← Back to homeColegio La Abadía

Santiago, Chile · est. 1990 · Private
Illustration · Santiago
The school was founded in 1990 in the commune of Las Condes and in 2002 moved into a building of its own in La Reina: more than 5 000 square metres, 22 multimedia classrooms and three courtyards. It is private and fee-paying and does not belong to a Catholic congregation, but it does teach religious education from a Christian standpoint and speaks openly about dialogue with other faiths. Teaching is bilingual: since 2018 the school has worked to the Cambridge Primary programme, in which mathematics, the natural and social sciences and art are taught in English, while language, technology, sport and religion are taught in Spanish; in Grade 6 the children sit Cambridge Checkpoint, and after that there is the option of the PET and FCE certificates. The stages run from Playgroup at the age of three up to IV medio, and for those who arrive without English there are the supporting courses English Boost and English Bridge. Physical education and the sports clubs take place off the school grounds, at the university sports complex where Providencia, Las Condes and La Reina meet: 12 hectares, nine mini-football pitches, nine tennis courts and a semi-Olympic pool. The school publishes its price openly and as a figure; it names neither the number of pupils, nor a list of graduate universities, nor examination results, nor a list of clubs.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $4 374–5 905 a year
10–13.5 UF a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · National programme
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English
About the fees The school keeps its "Aranceles y Beneficios" section open and states the sums as figures, in UF - an inflation-indexed Chilean unit of account. The monthly fee for 2026: 10 UF for Playgroup, 12.5 UF for Pre-Kinder and Kinder, 13.5 UF from the first year of básico through to graduation. The one-off enrolment charge is 13.5 UF at every stage, and the entrance contribution runs from 30 to 50 UF depending on the stage. The same section names discounts for a second and subsequent children and a separate charge for the extended day in the younger groups.
Admissions Admission runs in five steps: the family's first enquiry, getting to know the school on a tour, at an open day or in a conversation with the leadership, submission of the application, a family interview together with a diagnostic assessment for the applicant, and a reply by email no later than 48 hours afterwards; once the family agrees, it signs a contract. The assessment looks at social skills, adaptation, independence and readiness to learn. English is not required in advance. The school has no separate inclusion programme, but it does take children with special educational needs as siblings of its own pupils, up to two places per year group, on condition of sessions with outside specialists and an annual review. Applications are accepted for every stage from Playgroup to IV medio.
Stages and year groups Grades Playgroup - IV medio. Playgroup, Infant School (Play Group - 2º básico), Junior School (3º - 6º básico), Senior School (7º básico - IV medio). Admission is open for every stage, including IV medio. The school announces no plans for new stages; of the Cambridge programme it writes that once Cambridge Primary is fully in place "se evaluará la extensión del programa a cursos superiores", that is, it plans to assess extending the programme to the upper years.
Address Valenzuela Puelma 8361, La Reina, Santiago
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A building in the commune of La Reina, built in 2002, more than 5 000 m². 22 multimedia classrooms, three courtyards. Physical education and the sports clubs take place off the school grounds, at the Ciudad Universitaria y del Deporte (formerly Ciudad Deportiva Iván Zamorano) where the communes of Providencia, Las Condes and La Reina meet: a complex of 12 hectares with nine mini-football pitches, nine tennis courts, a semi-Olympic pool and green areas. The complex belongs to Universidad San Sebastián and not to the school.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical roomUnidad de Primeros Auxilios (UPA) with a protocol of its own.
✓CounsellorAdmission and ongoing support are handled by the psychopedagogical team; there is a Directora de Bienestar y Familia; the Head of Infant School holds a postgraduate qualification in psychopedagogy.
✓Child protection policyThere is a post of officer for school coexistence (Encargada de Convivencia Escolar) and a Reglamento de Convivencia 2024 in force. Published protocols: Unificado de violencia, Protocolo Unidad Primeros Auxilios, Protocolo Accidentes (UPA and CDUSS), Protocolo Traslado Transporte y Salidas Pedagógicas, Protocolo Ascensor. A PISE plan with a report on shelter drills and with procedures for fire and earthquake.
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policyThe EducomLab digital literacy programme (PADE) works separately on cyberbullying, dependence on devices, mental health and online safety.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)72 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data75 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data60 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country