ChSU Yuriy Gagarin is a private secondary school in the Kamchia resort complex (Avren municipality, Varna province) on the Black Sea coast. The school describes itself as the only institution in Bulgaria licensed to teach both the Bulgarian and the Russian educational programmes. The grade 5-7 timetable follows the Bulgarian curriculum: Bulgarian language and literature, mathematics, compulsory and elective English and Russian, history, geography, sciences, information technology and computer modelling, plus self-study, interest activities and innovative subjects - cosmonautics, social communication and ecology; the school day has up to nine periods. The teaching staff numbers 24, including eight primary teachers, a preparatory group teacher, three Russian and two English teachers. The school uses a resort complex building with a swimming pool, a sports hall, laboratories and a large library.
Key facts
Programmes
Russian programme
About the fees The school does not state tuition on the accessible pages of its website.
Stages and year groups On the accessible pages the school shows a preparatory group, the primary stage (eight primary teachers) and grades 5-7 (classes 5a, 6a, 6b and 7a in the timetable) on the Bulgarian curriculum. Upper grades and the Russian programme stages are not described on the accessible pages; the rest of the site is closed to automated reading.
Address k.k. Kamchia, obshtina Avren, oblast Varna
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Russian state accreditationCertificate valid through April 2029 · Russian state accreditation
Rosobrnadzor lists the school in its register of accredited organisations: certificate A007-00115-99/01236207, valid until 12.04.2029. It is a private school licensed by the Bulgarian Ministry of Education.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
Russian state accreditationFederal Service for Supervision in Education and Science
Russian state accreditation, held not by the school as a whole but by its educational programmes: on an accredited programme a leaver receives the Russian state-issued certificate. Institutions abroad are gathered in the registry under a code of their own, and their certificates carry a term - twelve years from issue. No visit to the school is intended: since 2022 the indicators are calculated from documents and returns.
What the badge means for this school. The school holds Russian state accreditation, and that can be checked in the open registry. It means the right to award the Russian certificate on the accredited programmes - and nothing about the quality of teaching, the premises or the school's international programme. Levels of education are accredited separately, so it is worth checking whether the accreditation reaches the final year. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Russian programme
The Russian school programme: a state-issued leaving certificate used for entry to Russian universities. The certificate is awarded on the results of the state final attestation - the OGE after Year 9 and the EGE after Year 11.
What this means for this school. This school holds Russian state accreditation: its education programmes have been checked by the Federal Service for Supervision in Education and Science, and the entry is visible in the open register. Accreditation is granted level by level, so the main question here is whether it runs as far as the final year: a school may have the right to award a certificate for Year 9 and not for Year 11.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school's website is closed to automated reading.. We have asked the school for the data directly.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
✓Number of teachers24
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school lists 24 teaching staff: eight primary stage teachers, a preparatory group teacher, three Russian teachers, two English, two physical education, one teacher each of physics, chemistry and astronomy, mathematics, Bulgarian language and literature, information technology and music, two history teachers and a biology and geography teacher. The page does not give teachers' qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school's website is closed to automated reading.. We have asked the school for the data directly.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median70 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country