Ranking · Armenia · Yerevan
← Back to the ranking

Anania Shirakatsy Armenian National Lyceum

Армения Yerevan, Armenia · est. 1985 · Private
Illustration · Yerevan
80.6#1 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $14 001 a year
5.1 million AMD
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages
English
School website
Registration fee
≈ $41
15 000 AMD
Summer camp
Yes
Stages and year groups Grades 1-12

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programmeRound Square · part of the associationCIS · accreditation
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
Round SquareRound Square

A network of about three hundred schools in some fifty countries, built on the ideas of the educationalist Kurt Hahn: internationalism, democracy, environment, adventure, leadership, service. On joining, representatives of the network visit the school and write a report, and the school then spends up to two years as a candidate.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the network. The check on joining is a real one, but what is examined is fidelity to the six principles rather than the quality of teaching, safeguarding or governance. Reports are not published, and the five-year review is one the school carries out on itself. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Where leavers go: UC Berkeley · Cornell University · NYU Abu Dhabi · Columbia University · UC San Diego · University of Edinburgh · University of Amsterdam · University of British Columbia · University of Toronto · University of Warwick · Sciences Po · KU Leuven и другие, всего 22 вуза в списке школы

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
Sports hall
Laboratories
Theatre or assembly hall
Library
Catering
School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Playground
Campus:
Clubs and activities: list on the school website
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
Summer programme away from campus: ежегодные поездки делегаций на конференции Round Square: Дубай 2025, Оксфорд и Уэльс 2022, ранее Индия, Канада, ЮАР, Германия, Сингапур

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

CCTV
Security staff
Access control
Nurse or medical room
Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
Staff training
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
90
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
90
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
60
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

UWC DilijanDilijan · 78.8Liberated SchoolYerevan · 77.9QSI International School of YerevanYerevan · 76.2Dilijan International School (DIS)Dilijan · 75.9