← Back to homeMontevideo College

Montevideo, Uruguay · Private
Illustration · Montevideo
Montevideo College is a private secular bilingual school with state authorisation, working on two sites in Montevideo: the primary school at Ponce 1268, the secondary in Pocitos, on the corner of 26 de Marzo and Martí. It grew out of the Montevideo Kids nursery, and the secondary stage opened in 2018; the school day is a double one, from 8.15 to 16.45, and the school keeps its groups small - up to 22 pupils in the primary school and up to 23 in the secondary. English runs as a second language from the very beginning, by the end of school pupils receive international certificates, and the school calls itself a "Cambridge International School" and says that its pupils leave with IGCSE and AS/A Level. Besides lessons there are robotics, dance and drama workshops, chess, a school vegetable garden and a group of activity organisers drawn from the older classes; sport, meanwhile, stands on the timetable - three sessions a week in the primary school, rugby and football for the boys, hockey and handball for the girls. A psychopedagogical department is at work: it carries out general whole-class screenings and then, at teachers' request, follows individual children and keeps in touch with outside specialists and parents. The school does not publish its fees, its number of pupils or a list of graduate universities, and it suggests discussing terms at a personal meeting.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · National programme
Admits from
5 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English
About the fees The school does not state its fees: there is no section about payment on the site at all. On its contacts page it asks for a convenient time and offers a personal meeting.
Admissions The school handles admission through a personal meeting: on its contacts page it asks for a name, a telephone number and convenient hours, and promises to be in touch shortly. About the secondary stage the school reported separately that it works to the current ANEP requirements, and promised small groups of up to 23 pupils, a double school day from 8.15 to 16.45 and qualified teachers with experience in state and private schools.
Stages and year groups Grades Kinder 5, Primaria Form I-VI, Secundaria Grade 7-9 and Senior Grade 1 (4th year). The school's primary stage is Kinder 5 and Primaria from Form I to Form VI. The secondary opened in 2018 and got a site of its own in 2019. The school writes of itself that as a "Cambridge International School" it is authorised to offer IGCSE and AS/A Level and that this is how its pupils complete secondary school; at the same time its textbook list for 2026 goes as far as Senior Grade 1, that is the fourth year of secondary school. Both figures stand on its pages.
Address Ponce 1268, Montevideo
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Two sites in Montevideo. The primary school at Ponce 1268. The secondary is in a building of its own in Pocitos, on the corner of 26 de Marzo and Martí: the school writes that it built it specially as a teaching centre, with a large open space for pupils and teachers. The building has wifi, a computer room, a library and spacious, light classrooms; the classrooms are fitted with interactive whiteboards.
Clubs and activities: Robotics · Dance · Theatre · Chess · School vegetable garden · Los Laureles student spirit group
Teaching staff from the school's official website
✓Teachers listed by name6 names
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: All the teachers are qualified, and for the secondary stage the school takes teachers with recognised experience in state and private schools.
The school writes that all its teachers are qualified, and that for the secondary stage they have recognised experience in state and private schools. By name it lists the teachers with whom it started the primary stage: Sylvia Galeano, Laura Camacho, Pía Borthagaray, Paulina Algorta. Daniel Tort is named as head of the secondary school since it opened in 2018. The chess teacher Guillermo Hiriart is mentioned separately. The school does not give the number of its teachers or the ratio to pupils.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)85 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data90 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data76 Value for money (6%) scored at the median90 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country