← Back to homeColégio Positivo - Joinville

Joinville, Brazil · est. 2016 · Private
Illustration · Joinville
Colégio Positivo - Joinville is the network's first school outside Paraná, and it takes children from the age of one to the end of Ensino Médio. Thirty per cent of subjects in the half-day are taught in English, from the fifth year pupils sit language exams under the Cambridge International mark, and Ensino Médio has separate support for those intending to apply abroad, along with courses under an agreement with the American Full Sail University. The campus is large: an indoor heated Olympic swimming pool, a sports complex with a judo hall, a cultural complex with a music room, art rooms, a library of almost four thousand titles, the "Areia Azul" sandpit as an extension of the classroom, a canteen and a snack bar with a dietician's oversight of the menu. Entry is through facial recogniti, the grounds are under round-the-clock surveillance, and the school has a procedure for emergencies and a link to the municipal emergency services. After lessons it offers dance, judo, basketball, futsal and volleyball. The network does not publish its fees: the amount is given at a meeting at the school itself, and the site carries no list of the universities its leavers go on to - the "Aprovações" section opens empty.
Key facts
Admits from
1 year · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Portuguese, English
About the fees The network names neither an annual nor a monthly fee on the site, and publishes no price table. The order is this: an applicati, a visit to the school and a conversation with the admissions team, after which the contract is drawn up in the closed "Portal de Matrícula"; the only financial detail on the site is the payment methods - "boleto, cartão ou PIX". The network's scholarship competition this year is run for another unit: "A unidade participante deste ano é o Colégio Positivo - Jardim Ambiental".
Admissions The network describes no selection at admissi. The order is this: an approach to the school in person or by the central enrolment telephone 0800-721-1535, a visit with a tour of the campus in the company of a member of staff, then an application in the "Portal de Matrícula", the choice of a payment method and the signing of a contract; the documents required are the CPF and RG of the child and of the parents, a birth certificate, a vaccination record, proof of address and a report from the previous school. Before lessons begin the school promises individual meetings: "Antes de começar as aulas, realizamos atendimentos individuais para que a professora conheça cada detalhe do seu filho".
Stages and year groups Grades Educação Infantil (1 a 5 anos) - Ensino Médio. The unit lists its stages without year numbers, in four sections: "Educação Infantil (1 a 5 anos)", "Ensino Fundamental - Anos Iniciais", "Ensino Fundamental - Anos Finais", "Ensino Médio"; each section has its own page of distinguishing features, and the Ensino Médio one is about preparation for applications abroad. There are no year numbers on the unit's page, unlike at other units of the network.
Address Rua Aquidaban, 200, Atiradores, Joinville-SC, CEP 89.203-073
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · authorised programmeGrupo Positivo · school is part of the networkThe Cambridge school register gives the line "Colegio Positivo Joinville | Joinville, Brazil | No", but the link in that line points to the page of another unit of the network, which redirects in turn to the Curitiba unit Júnior. The school itself writes: "os estudantes contam com a chancela da Cambridge International, que garante simulados e certificações reconhecidas mundialmente a partir do 5º ano", and separately that pupils in the fifth and the ninth year may sit "o exame de proficiência de Cambridge". It names no Cambridge stage by name; what it describes are language exams.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Grupo Positivoschool network
A Brazilian group of companies, founded in 1972. Its divisions: Colégio Positivo, Curso Positivo, Editora Aprende Brasil, Posigraf, Positivo Tecnologia, Instituto Positivo and the central administration. The school division shows 11 sites in four cities: seven in Curitiba, including Positivo International School, two in Joinville, one each in Londrina and Ponta Grossa. The site gives no combined figures for the group.
What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
✓Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio
Campus: The unit describes its rooms one by one: a catering area with a canteen and a snack bar, a menu with a dietician's oversight and separate food for children with dietary restrictions; social areas for all the stages and a separate space for the bilingual stage; the "Areia Azul" sandpit as an extension of the classroom; art rooms for Educação Infantil, for Ensino Fundamental and for after-school activities; a library holding "3.998 títulos e 6.605 volumes"; a play room for the youngest children; a sports complex with a judo hall and an indoor heated Olympic swimming pool; a cultural complex with a music room and a set of instruments; a sensory light room; turnstiles with facial recogniti.
Clubs and activities: Dance · Judo · Basketball · Futsal · Volleyball
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The unit names only its director - Patrícia Menezes Barcelos Corrêa. The network publishes no teaching staff by name, no number of teachers and no pupil-teacher ratio. On qualifications it says one thing: "Temos um projeto exclusivo com cursos livres, formações obrigatórias e grupos de estudo para o desenvolvimento contínuo dos nossos professores"; the network's centre for continuing teacher development is described separately. Compulsory courses and study groups for teachers through the network's centre for pedagogical innovati.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
✓Access controlThe school describes the security of its campus as follows: "Nossa escola tem controle de entrada por reconhecimento facial, vigilância 24h, protocolos de emergência e conexão com a segurança pública", and separately, of the turnstiles: "nossas catracas possuem reconhecimento facial... identificando com alta precisão os alunos autorizados".
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Round-the-clock surveillance, facial recognition at the entrance, a procedure for emergencies and a link to the municipal emergency services are all named by the school. There is no child protection policy, no staff training in one and no school psychologist on its pages; the group has a corporate code of conduct and an open reporting channel, but these are documents about business ethics.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)60 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data73 Value for money (6%) scored at the median70 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country