← Back to the rankingUwekind International School

Sofia, Bulgaria · est. 1997 · Private
Illustration · Sofia
Uwekind International School is a private, fee-paying day school in Sofia for children aged 3 to 19, from kindergarten to grade 12. It began in 1997 as a German kindergarten in a small house on Gogol Street; in 2001 it was licensed by the Ministry of Education as a private secondary school, in 2011 it became an IB World School and the only MYP school in Bulgaria, in 2015 it added the Diploma Programme, and in 2018 its first class graduated with two diplomas. The school now says it offers the full IB continuum: the PYP from the preparatory class to grade 5, the MYP in grades 6-10 and the Diploma Programme in grades 11-12, and since 2025 it has been a candidate for the Career-related Programme; the Bulgarian national curriculum runs in parallel, and graduates receive the IB diploma and the Bulgarian secondary education diploma with a profile. The main language of lessons is Bulgarian; in high school English gradually becomes the language of instruction in individual subjects, and students take international exams in English in grades 10 and 12. German is taught from kindergarten and English from grade 3, both until grade 12. The school has more than 600 students and more than 80 educators; the kindergarten and lower grades are in a new building in Lozen park, the high school on Vladayska Street.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $7 705–8 902 a year
6 820–7 880 EUR
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Bulgarian, English
Class size
up to 22 pupils in kindergarten and primary school, 16 to 22 in grades 7-12, with smaller groups in some subjects
Registration fee
≈ $169
150 EUR
About the fees Educational services fee for 2026-2027: kindergarten 6820 euro per year paid at once, 7000 euro in two instalments, 7400 euro in ten instalments; preparatory class and school 7880 euro at once, 8100 euro in two instalments, 8250 euro in three instalments. Meals are not included. Sibling discounts are 5% for the second child and 10% for the third, negotiable for more children.
Admissions The kindergarten admits children who have turned 3; admission usually opens in October and continues until groups are full. For the preparatory class and grades 1-7 the family fills in a form and attends an open day, then gets to know the school. For grades 8-10 applicants send a photo and grade reports, complete written tasks (reading and writing texts, mathematics, sciences and humanities) and an interview on communication skills and motivation; the family receives feedback within 7 working days. A contract is then signed, with payment at once, in two or in three instalments. The application fee is 150 euro (100 euro for kindergarten), and a one-off fee of 500 euro is paid on enrolment. Under the state programme for funding private schools some students study on reduced terms: gifted students, students with special educational needs, children from large low-income families and orphans. The application form asks for citizenship and the family language; the school says it has students of different nationalities, but it does not state conditions for admitting foreign students or requirements for Bulgarian.
Stages and year groups Kindergarten with groups for ages 3-4 and 4-5 and a preparatory class for ages 5-6. PYP from the preparatory class to grade 5, MYP in grades 6-10 with on-screen exams at the end of grade 10 (national curriculum subjects are built into the MYP framework), Diploma Programme in grades 11-12 with 18 subjects from all groups; since 2025 the school has been a candidate for the Career-related Programme for grades 11-12. The Bulgarian national curriculum runs in parallel: the school issues all Bulgarian certificates from the pre-school certificate to the secondary education diploma, and DP graduates receive two diplomas.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programmeThe IB register lists the Primary Years, Middle Years and Diploma programmes at the school. The Bulgarian national programme runs alongside.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Where leavers go: IE University · University College London (UCL) · University of Westminster
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Since September 2025 the kindergarten and lower grades have been in a new building in the Lozen park complex; since 2018 the high school has had its own building on Vladayska Street in central Sofia. Two laboratories are equipped for science. Kindergarten and primary pupils get a hot lunch and two snacks, students in grades 7-12 get lunch. School buses take Lozen park pupils and kindergarten children from home to school. There is no boarding.
Clubs and activities: Track-and-field · Martial arts · Ballet · Mathematics · Creative writing · DJing · German, Russian, Spanish, French · Duke of Edinburgh's Award · Model United Nations
Summer programme away from campus: . The school runs no camp of its own on campus
Since 2008 the school has run summer and winter language camps in Germany with its German partner Erlebnistage, and since 2010 ski camps in Austria; the school describes yearly camps in Germany as part of language learning. Camps bring together children of different ages.
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school has more than 80 educators. Most language teachers studied abroad, in Germany, the USA and the UK; some are native German or English speakers, and interns from Germany work at the school every year. Teachers receive IB training.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Nurses work in all three buildings and also look after healthy eating. A psychologist and a speech therapist work with kindergarten and primary children and help teachers choose approaches. The school describes health and safety rules and academic integrity as part of school life.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)95 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country