← Back to the rankingXXXIII Liceum Ogólnokształcące Dwujęzyczne im. Mikołaja Kopernika w Warszawie

Warsaw, Poland · est. 1949 · State
Illustration · Warsaw
XXXIII Liceum Ogólnokształcące Dwujęzyczne im. Mikołaja Kopernika is a state bilingual secondary school in the Wola district and one of the oldest IB schools in Poland. In 1962 it was the first in the country to open a class taught in English, in February 1993 it was authorised for the IB Diploma Programme, and on 1 September 1993 the first IB class in Poland started here (together with III LO in Gdynia); the first cohort sat the examination in 1995. The MYP was added in 2017. All classes are bilingual (Polish and English): mathematics and physics with an olympiad group and mathematics, physics and architecture under the patronage of the Warsaw University of Technology, biology, chemistry and mathematics, mathematics and social studies under the patronage of SGH, and the MYP class. The MYP class in years 1-2 prepares for the IB Diploma Programme in years 3-4, where all subjects except Polish and foreign languages are taught in English. About 900 students attend in 28 classes, with 86 teachers. The average IB score in 2026 was 37, and all 62 candidates gained the diploma.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · MYP, DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
Polish, English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish
Class size
subject groups in the two upper years have at least 6 students
About the fees Tuition is free: the statutes promise free education within the framework curricula. Parents pay for the IB programmes through the school's Copernicus foundation: MYP - an enrolment fee of 500 PLN and 2000 PLN per year (in two instalments or 10 payments of 200 PLN); IB Diploma Programme - an enrolment fee of 500 PLN for students from the school's MYP or 1000 PLN for others, 5000 PLN for the programme (two instalments of 2500 PLN or 10 payments of 500 PLN in the first year) and the full cost of IB examinations (2400 PLN in 2025). Parents buy textbooks.
Admissions As a state school it admits first-year students through Warsaw's electronic admissions system based on points from the school certificate and the egzamin ósmoklasisty; all candidates take a written English competence test (in 2026 on 29 May, with a second date on 26 June), and for the MYP a score of 60% or more is usually required. Winners and finalists of English olympiads are admitted without the test. Students returning from abroad and foreigners are admitted under the state rules for foreign students and subject to available places: documents by 20 June and a 2-hour written English test. For the IB Diploma Programme (year 3) priority goes to the school's own MYP students with good grades, at least 85% attendance and a Personal Project; students from bilingual classes, other schools and those returning from abroad are admitted subject to places after an interview with the committee. Foreign students in the DP may take their mother tongue instead of Polish as Language A as a self-taught course; Polish citizens must take Polish as Language A.
Stages and year groups 28 classes. Polish liceum ogólnokształcące curriculum with the matura in bilingual classes (Polish and English): mathematics and physics (olympiad and extended groups), mathematics, physics and architecture with drawing, biology, chemistry and mathematics, mathematics and social studies. IB MYP in years 1-2 of secondary school (MYP 4-5) with the full Polish curriculum and a Personal Project, taught in Polish and English, mathematics in Extended and Standard groups. IB Diploma Programme in years 3-4: six subjects (Polish, English, a humanities subject, a science, mathematics, German, Spanish or French or a second subject), Extended Essay, TOK, CAS; taught in English. The school does not mention Cambridge or Pearson courses.
Address ul. Józefa Bema 76, 01-225 Warszawa (Wola)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · MYP, DP · authorised programmeThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Middle Years and Diploma programmes. The IB track runs in the international classes of a Polish liceum: the Diploma in grades 3-4, alongside the Polish curriculum leading to the matura.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Average IB score
37 (world average 30.88)
Exam results IB Diploma 2026: 62 candidates, all 62 passed, average score 37 against a world average of 30.9, two students scored the maximum 45 points, average grade 5.88. 2024: 59 of 59, average 39; 2023: 58 of 58, average 37; 2022: 64 of 64, average 40; 2021: 68 of 68, average 40. Polish matura 2025 in the mathematics and physics class: extended mathematics 66.33% against a national average of 39%, extended physics 88.64% against 58%.
Where leavers go: University of Warsaw, Faculty of Mathematics, Informatics and Mechanics (UW) · Warsaw University of Technology (PW)
Graduates of the mathematics and physics class mostly study at the Faculty of Mathematics, Informatics and Mechanics of the University of Warsaw and at the Warsaw University of Technology. IB graduates study in Poland, Austria, Belgium, France, the Netherlands, Germany, the US, the UK and Italy.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A historic 1927 building at the corner of Bema and Wolska streets in the Wola district, near the Płocka metro station. Two computer labs with internet access, a library of 15000 volumes with a large English-language collection and a multimedia library, biology, chemistry, physics and geography labs, sports halls and a gym. Food is sold in paid snack bars run by external operators. The building and grounds are under CCTV. It is a day school with no boarding.
Clubs and activities: Rowing Team · Athletics · School Sports Club and Open Sports Halls · MUN · Moot Court · KopernikTV · Student Council · Copernicus Competition · WUM Patronage Program · Erasmus+
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers86
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school has 86 teachers, including 4 native English speakers, 2 librarians, 3 school counsellors and a psychologist; some teachers also work at the University of Warsaw and other universities. The teachers page names 84 teachers by subject, 15 of them with a doctorate.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
✓CCTV
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A counselling team of three school counsellors and a psychologist has daily office hours; the school works with the school nurse. The building and grounds are under CCTV. The school has child protection standards for 2026-2027 and an education and prevention programme.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)88 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country