Ranking · Germany · Cologne
← Back to the ranking

St. George's The British International School Cologne

Germany Cologne, Germany · est. 1985 · Private
Illustration · Cologne
80.8#5 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

St. George's The British International School Cologne is a private British international school in the south of Köln for children aged 2 to 18, opened in 1985; since 2010 it has occupied its own building on the outskirts of the city. It takes children from Early Years (Pre-Nursery from age 2), following the English Early Years framework and the National Curriculum for England, to Cambridge IGCSE courses in Years 10-11 and two IB programmes in Years 12-13: the Diploma Programme and the Career-related Programme with a BTEC. Teaching is in English; German is a compulsory subject at every stage, set by level (first language, second language, foreign language), and French or Spanish can be chosen in secondary school. Children of more than 51 nationalities attend, speaking more than 35 languages at home. Classes have no more than 20 pupils, on average 15-17. The campus has a boarding house for students aged 14-18. The average IB Diploma score in 2026 was 35, with a best result of 45 points. The school is accredited by the Council of British International Schools (COBIS).

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · DP, CP · Cambridge · IGCSE · Pearson Edexcel · BTEC
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish
Class size
on average 15-17 pupils, no more than 20; optional subjects in the upper years may have smaller groups
Registration fee
≈ $847
750 EUR
Admissions Admissions run all year with no deadlines; children can usually start at any point in the year, the exceptions being the upper years (10-13), where joining at the start of a cycle is preferred. Steps: contacting the admissions team and an OpenApply account, a school tour (not compulsory), copies of the two most recent school reports (except for the youngest), a free taster day with some assessed work, and for secondary school placement tests in core subjects, especially for entry to the IGCSE and IB Diploma, which require a certain level of English. A place is reserved once a full application with documents, the 750 EUR application fee and a confirmation letter from the head of admissions are in place; if a year group is full, a waiting list place is offered. The school says it carefully reviews every application and seeks students who meet its academic prerequisites. Primary school accepts children with any level of English, including none, with additional language support; German is not required for entry, and many pupils join without it. Classes have no more than 20 children. The boarding house accepts students aged 14-18, whether they arrive independently or with families relocating to Germany; the school says boarding also suits German students.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-Nursery, Nursery, Reception, Years 1-13. Early Years (Pre-Nursery, Nursery, Reception, ages 2-5) following the English Early Years Foundation Stage; Years 1-9 (grades 1-9) following the National Curriculum for England; Years 10-11 Cambridge IGCSE courses with examinations at the end of Year 11: English, mathematics, science and German are compulsory, plus at least one social science (history, geography or economics) so that the IGCSEs count as the Mittlere Reife; options include French, Spanish, art, music, drama, PE and computer science. Years 12-13 offer two IB programmes: the Diploma Programme and the Career-related Programme (a Pearson BTEC in Enterprise and Entrepreneurship, two IB Diploma courses and the CP core). The school says the IB Diploma is recognised in all German Länder as equivalent to the Abitur. The language of instruction is English, except in German lessons. Year group placement is by age on 1 September: Pre-Nursery from 2, Nursery from 3, Reception from 4.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP, CP · authorised programmeCambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeCOBIS · membershipPearson · authorised programme
The school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma and Career-related programmes. The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE. The school is a member of COBIS.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19), CP (ages 16-19, with a vocational slant). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate. CP is the final stage with a vocational slant, ages 16 to 19: some of the DP subjects plus an applied qualification. It is meant for those heading into a trade or an applied degree rather than an academic one.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
COBISCouncil of British International Schools

An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board

It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.

What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BTEC

A British vocational qualification from Pearson: not an academic course with an exam at the end, but a programme of practical assignments in a particular trade, from engineering and business to art and sport.

What this means for this school. Teaching and assessment work differently from A-level: instead of written exams there is a run of practical assignments marked by the school, while Pearson checks the school itself and samples the work. British universities do accept BTEC, but not all of them and not for every course: level 3 carries the same UCAS points as A-level, and that is what a family aiming at a particular university should look at. For a child who needs the classic academic route, BTEC is not a replacement for A-level but a different path.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Average IB score
35 (world average 30.88)
Exam results IB Diploma: average score of 35 in 2026, 4 points above the world average; best individual result of 45 points in 2022, 2023 and 2024. The school does not publish pass rates or IGCSE results separately for Köln.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
✓Boarding
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground · Makerspace
Clubs and activities: Duke of Edinburgh's International Award · Model United Nations · TEDxYouth club · Choir · Drama club · Creative writing club · Dance: ballet, contemporary, jazz, hip-hop · Robotics and coding · St. George's Dragons

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: According to the school, all teachers hold a valid teaching qualification: Lehramt with the second state examination, a bachelor's in education, PGCE, iPGCE, PGDE or similar; subject specialists hold a degree in their subject; some hold Qualified Teacher Status and the IB Educator Certificate. Many teachers are British nationals, with others from Europe, the US and Australia. All staff present an enhanced German police check (erweitertes Führungszeugnis) or an equivalent.
Teachers undertake continuous professional development; in Early Years every class has teaching assistants, and PE, music and German are taught by subject specialists; the school has a careers and university guidance counsellor.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Child protection is led by a Designated Safeguarding Lead trained as an experienced specialist under German law; the school follows COBIS safeguarding practice. There is a school counsellor and a pupil mediation system. According to the 2023 COBIS report, all staff are first aid trained and aware of the critical response plan. Staff undergo safer recruitment checks and present an enhanced police certificate.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
87
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
90
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

BBIS Berlin Brandenburg International SchoolKleinmachnow · 80.8Bavarian International SchoolHaimhausen · 81.1Berlin Metropolitan SchoolBerlin · 80.5International School of HamburgHamburg · 80.5