Home · UAE · Abu Dhabi
← Back to home

Yasmina British Academy

ОАЭ Abu Dhabi, UAE · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
69.1#139 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Yasmina British Academy is an Aldar Academies school in Khalifa City, Abu Dhabi, formerly known as Al Yasmina Academy; it has been running since 2007 and now stands on a new campus. It follows the English National Curriculum from the early years to Year 13, with I/GCSE and A-level examinations, and builds it around STEAM - science, technology, engineering, the arts and mathematics as ways into investigation and discussion. Its ADEK rating is “Outstanding” across all six standards (2019 inspection), and its rating under the British BSO scheme is “Outstanding” as well. Among its facilities the school lists a multi-purpose sports hall and a separate hall for girls, a 25-metre swimming pool, a dance studio, running tracks, basketball and netball courts, two artificial-turf pitches, a full-time nurse and classrooms with technology; the parent package adds a canteen, a library and school buses. There are more than sixty extracurricular activities, from robotics and Model United Nations to performing arts, sports teams and language clubs, Chinese and Spanish among them. The school is divided into six houses: for the younger children Corniche Crocodiles, Marina Leopards, Mangrove Falcons, Yas Tigers, Raha Rhinos and Saadiyat Sharks, and for the older ones Malala, Luther, Ali, Williams, Nelson and Hawking. Drop-off starts at 7:15; the younger children finish between 14:15 and 15:00 and the older ones at 14:55, and on Fridays at 11:15-12:00 and 11:55.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $13 544–18 317 a year
49 740–67 270 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027: nursery and FS1 AED 49,740, FS2 and Year 1 AED 49,740, Year 2 to Year 6 AED 51,180, Years 7 and 8 AED 56,910, Year 9 AED 61,010, Years 10 to 13 AED 67,270. The registration fee for a new student is 5 per cent of the annual fee and is credited against the final term's fee under ADEK rules; returning students pay the same fee to re-register their place. The bus costs AED 5,000 a year for both directions and is run by Emirates Transport. Uniform, meals, transport, examination fees and external activities are not included in the fees.
Stages and year groups The stages run all the way through: early years, primary school, secondary with I/GCSE examinations and the sixth form with A-levels, up to and including Year 13. Drop-off starts at 7:15; the younger children finish between 14:15 and 15:00 and the older ones at 14:55, and on Fridays at 11:15-12:00 and 11:55.
Address Khalifa City

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

BSO · accreditationBSME · part of the association
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeIGCSE, A-Level

Programmes of the University of Cambridge: the school teaches to Cambridge syllabuses and enters its pupils for exams that Cambridge marks itself. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

What this means for this school. The papers are marked by Cambridge, not by the school, so a leaver's grade does not depend on how strict their own teachers are with them. To enter pupils for these exams a school has to be registered as a Cambridge exam centre; registration as a centre is permission to run exams rather than accreditation of the school, and it says nothing about the quality of teaching. IGCSE is taken at around Year 10 or 11 and A-Level in the final years, and it is the A-Level results that carry a pupil into British and many other universities.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus:

Teaching staff

There is no data for this section yet.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
63
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Dubai British School Emirates HillsDubai · 69.1The City School InternationalDubai · 69.2ADNOC Schools - RuwaisRuwais · 69.2Liwa International School for GirlsAl Ain · 69.2