Ranking · Vietnam · Ho Chi Minh City
← Back to the ranking

International Schools of North America - Saigon South Campus (SNA)

Вьетнам Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam · est. 2005 · Private
Illustration · Ho Chi Minh City
83.1#5 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $19 735–32 350 a year
514.6–843.5 million VND
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP
Admits from
6 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Vietnamese, Korean, Chinese, French
School website
Registration fee
≈ $215
5 600 000 VND
Deposit
≈ $1 534
40 000 000 VND
Stages and year groups

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programmeCIS · accreditationACS WASC · accreditationInternational Schools of North America (SNA) · school is part of the networkNguyen Hoang Group · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
ACS WASCAccrediting Commission for Schools of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges

An American regional accreditation of the institution, working since 1962 and covering some 5,500 schools in California, the Pacific and Asia. It judges the whole school: a self-study, then a team visit. It gives the same status to supplementary and virtual programmes, so the category of an entry is worth checking separately.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
International Schools of North America (SNA)school network

International Schools of North America, SNA for short, is a school brand and system within the Nguyen Hoang group: its own site calls it a member of the group outright, and the site of the second campus describes that campus as the result of a collaboration between the American Marianapolis Preparatory School and the Nguyen Hoang group. Neither of the sites draws a distinction between ownership, management and franchise. The year of foundation is 2005. There are two campuses. The first, Saigon South, has worked in Ho Chi Minh City since 2005, teaching grades 1 to 12, with the full IB continuum - PYP, MYP and DP; the site states that in 2022 the school became the sixth in Vietnam with authorisation for the whole continuum, and names membership of CIS and WASC. The second, SNA Marianapolis, opened in 2021 in Bien Hoa in Dong Nai province, is called the first fully international school in the province and the second branch of Marianapolis Preparatory School; its programme is American with AP courses, not IB. The SNA site describes the stages as running from pre-school to upper secondary school, while the group's site speaks of teaching from grade 1 to grade 12; we give both. The language of instruction is English.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Nguyen Hoang Groupschool network

Nguyen Hoang Group, in Vietnamese Tập đoàn Nguyễn Hoàng, is a Vietnamese private education group founded in 1999, with its head office in Ho Chi Minh City. Its own site describes it as having grown into an investment institution working in three directions: education, healthcare and technology. The members section lists nine members. Five universities: Hong Bang International University (1997), Hoa Sen University (1991), Gia Dinh University, Ba Ria-Vung Tau University (2006) and Mien Dong Technology University (2013). Three school systems: International Schools of North America (2005, grades 1 to 12), the bilingual UK Academy (2016, from kindergarten to secondary school) and iSchool (2008, sites in 14 provinces and cities, some 48,500 pupils). Plus the charitable foundation Bông Hồng Nhỏ. The site gives no overall number of schools, campuses or pupils for the group. It does not separate ownership, management and franchise: the members of the group are called simply members, and the legal form of the connection is not described.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Went on to university
100% выпускников
Where leavers go: Columbia University · Boston College · Penn State University · Drexel University · Villanova University · University of Massachusetts Amherst · Indiana University · Miami University · Saint Louis University · Florida International University · University of South Carolina · University of Central Florida и другие, всего 34 вуза в списке школы

Facilities from the school's official website

Swimming pool
Sports hall
Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
Library
Catering
School transport
Boarding
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground · Makerspace
Clubs and activities: list on the school website
Source: sna.edu.vn

Teaching staff from the school's official website

Teachers listed by namepublished
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
90
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
90
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
56
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Singapore International School @ DanangDa Nang · 83Singapore International School @ Vung TauVung Tau · 82.9Saigon South International SchoolHo Chi Minh City · 82.6Hanoi International SchoolHanoi · 83.6