Home · Albania · Tirana
← Back to home

Udha e Shkronjave

Albania Tirana, Albania · est. 1997 · Private
Illustration · Tirana
72.5#10 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

A private full-day school in central Tirana, opened in September 1997 and led ever since by its founders Artur and Mirela Shkurti. Since 2012 it has been a Cambridge International School running four Cambridge stages: Primary for ages 5-11, Lower Secondary for 11-14, IGCSE for 14-16 and AS and A Level for 16-19. Schooling starts at age 5 with level 1 of Cambridge Primary: English, mathematics, science, digital skills, computer science, art, music and PE; Albanian is taught through the school's own programme. Cambridge subjects are taught in English; Albanian, history and geography in Albanian. German starts in grade VI and reaches B1 by grade X; Italian is prepared for the IGCSE exam in grade X. In grades IX-X a student takes at least 7 IGCSE subjects and receives the Cambridge ICE certificate; AS Level begins in grade XI and A Level in grade XII, aiming at the Cambridge AICE diploma. The school also advises students on the IB Diploma and says 80 percent have chosen that route. Classes average 6 students, with one teacher for every four students. The school day runs from 8:00 to 14:30, with PE every day. The school has organised a national olympiad since 2000.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $7 359 a year
600 000 ALL
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
5 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English, Albanian
Languages taught
German, Italian
School website
Students per teacher
4
Class size
6 on average
About the fees Fees for the 2025-2026 school year at primary and lower secondary: 600000 lek a year.
Admissions The primary stage admits children from age 5; registration for 2026-2027 is through a form on the site, with details by phone and email. The school does not describe entrance tests or other admission conditions. The school does not say whether it admits foreign citizens.
Stages and year groups Grades Parashkollor, 1-12. Primary grades 1-5, ages 5-11, Cambridge Primary; lower secondary grades 6-8, Cambridge Lower Secondary with the Checkpoint exam at the end of grade 8; grades 9-10 IGCSE and the ICE certificate; grade 11 AS Level, grade 12 A Level. Students sit Cambridge Progression Tests every year from grade 2.
Address Rruga Qemal Stafa 124, Tiranë

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results In the class of 2024, 82 percent of IGCSE and ICE grades were A* and A. On its home page the school says that in 2022 all IGCSE grades in grade X were A* and A; on its about page, that half of IGCSE grades were A or A*, well above the Cambridge average.
Where leavers go: King's College London · University of Toronto · University College London · Duke University · Massachusetts Institute of Technology · KU Leuven
Besides universities, the school names the Swiss schools Aiglon College and Leysin American School, to which its students have moved.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A building in central Tirana, on Qemal Stafa Street near the New Bazaar; laboratories and equipment for sciences, technology, languages, history, geography, art and PE.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school is a Cambridge professional development centre, and the director is approved as programme administrator for the 120-hour International Certificate in Teaching and Learning. The founders have 28 and 23 years in education. There is one teacher for every four students.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A 20-point behaviour system applies: a student starts with full points and loses them for breaches; measures are a teacher warning, a director warning, point deductions and one to three days at home. There is no uniform. The school says it has had almost no accidents or offences in its history and places children's mental health alongside academics.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
68
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Albanian College TiranaTirana · 72.7Shkolla e Mesme Jopublike "Turgut Özal" TiranëTirana · 72.9École française internationale de TiranaTirana · 73.4Shkolla 9-vjeçare Jopublike "Turgut Özal" TiranëTirana · 70.3