Home · Spain · Pruvia de Abajo
← Back to home

The English School of Asturias

Spain Pruvia de Abajo, Spain · est. 1997 · Private
Illustration · Pruvia de Abajo
74.1#105 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The English School of Asturias, running since 1997, stands on the Finca La Llosona estate in Pruvia de Abajo, in the municipality of Llanera - not in Oviedo, although the school's name hints at the Asturian capital. The curriculum is dual: the National Curriculum for England with additional subjects from the Spanish curriculum, and the school describes this plainly as a way of giving children mastery of two languages from an early age. It takes children from the age of two and sees them through to eighteen. More than thirty nationalities are represented: most pupils are Spanish, but the number of children from Ukraine, China, Russia, the Netherlands, the UK, the USA and Australia is growing, and there are small-group Spanish classes for them. The school has a full-time nurse, a psychologist and a speech therapist, lunch is cooked in its own kitchen and included in the fee, buses run to Oviedo, Gijón, Avilés and other towns, and in summer there is an English camp for children aged 2-14. The senior stage is British: four International A-level subjects, one of which must be either Spanish or English depending on the student's native language, with the language examination taken in Year 12 so that Year 13 can be spent on the remaining subjects. The school's A-levels are accredited by Pearson, and on top of them students sit the Cambridge English qualifications CAE (C1) or CPE (C2), while those who wish also take Spanish EBAU subjects, the PCEs, to maximise their entry points for Spanish universities. Entry to the A-level programme requires successful completion of IGCSEs with at least five passes. In 2023 the school joined the Dukes Education group. Safeguarding is set up on the British model: a Designated Safeguarding Lead and a safeguarding team of its own which meets weekly, plus the CPOMS software in which all cases are recorded and monitored so that no concern is missed.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $5 875–12 676 a year
5 200–11 220 EUR
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English, Spanish
Summer camp
Yes, open to all
About the fees Fees for 2026/27: Pre-Nursery (2-3 years) 5200 EUR a year or 520 a month, Nursery and Reception (3-5) 7120 or 712, Years 1 and 2 (5-7) 8030 or 803, Years 3 and 4 (7-9) 8980 or 898, Years 5 and 6 (9-11) 10210 or 1021, Years 7 to 9 (11-14) 10620 or 1062, Years 10 and 11 (14-16) 10960 or 1096, Year 12 (16-17) 11220 or 1122, Year 13 (17-18) 11205 a year at a monthly figure of 1245 - as printed on the site. The fee covers tuition, meals, resources including stationery, accident and civil liability insurance, the option of an extended day from 8:30 to 17:00 and single-day excursions within the region. It does not cover transport, additional extended hours, uniform, textbooks, extracurricular activities, school trips, external examinations, apostilles of certificates or any other optional expenses. Discounts: 50 per cent off tuition from the third child, 2.5 per cent for annual fees paid in full before 15 September, 5 per cent off uniforms from the second child; discounts do not apply to transport or extended hours. The school publishes the complete schedule with the cost of meals, uniforms and bus transport in a separate PDF.
Admissions The school accepts applications all year round, subject to places. The procedure: an online application, then a conversation with the parents; the school may request further information, and detailed requirements for each stage are published in a separate guide. To enter A-level at least five IGCSEs must be passed. The school takes international pupils: it says there are more than 30 nationalities among its pupils, that the number of children from Ukraine, China, Russia, the Netherlands, the UK, the USA and Australia is growing, and that there are small-group Spanish classes for those whose first language is not Spanish. The school can be seen on a visit, at an open day or on a virtual tour.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-Nursery (age 2) - Year 13. The stages are British with a Spanish addition: Early Years with Pre-Nursery (2-3), Nursery (3-4) and Reception (4-5), Primary from Year 1 to Year 6 (ages 5-11), Secondary from Year 7 to Year 11 (11-16) with IGCSE examinations, and Sixth Form - Key Stage 5, Years 12 and 13, ages 16-18. In Sixth Form students take four International A-level subjects, necessarily including Spanish or English depending on their native language, with the language examination taken in Year 12. On top of A-levels students may take Spanish PCE subjects for entry to Spanish universities.
Address Finca La Llosona, Pruvia de Abajo, 33192 Asturias

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeDukes Education · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
Dukes Educationschool network

Dukes Education is a British private education group founded by Aatif Hassan in 2015. It describes itself as a family of nurseries, schools and colleges in the UK and Europe; besides schools, the group runs summer schools, day camps and university application consultancies. The group does not give a total number of schools on its pages; its Europe section lists schools in Croatia, Czechia, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain and Switzerland, and its menu also has a North America section. In Spain the group lists 6 schools: Engage International School (Majadahonda, Madrid), International English School of Castellón, English School of Asturias, Colegio Inglés Zaragoza, Elian's British School of La Nucía and Colegio Internacional de Valladolid. The group's site is dukeseducation.com.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus: The campus is on the Finca La Llosona estate among green Asturian fields, and children spend a lot of time outdoors. Spacious classrooms, science laboratories, IT rooms, music and art rooms, an assembly hall, a dining hall, a well-stocked library and a separate common room for Sixth Form pupils. For the youngest there are two playgrounds, one for Pre-Nursery and Nursery and one for Reception to Year 2, with play equipment and a climbing wall. Sport: an indoor hall marked for football and basketball, a covered outdoor area with spectator seating and an outdoor court for futsal, volleyball, basketball and handball. Lunch is cooked in the school's own kitchen to menus checked by a nutritionist. School buses run to Oviedo, Gijón, Avilés, Grado, Villaviciosa and Langreo-Siero.
Clubs and activities (4): Sports clubs · Music · Theatre · Robotics
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp and takes children from outside as well
The English summer camp runs at the school from 22 June to 31 July 2026 for children aged 2 to 14, from 9:00 to 16:00, with lunch from the school kitchen and an afternoon snack: each week has the theme of a new continent, with robotics, sport, workshops, escape rooms, water games and hikes. The price is 225 euros a week, 210 for a second sibling, 205 with early payment and 194.75 with early payment for a second sibling; pupils of the school get a further 5 per cent off. The bus from Oviedo and Gijón costs 20 euros a week.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school does not publish the number of teachers or the pupil-teacher ratio. Leadership: the head Natalia Cáceres and the heads of primary and secondary; every class has qualified support teachers, pupils have form tutors and key stage coordinators, and a tutor group has up to 25 pupils. The Spanish subjects are taught by teachers with the qualifications Asturias requires. Besides teachers the staff includes the psychologist Sofía Pedreira, the nurse Paula Rodríguez and the speech therapist Helen Esteban; university advisors are accredited every year by Dukes Plus.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Child protection follows the British model: the school has a Designated Safeguarding Lead and a safeguarding team that meets weekly; all cases are logged in CPOMS so that no concern is lost. The staff includes a full-time nurse, a school psychologist and a speech therapist, and there is a student support team with a counsellor and special needs coordinators. Every week there are PSHE lessons on mental health, relationships, digital safety and responsible use of AI and social media. For emergencies the school has a protocol and trained staff. The school names no security guards and no video surveillance.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
89
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
90
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
70
Value for money (6%)
65
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

The British College of BenalmádenaBenalmádena · 74.1Deutsche Schule Madrid - Colegio Alemán de MadridMadrid · 74.2Open Learning International SchoolBenitachell · 74.2Cumbres SchoolMoncada · 73.9