← Back to homeColégio Marista Santa Maria

Curitiba, Brazil · Private
Illustration · Curitiba
A Catholic Marist school in the São Lourenço district of Curitiba, one of the units of the Colégios Maristas network. The school profile names 2,732 pupils and the principal Ronaldo Luzzi, and the school itself speaks of a century of teaching traditi. Classes run from the "Vila Marista" Educação Infantil to Ensino Médio: the younger years have an intermediate shift and a bilingual day, and the 6º to 9º ano have a full day. The campus has a theatre, a green space and science laboratories, and a virtual tour of the premises is available. The school does not publish its fees, its additional charges or its teaching staff; there are no examination results or university lists on its pages, and the network gives only combined admission figures across all its schools. Child protection is covered by the "Política de Proteção Integral" shared by the Marists, and a separate channel, "CANAL + PROTEÇÃO", is open for reports of abuse.
Key facts
Languages of instruction
Portuguese
About the fees The school does not state the cost of tuiti: it has no section on fees, the "Editais" and "Bolsa Social" buttons on the unit's page open with no content, and the only form on the page books a visit and an "Open School" sessi.
Stages and year groups Grades Educação Infantil (Vila Marista) - Ensino Médio. The unit's page lists the stages and the modes in words: "Educação Infantil - Vila Marista" (matutino and vespertino shifts), "Ensino Fundamental (Anos Iniciais)" (matutino and vespertino), "Ensino Fundamental (Anos Finais)" (matutino), "Ensino Médio" (matutino), "Turno Integral" - "Esta modalidade está disponível para o 6º ao 9º ano", "Turno Intermediário" - "disponível para o Infantil 3 ao 5º ano, com possibilidade de contratação de 2 a 4x por semana", "Marista Integral Bilíngue" - "disponível para o Infantil 2 ao 5º ano". The school gives no class numbers for Ensino Médio.
Address Rua Prof. Joaquim de Matos Barreto, 98 - São Lourenço, Curitiba - PR, 82200-210
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · authorised programmeRede Marista · school is part of the networkCambridge lists the school as a separate entry, while the Marist site names no Cambridge stage at all: the "Internacionalização" page describes Cambridge International as "um currículo internacional... Adotado no Período Integral, a partir do 1o ano do Ensino Fundamental" and adds "Consulte a disponibilidade na unidade mais próxima", the "Período Integral" page says "Inglês com Cambridge International - confirme a disponibilidade na unidade mais próxima", and "Exames de Cambridge" is described as "Centro preparatório para os exames internacionais de proficiência em Língua Inglesa" with the note "*Disponíveis em unidades selecionadas". On the unit's own page Cambridge is not mentioned.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Rede Maristaschool network
The schools of the Instituto Marista, the Catholic congregation of the Marist Brothers founded by Marcellin Champagnat in 1817 at La Valla in France. In Brazil the congregation is divided into three provinces, and it is they that own the schools: Brasil Centro-Sul (PMBCS, formed in 2002 by the merger of the provinces of Santa Catarina and São Paulo, seated in Curitiba, working in Paraná, Santa Catarina, São Paulo, Mato Grosso do Sul, the Federal District and Goiânia), Brasil Centro-Norte (PMBCN, Brasília, thirteen states of the north, north-east and south-east) and Brasil Sul-Amazônia (PMBSA, Porto Alegre, 19 colleges, 8 free schools and 8 social centres). The name Rede Marista belongs to the last of the three; the name common to all three is Marista Brasil. Above the provinces stands the União Marista do Brasil (UMBRASIL), a non-profit legal entity of private law created in 2005 in Brasília: it represents and unites the provinces, and it names the provinces themselves as the maintainers of the schools. The numbers diverge: the common portal speaks of 97 units of basic education, fee-paying and free together, and lists 86 with addresses - in 22 states and the Federal District, 60 of them marked as a Colégio Marista, 19 as a social school and 7 as a social unit. The Marist websites name neither a franchise nor partner schools.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The page for this site names three things by capti: the theatre, a green space and the science laboratories; the school profile adds that its 2,732 pupils have access to extensive facilities and to schooling that begins in the pre-school stage and deepens through the primary and senior years. What the school does not give: there is a virtual tour of the campus on the site, but it carries no readable captions; the school gives no list of rooms in words, no floor areas and no number of buildings.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy"POLÍTICA DE PROTEÇÃO INTEGRAL" is published by the Marists in the "Gestão da Ética" secti, which is linked from the footer of the school's page; the contents of the document include "Compromissos do Marista Brasil com a proteção integral de crianças e adolescentes" and "Objetivos da política de proteção integral"
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)60 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data60 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median70 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country