Ranking · Brazil · Niterói
← Back to the ranking

Instituto GayLussac

Бразилия Niterói, Brazil · est. 1954 · Private
Illustration · Niterói
77.6#11 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · PYP · Cambridge · IGCSE · National programme
Admits from
1 year · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Portuguese, English
Languages taught
Spanish, Chinese, Italian
School website
Students
выпуск 99 человек
Stages and year groups Grades Grupo 1 - 3ª série
Address Rua Maria Caldas 35, São Francisco

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP · authorised programmeCambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeCognita · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Cognitaschool network

A group of schools launched in 2004; the legal entity in the footer of the site is Cognita Holdings Limited. The site names 90 schools in 21 countries, 14 curricula and more than 22,000 staff, and the numbers agree on all the pages read. The section on a school joining the group speaks of working with the owners of schools and of integrating the school, but does not say outright whether the school passes into ownership; the word "franchise" does not appear on the site. The majority owner of Cognita itself is named as Jacobs Holding AG.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Where leavers go: Universidade de São Paulo · Universidade Estadual de Campinas · Pontifícia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro · Fundação Getulio Vargas · Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro · Universidade Federal Fluminense · Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro · Universidade Federal do Estado do Rio de Janeiro

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
Laboratories
Theatre or assembly hall
Library
Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground · Makerspace
Campus:
Clubs and activities: list on the school website

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show:

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
Access control
Nurse or medical room
Counsellor
Child protection policy
Staff training
Anti-bullying policy

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
74
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
90
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
70
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Brazilian International SchoolSão Paulo · 77.8Pan American School of BahiaSalvador · 77.1Beacon SchoolSão Paulo · 77Graded - The American School of São PauloSão Paulo · 76.9