leiden, founded in 1956. One building houses a Dutch school (havo, atheneum and gymnasium, with most vwo students in tweetalig onderwijs, where many lessons are taught in English) and the international department ISRLO with IB programmes in English: the Middle Years Programme for ages 11-16 and the Diploma Programme for ages 16-18. Since 1983 the school has been among the first in the country to offer subsidised international education, and in the late 1980s it was one of five schools worldwide that developed and piloted the MYP. The school has about 1400 students and 180 staff; the international department had 334 students from 43 countries. The school is preparing to open the IB Career-related Programme from 2027-2028.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · MYP, DP · National programme
Admits from
11 years
Languages of instruction
English, Dutch
Languages taught
French, Spanish, German, Latin, Greek
School website
Students
about 1400 in the whole school, of whom 334 in the international department (October 2023 figures)
Deposit
≈ $565
500 EUR
About the fees The school publishes international department fees for 2026-2027 only in its admissions portal. The latest fee list on the website is for 2024-2025: MYP1-5 7800 EUR, DP1-2 8900 EUR per year. Textbooks are free. The Dutch part charges no tuition, only a voluntary ouderbijdrage of 216 EUR in 2026-2027.
Admissions The international department admits under Dutch law: a foreign passport holder with at least one parent temporarily employed in the Netherlands or near the border; or a Dutch citizen educated abroad for two years or longer because of a parent's temporary work abroad; or a Dutch citizen whose parent will work abroad within two years for two years or longer (an employer statement is required). For the MYP the child must be 11 by the end of August of the year of entry. Applications go through the school portal; after admission the place is confirmed by a 500 EUR deposit and the first fee instalment. The school calls itself open to a range of abilities and helps find a pathway for those not suited to the Diploma Programme. Entry to the DP follows MYP5 promotion criteria. The Dutch part of the school admits under regular Dutch rules after primary school (groep 8), with a separate admissions section on rlo.nl.
Stages and year groups Grades MYP1-5, DP1-2; havo 1-5, vwo 1-6 (atheneum, gymnasium, tto). International department (in English): the IB Middle Years Programme in MYP1-5 (English and Dutch language and literature, French, Spanish and Dutch acquisition, history, geography, economics, standard and extended mathematics, design, visual arts, drama, music, sciences, PHE; eAssessments and the personal project in MYP5), then the IB Diploma Programme in DP1-2 (English literature, English language and literature, Dutch, self-taught mother tongue, English, French, Spanish and Dutch B, business management, economics, geography, history, ESS, biology, chemistry, physics, mathematics, visual arts, music). Candidate for the IB Career-related Programme from 2027-2028. Dutch part (in Dutch): havo, atheneum and gymnasium with the eindexamen; tweetalig vwo (tto) with part of the lessons in English and the IB English A exam in the upper years. The school hosts Cambridge English, DELF, DELE and DSD language exams as external exams.
Address Apollolaan 1, 2341 BA Oegstgeest

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · MYP, DP · authorised programmePASCH · takes part in the programme
The school is listed in the IB register and runs the Middle Years and Diploma programmes. The international department follows the IB; a Dutch havo, vwo and gymnasium school runs alongside. The school is part of the PASCH network.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PASCHSchools: Partners for the Future, an initiative of the German foreign ministry

More than two thousand schools in about 120 countries. A school cannot apply for itself: participants are chosen by German agencies in agreement with the embassy. Very different schools sit under one mark - full German schools abroad, and ordinary national schools that simply teach German well.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to a German support programme. By itself the mark means neither a German curriculum nor the right to award a German certificate: of the two thousand PASCH schools, about seventeen hundred hold no such right. Look for a ZfA status next to it - that is the one that is about this. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results Share of students awarded the IB Diploma per the school profile: 2015-2016 100%, 2016-2017 98%, 2017-2018 100%, 2018-2019 100%, 2019-2020 96%, 2020-2021 97%, 2021-2022 100%, 2022-2023 96%. The school does not publish average scores.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio
Clubs and activities: Model United Nations, RijnMUN · Theatre production · Poetry Competition · GNE speaking and writing competition · Action Horse Power · Green Team · Gender and Sexuality Alliance · CanSat · Olympiades · ROSloop (school run)
Source: isrlo.nl

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
✓Number of teachers120
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: teachers hold a teaching qualification or are training for one; many are native or near-native English speakers
About 120 teachers teach in both the Dutch and the international parts (per the 2023-2024 profile); the 2026-2027 guide mentions 180 staff. Each class has a tutor with weekly tutor lessons. The school does not give class sizes.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
Internal confidential counsellors for students and parents and external confidential advisors; an anti-bullying protocol for both parts of the school and two anti-bullying coordinators; the school follows the Dutch domestic violence and child abuse protocol. The JGZ youth health service runs health questionnaires in the lower MYP years, and the nurse or doctor contacts families about long absences. There is a support coordinator.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
88
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
60
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
85
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

American School of The HagueWassenaar · 77.2The International School of The HagueThe Hague · 77.4Rijnlands Lyceum WassenaarWassenaar · 77.5International School UtrechtUtrecht · 77.6