Home · Spain · Salou
← Back to home

Socrates Educa International School

Spain Salou, Spain · est. 2012 · Private
Illustration · Salou
75.7#63 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Socrates Educa International School stands in Salou on the Costa Daurada, 10 kilometres from Reus and 95 from Barcelona airport, and it opened its doors on 17 September 2012: before that, in 2007, a group of businessmen, intellectuals and professionals from the Camp de Tarragona set up the non-profit foundation of the same name, which still governs the school. The stages run right through from P1 to the baccalaureate, that is from the age of one to eighteen. There are three languages of instruction - Catalan, Spanish and English - while Chinese, German and French are taught as subjects; at the senior stage the school offers two baccalaureates at once, the IB Diploma Programme and the Catalan Government's social sciences and science-and-technology programmes, and a strong student can take both diplomas together. There is a third route as well, the American Dual Diploma, taken online from the second year of ESO up to the first year of the baccalaureate or the IB. Pupils come from more than twenty nationalities across four continents, and many speak four, five or six languages. The building was designed for this educational project by the architect Josep Benedito and the RQP studio: a 30000 square metre site with more than 8000 square metres of facilities for up to 1200 pupils, awarded the highest sustainability rating, with rainwater collection for the garden and vegetable patches and smart blinds that track the sun by themselves. The one thing missing from the site is the price: the school names only a lower bound and offers to work the rest out with its admissions team.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · Early Years
Admits from
1 year
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English
Languages taught
Chinese, German, French
School website
Summer camp
Yes, open to all
About the fees The school does not spell out its fees. It says the fee depends on the pupil's age and is always split into ten equal payments across the school year, and it names only the start of the scale: 450 EUR per payment in Nursery School and Pre School, rising with age through Primary, Secondary and the baccalaureate, where the fee also depends on whether the student takes the local BAT diploma, the IB diploma or both at once. On top of the fee come materials and books in a single yearly payment, about three excursions a year, end-of-year camps or exchange trips, and optional services with flexible rates: transport, the canteen, extracurricular activities and the reception service. The fee itself includes swimming, the Glifing reading and writing programme, all the materials for the youngest children with replacements, expert training in coding, programming and robotics, the welcome classroom and the special needs support service. For an exact figure the school asks families to contact it and promises to go through their spending profile and any discounts.
Admissions Admission is open to any family the school's model suits, and there is no entrance test as such at any age - the school calls itself inclusive and does not select by ability. Instead it assesses knowledge of its main languages - English, Catalan, Spanish and Chinese - to work out whether the child needs adjustments or a separate adaptation plan. If a student arrives from another country or from a system with a different curriculum, the school prepares a working plan for the first period together with the family and the student. There is a caveat: the school may ask an applicant to sit a test to gauge their level of knowledge in different areas. For those who need particular monitoring there are support programmes, a welcome classroom and intensive catch-up courses for foreign and new students. Uniform is compulsory from P1 to the fourth year of ESO, bought at the school shop, and the clothing and footwear code must be followed. The school takes foreigners: it has pupils of more than twenty nationalities from four continents, and for those arriving from another country there is a working plan for the first period, a reception class and intensive courses.
Stages and year groups Grades P1 (from age one) - second year of the baccalaureate. The stages run right through: nursery and kindergarten P1 - P5, primary school, ESO, then the baccalaureate. In early childhood teaching is by total immersion in English and through project work, in same-age groups and in mixed-age groups alike. At the senior stage there are three routes: the IB Diploma Programme for ages 16-19, the Catalan baccalaureate in two streams - social sciences and science with technology - and both diplomas together. Separately the school runs an online school and the American Dual Diploma, which begins in the second year of ESO.
Address Salvador Espriu s/n, 43840 Salou, Tarragona

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · Early Years · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Early Years (ages 3-6). Early Years is the nursery stage, ages 3 to 6. There are no exams at the end: the stage describes what the youngest children are taught and how, and it follows the Cambridge frame rather than a national nursery programme.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
✓Boarding
Campus: A building by Josep Benedito and the RQP studio: a 30000 square metre site, more than 8000 square metres of facilities, designed for 1200 pupils. Inside there is a canteen with kitchen areas, a library, study rooms, a gym, the Forum, a versatile function room, an office and reception area, workshops and laboratories for music, art, robotics, technology, biology, physics and chemistry, indoor and outdoor sports areas, gardens and vegetable patches. A glass facade and glass internal partitions bring in plenty of light, smart blinds track the sun by themselves, windows at different heights ventilate the rooms and rainwater is collected for irrigation. Swimming, the Glifing reading and writing programme and robotics classes are included in the fee. The boarding residence is in the centre of Reus, a few minutes from the school, with single and double rooms, a dining room and study and leisure areas; for short programmes there are beachfront hotels within walking distance of the campus. Transport means the school's own bus routes with supervisors, paid by the day or by the month, with parents following the journey in the BatOnRoute app; the nearest railway station is Port Aventura.
Clubs and activities (6): Music lessons · Sports activities · Languages and talents · STEM and laboratory · Art · Community affairs
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp and takes children from outside as well
The 2026 summer camp runs entirely in English from 22 June to 28 August, ten weeks, with educational, academic and catch-up programmes; enrolment is by the week and by time slot, open both to the school's own pupils and to outside children. Two groups: LITTLE Summer Camp for children born 2020-2024 and KIDS Summer Camp for those born 2010-2020. Separately the school announces full-boarding summer programmes. The page gives no prices.

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

✓CCTV
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school describes its safety provision through the residence: there it has CCTV and security services, on-site medical care and physiotherapy, psychological support and round-the-clock staff supervision. The site names no child protection policy, no anti-bullying policy and no medical room in the school itself.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
84
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
75
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
95
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
76
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
74
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Hastings SchoolMadrid · 75.7Morna International CollegeSanta Gertrudis de Fruitera · 75.7British School of TenerifeLos Realejos · 75.8Lycée Français International de ValenciaPaterna · 75.6