Ranking · Thailand · Nonthaburi
← Back to the ranking

International School Bangkok

Таиланд Nonthaburi, Thailand · est. 1951 · Private
Illustration · Nonthaburi
77.3#23 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $19 889–36 126 a year
659 000–1.2 million THB
Programmes
IB · DP · AP
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Thai, Spanish, Chinese
School website
Students
1700
Registration fee
≈ $142
4 700 THB
Deposit
≈ $1 207
40 000 THB
Summer camp
Yes
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-K1-Grade 12, 14 classes
Address 39/7 Soi Nichada Thani, Samakee Road, Amphur Pak Kret, Nonthaburi 11120

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programmeCIS · membershipACS WASC · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
ACS WASCAccrediting Commission for Schools of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges

An American regional accreditation of the institution, working since 1962 and covering some 5,500 schools in California, the Pacific and Asia. It judges the whole school: a self-study, then a team visit. It gives the same status to supplementary and virtual programmes, so the category of an entry is worth checking separately.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Average IB score
35 (world average 30.88)
Where leavers go: Stanford University · Cornell University · Brown University · UCLA · New York University · University of Hong Kong · National University of Singapore · University College London

Facilities from the school's official website

Swimming pool
Sports hall
Laboratories
Theatre or assembly hall
Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Makerspace
Clubs and activities: list on the school website
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
Summer programme away from campus: day
Source: isb.ac.th

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
Access control
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
Counsellor
Child protection policy
Staff training
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
70
Value for money (6%)
50
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

PBISS International SchoolSurat Thani · 77.3KIS International School Reignwood ParkPathum Thani · 77.5Satit International Bilingual School of Rangsit University ChiangmaiChiang Mai · 77.5Bloomsbury International School HatyaiHat Yai · 77.5