Ranking · Sweden · Bollnas
← Back to the ranking

Torsbergsgymnasiet

Sweden Bollnas, Sweden · State
Illustration · Bollnas
70.4#36 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Torsbergsgymnasiet is a municipal upper secondary school in Bollnäs with a wide range of programmes in Swedish: three university preparatory programmes (Business, Social Science, Arts - music, dance, theatre), eleven vocational programmes and an introductory programme for students lacking the grades for admission. Since 2015 the school has been part of Hälsinglands Utbildningsförbund. It has 630 students and about 70 full-time equivalent teachers. There are national elite sports programmes in bandy and figure skating and sports profiles in football, athletics, handball and other sports. The IB Diploma Programme is being closed: since autumn 2025 no new students have been admitted, and the last cohort takes its exams in spring 2027.

Key facts

Tuition
Free
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Admits from
16 years
Languages of instruction
Swedish
Languages taught
English
School website
Students
630
About the fees Tuition is free: the school is municipal and part of the Swedish upper secondary system; the website mentions no tuition fees.
Admissions Admission is through the common upper secondary admissions system run for the school by Dalarnas kommunalförbund: grade 9 students choose programmes online and hand a signed copy to their school counsellor by 13 February. To enter a national programme, students must have completed grade 9 or equivalent with grades in Swedish (or Swedish as a second language), English and mathematics plus 5 or 9 more subjects (for vocational or university preparatory programmes), not have completed a national programme, and be under 20. If there are more applicants than places, selection is by grade 9 grades; some programmes have additional tests. Students lacking grades are offered the introductory programme. Preliminary admission is in April, final admission around 1 July, and reserve admission to vacant places from August. The elite sports programmes accept students from all over Sweden based on sports and school results. The IB programme has not admitted students since autumn 2025.
Stages and year groups Grades Upper secondary years 1-3. Swedish upper secondary school, gymnasieskola, three-year national programmes leading to the gymnasieexamen: university preparatory Ekonomiprogrammet (business and law), Samhällsvetenskapsprogrammet (behavioural and social sciences), Estetiska programmet (dance, music, theatre); vocational programmes in construction, child and recreation, sales and service, vehicles and transport, hairdressing and styling, hotel and tourism, industrial technology, natural resource use, restaurant and food, HVAC and property, health and social care; all give basic university eligibility, and many can be taken as apprenticeships. There is an introductory programme, Introduktionsprogrammet. The IB Diploma Programme (in English, with a preparatory year) has not admitted students since autumn 2025, and the last cohort takes exams in spring 2027.
Address Läroverksgatan 36, 821 33 Bollnäs

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programme
The school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma Programme. The IB track inside the Swedish upper-secondary school is closing: no new students have been admitted since autumn 2025, and the last cohort sits its exams in spring 2027.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Source: hufb.se

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers70
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school has about 70 full-time equivalent teaching posts; the number of people is higher as not all work full time. The school does not publish teacher qualifications or class sizes.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The student health team, which meets regularly, includes a counsellor, a nurse, a special education teacher and a career counsellor; the school doctor and psychologist assist with assessments. The counsellor offers talks and helps resolve conflicts, the nurse provides health visits and vaccinations. There is an anonymous whistleblowing channel.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
65
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
60
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
95
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

AG International School UppsalaUppsala · 70.5Alice LundsgymnasietBorlange · 70.3KanalskolanSkelleftea · 70.6Franklins gymnasiumMolndal · 70