Ranking · Vietnam · Hanoi
← Back to the ranking

Doan Thi Diem High School

Вьетнам Hanoi, Vietnam · est. 2008 · Private
Illustration · Hanoi
74.0#54 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
Cambridge · AP
Admits from
15 years
Languages of instruction
Vietnamese
Languages taught
English, Chinese, Japanese
School website
Students
1280
Stages and year groups Grades 10-12

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

College Board · authorised programmeCambridge · authorised programmeHệ thống giáo dục Đoàn Thị Điểm · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which stages - from the early years programme for three-year-olds up to A-Level - this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

Hệ thống giáo dục Đoàn Thị Điểmschool network

Hệ thống giáo dục Đoàn Thị Điểm is a group of schools under one brand rather than an operator with a legal entity of its own: the system has no site of its own, ownership, management and franchise are nowhere separated, and no owning company is named. The section about the system lists eight sites. Primary level: the schools on Tran Van Can and Nguyen Dinh Tu streets in Hanoi and Đoàn Thị Điểm Symphony in the An Lac Green Symphony residential district. Secondary level: the schools on Luu Huu Phuoc and Nguyen Dinh Tu streets and Symphony. Upper secondary level: the school on Nguyen Dinh Tu street. An all-through school in Ha Long is listed separately. At the same time the site of the secondary level describes Trường Phổ thông Đoàn Thị Điểm as a single school of three levels and names only two sites of its own; we give both counts. The year the system was founded is not given. The upper secondary school was created by a decision of 20 May 2008 as a continuation of the primary and secondary schools, and in 2013 it was recognised as a school of the national standard. Teaching is Vietnamese, and the upper secondary school has classes with intensive English, with mathematics, an international class, Chinese, Japanese and Cambridge classes.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Went on to university
100% выпускников
Where leavers go: University College London · New York University · University of New South Wales · University of Technology Sydney · Monash University · The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
Sports hall
Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
Library
Catering
School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Clubs and activities: list on the school website

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
Teacher qualifications
Number of teachers74
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show:

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
63
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
90
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
70
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
75
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Vinschool Green Bay Primary SchoolHanoi · 73.9Lycée français international Marguerite DurasHo Chi Minh City · 73.8Western Australian International School SystemHo Chi Minh City · 73.8Ban Mai SchoolHanoi · 73.8