Ranking · Kazakhstan · Astana
← Back to the ranking

Canadian International School - Astana

Казахстан Astana, Kazakhstan · est. 2022 · Private
Illustration · Astana
70.4#41 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $9 085–13 779 a year
4.2–6.4 million KZT
Programmes
Canadian programme · National programme
Admits from
10 years
Languages
English, Kazakh, Russian
School website
Students per teacher
6
Class size
в среднем 17 учеников
Registration fee
≈ $433
200 000 KZT
Stages and year groups

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

British Columbia programme · accreditation
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

British Columbia programmeProgramme of the Canadian province of British Columbia

Permission to run the curriculum of the province and to award its leaving certificate, the Dogwood Diploma, the same document that leavers receive in Canada itself. With few exceptions the teachers hold provincial certification. The agreement is signed again every year, a ministry inspection visits the school every year, and the report on it is published. The programme usually runs alongside the national curriculum and covers only its own part of the school.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
Canadian programme

The programme of one of the Canadian provinces, with that province's own secondary school diploma. The province licenses the school and requires its teachers to hold Canadian certification.

What this means for this school. Which province stands behind this school, and how far its licence runs, is not stated here. Each province keeps its own register of schools abroad; a common Canadian one does not exist.

National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Average SAT score
1430
Average IELTS score
7.5

Facilities

The school does not describe its premises on its website.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
Teacher qualifications
Number of teachers20
Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show:

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
Security staff
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
Counsellor
Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
75
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
60
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

НИШ естественно-математического направления, СемейSemey · 70.4НИШ естественно-математического направления, ПавлодарPavlodar · 70.5НИШ естественно-математического направления, КокшетауKokshetau · 70.3Ardingly AstanaAstana · 70.6