Ranking · Denmark · Aalborg
← Back to the ranking

Skipper Clement International School

Denmark Aalborg, Denmark · est. 2001 · Private
Illustration · Aalborg
73.3#16 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Skipper Clement International School is the international department of the private school Skipper Clement Skolen in central Aalborg; the school calls itself Aalborg's largest private school and the only international school in Northern Jutland. Skipper Clement Skolen is bilingual: a Danish department runs alongside the international one. The international department opened in 2001 as the first international school on the Jutland peninsula and joined Skipper Clement Skolen in 2005; it has been a registered Cambridge International School since 2001 and a Cambridge examinations centre since 2002. More than 260 children aged 5 to 17 study in eleven classes, one for each stage from 1 to 11, and since 2023 a second line of classes has been growing from the bottom up. Stages 1-6 follow the Cambridge curriculum in all subjects, stages 7-9 in English, Mathematics and Science, and stages 10-11 offer 9 IGCSE subjects. All lessons except Danish are taught in English. The department serves children of international families in Northern Jutland, Danish families returning from abroad and local families wanting an international education.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $3 620–3 922 a year
2 395–2 595 DKK a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE
Admits from
5 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Danish, German, Spanish
Students
more than 260
Class size
22-24 students in grades 4-6 pupils
Deposit
≈ $453
3 000 DKK
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027 for international department students with a Danish CPR number: stages 1-4 2395 DKK per month, stages 5-11 2595 DKK per month, paid for 11 months from August to June, with July free. The second and third child pay 1095 DKK per month. Trip contributions are added: 255 DKK per month in stage 6, 460 DKK in stage 8, 500 DKK in stage 10 and 185 DKK in stage 11. Without a CPR number by 5 September an extra fee of 3000 DKK per quarter may be charged. A short-term stay costs 750 DKK per week. Low-income families can apply for a government rebate of up to 30% of the fees.
Admissions The school admits students whatever their level of English and mainstreams them as fast as possible. Stage 1 takes children who turn 5 before 1 September of the year they start; stages 1-3 are for ages 5-8, 4-6 for ages 7-11, 7-9 for ages 11-14 and 10-11 for ages 14-17. Older stages require good spoken and written English, and there is usually an entry test for stages 10 and 11. Families first complete an application form and join the waiting list, then may attend an interview with the Department Head and an information meeting; after an offer they pay a registration fee and deposit and sign a contract. When classes are full, priority goes to families coming to Aalborg from overseas, then siblings, then internal transfers, then local families by date of application. Families must disclose any special learning needs; the school warns that as a private school it may not provide all the support needed and that there is no nurse on site every day. Children need a Danish CPR number by 1 September.
Stages and year groups Grades Stage 1-11, 11 classes. Stages follow Cambridge practice: Key Stage 1 is stages 1-3, Key Stage 2 stages 4-6, Key Stage 3 stages 7-9, Key Stage 4 stages 10-11. Cambridge Primary in all subjects in stages 1-6 with Checkpoint Primary in stage 6; Cambridge Lower Secondary in English, Mathematics and Science in stages 7-9 with Checkpoint in stage 9; Cambridge IGCSE in stages 10-11 (English as a first or second language, German or Spanish, Mathematics, Coordinated or Separate Sciences, History or Geography, Information Technology or Food and Nutrition), with the best students earning the ICE certificate. Danish follows the Danish Fælles Mål curriculum, with FP9 possible in stage 10 and FP10 in stage 11. There is no preschool.
Address Gammel Kærvej 28-30, 9000 Aalborg

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE · authorised programme
The Cambridge register names the school as its centre: in Stages 1-6 all subjects follow Cambridge, in Stages 7-9 English, maths and science, and in Stages 10-11 students take nine IGCSE subjects. It is the international department of the private school Skipper Clement Skolen.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results Cambridge ICE certificate (at least 7 IGCSE exams): in 2022 10 students achieved Merit and 1 Pass, in 2021 2 achieved Distinction and 2 Merit. Checkpoint at stage 9, 2022 cohort averages on a scale of 1 to 6: English 4.2, Mathematics 4.9, Science 4.1. Checkpoint Primary at stage 6 in 2022: English 4.5, Mathematics 4.6, Science 4.7. IGCSE results for 2026 were released to students on 18 August and are not published on the website.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Playground
Campus: The international department occupies buildings at Gammel Kærvej 28-30 in central Aalborg, between Kildeparken and the Rustenborg playing field, five minutes' walk from the station. Stages 1-6 are in the new Clementhus building, opened in 2020, with a playground for the younger classes since 2022; stages 10 and 11 are on the third floor of the main building. The school uses nearby sports facilities and has a school hall and a library. There is no canteen: students bring a packed lunch, and milk and sandwiches can be ordered.
Clubs and activities: Lillekor (junior choir) · Skipperkor (middle-school choir) · Clementines (senior choir) · Drama (drama in Danish) · Klub (club for Stages 5-6: cooking, computers, table tennis) · Aalborg Kulturskole (private music lessons at school)

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school says the department has built a core of established and experienced international teachers, and aims for a high standard of teaching and well-qualified, dedicated teachers. In Danish lessons each class has a second teacher for students who cannot follow the main group. The website does not list individual teacher qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
Every year students agree to the No Bullying policy and the Student Contract, and parents to the Parents' Contract; families accept these documents on admission. The school meets weekly with the school psychologist and school nurse from the municipal PPR service, through whom assessment and counselling are available for students and classes; the school nurse is named. Students with diagnosed learning difficulties get an Individual Learning Programme. The school's mission is based on the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, and it has an Equal Opportunities Policy.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
75
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
76
Value for money (6%)
81
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Sorø PrivatskoleSoro · 73.4Sankt Petri SkoleCopenhagen · 72.9Viborg KatedralskoleViborg · 72.9International School of HellerupHellerup · 73.8