← Back to homeGymnasium SSST

Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina · Private
Illustration · Sarajevo
Gymnasium SSST is a private four-year gymnasium attached to the Sarajevo School of Science and Technology university, on Bistrik Street in the old part of Sarajevo. All teaching is in English. The curriculum joins the programme of Sarajevo Canton to the Cambridge one: a leaver receives the state diploma and Cambridge AS and A Level certificates in the subjects chosen. The first two years are common to all; from the third year a student chooses a natural sciences or a social sciences track and takes two electives a year. B/H/S language and literature is taken as a subject, German as a second foreign language, and Arabic is offered as an elective. The school stakes much on hands-on work beyond the classroom: project work, regular consultations and mentoring, week-long internships at companies, exchanges with English gymnasiums, and nine student clubs - from the mathematics and debate clubs to Model United Nations and a first aid club. In 2026 the gymnasium saw off its seventh cohort of leavers, 54 of them. The university funds and hosts in the gymnasium building an annual conference for secondary school teachers, SSST ACTS, open to every school in the country.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $5 162 a year
8 690 BAM
Programmes
Cambridge · A-Level · National programme
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Bosnian, German
About the fees The annual fee is 8,690 BAM for citizens of Bosnia and Herzegovina and 8,690 EUR for foreign nationals, for one school year of the gymnasium, school year 2026. The sum includes textbooks and the annual Cambridge registration fee; the school uniform is not included. Payment is made in two instalments of 4,345 - at the start of October and at the start of February - or in ten of 869 a month, the last of them in July. Scholarships and financial aid are awarded after the entrance examinations: scholarships for an outstanding academic record, aid for families in socially or economically vulnerable circumstances; a sibling policy gives priority both in admission and in the scholarship process.
Admissions Entry is by entrance examination: the application is submitted before the examination, and the testing is held in the gymnasium building at Bistrik 7. Selection is by a written examination and an interview with teaching staff and the school leadership, and the main requirement is command of English. The application is accompanied by reports and conduct certificates from the four years of primary school, external examination results, a birth certificate extract and a citizenship document. Seven examination dates from April to August are set for the 2026-2027 school year. The school writes that a candidate's future success cannot be judged on past marks alone, takes achievements outside lessons into account, and gives particular weight to the interview.
Stages and year groups Four years of the gymnasium. The first two follow a common programme: B/H/S language and literature, English as the first foreign language, German as the second, history, geography, mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, computing, music, Latin and physical education, with Theory of Knowledge and visual arts added in the second year. In the third and fourth years a student chooses the natural sciences track (mathematics with additional topics, physics, chemistry, biology) or the social sciences track (psychology, history, geography, sociology, philosophy with logic, economics and politics, and international relations in the fourth year), and takes two electives a year from physical education, history of art, drama, visual arts, film and an introduction to graphic design.
Address Bistrik 7, 71000 Sarajevo
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · A-Level · authorised programmeThe gymnasium appears in the Cambridge International register as a centre, and the centre entry records that private candidates are accepted. The school itself writes that it has been registered as a Cambridge school since 2018-07. Cambridge subjects run alongside the state programme of Sarajevo Canton: on leaving, a student receives the state diploma and Cambridge AS and A Level certificates in the subjects chosen. The annual Cambridge registration fee is included in the tuition.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. The programme has been authorised since 2018. At this school: A-Level (ages 16-18). A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results The school does not publish numerical results. On leaving, a student receives the state diploma and Cambridge AS and A Level certificates in the subjects chosen.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓LaboratoriesComputer rooms and modern teaching equipment.
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The gymnasium occupies a building on Bistrik Street in the old part of Sarajevo; the school describes it as fitted with cutting-edge equipment.
Clubs and activities (9): Mathematics club · History club · Sports club with basketball · Geography club with geographic information systems · Discussion club · Model United Nations · French club · Chess club · First aid club · Exchanges with English grammar schools · Week-long work placements
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country