← Back to homeRoyal School, Phu Lam Campus

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam · est. 2021 · Private
Illustration · Ho Chi Minh City
The Phú Lâm campus is the second site of the private bilingual Royal School, opened in May 2021 in the Bình Tân district in the west of Ho Chi Minh City, next to the Vo Van Kiet highway. It occupies about ten thousand square metres, most of it given over to greenery, and teaches every stage, from kindergarten from fifteen months through to Grade 12. The programme is the same as across the school: the Vietnamese state curriculum paired with the Cambridge one and twenty English lessons a week, with Primary Checkpoint after Grade 5, Lower Secondary Checkpoint after Grade 8 and then IGCSE and AS/A Level. The school has equipped its science room to the requirements of the Cambridge examination board, with a photometer, microscopes and an electrophoresis apparatus; there are a library, a computer room, art and music rooms, an indoor sports area and a swimming pool with two separate zones by stage. The school does not name its teaching staff individually or its pupil numbers. The fee discount the school holds for this campus is markedly larger than at the main one.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $3 452–7 287 a year
90–190 million VND
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
15 months · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Vietnamese, English
About the fees The school publishes the full fee table for the Phú Lâm campus as images, so it does not give the sums by year group as text. In text the school gives the fee per semester, and for kindergarten per month, noting that these are approximate figures. The school states the fee per semester: about 45-60 million VND in the primary school and about 65-95 million in the secondary and upper school, without the summer session and other charges. In kindergarten the fee is stated per month, about 10 million VND a month. The school counts the school year in two main semesters. The fee tables for the Phú Lâm campus are posted by the school as separate images for each stage.
Admissions Into kindergarten the school takes children from fifteen months to five years, into the primary school - into Grades 1 to 5, and into the secondary and upper school - into Grades 6 to 12. Before enrolment in kindergarten the school offers a free trial week. The school describes its enrolment procedure as five steps, but the steps themselves are posted as an image.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-Nursery (from 15 months) - Grade 12. Since it opened in May 2021 the Phú Lâm campus has enrolled every stage and goes up to Grade 12. The youngest group takes children from fifteen months.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
Exam results The school holds the Cambridge Primary Checkpoint for Grade 5 and the Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint for Grade 8. In 2022 its pupils were awarded the top score of 6.0 out of 6.0 in English as a Second Language, in mathematics and in science, and the school puts most of those who sat the tests at "good" level and above. The school does not give separate pass shares for IGCSE and AS/A Level.
Where leavers go: University of Science, Ho Chi Minh City · Fulbright University Vietnam · Trường Đại học Kinh tế TP.HCM · Trường Đại học Ngân hàng TP.HCM · Jinan University (China) · University of Amsterdam · University of Sydney · La Trobe University · University of Wollongong · Drexel University · Swinburne University of Technology · University of Greenwich and others, 13 universities in the school's list in all
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓LaboratoriesThe Science room is equipped to the requirements of the Cambridge examination board: a photometer, microscopes, an electrophoresis apparatus; separately the school names STEM, physics, chemistry and biology rooms.
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓LibraryA library of several thousand books in Vietnamese and in foreign languages, from stories and picture books to scientific and reference works.
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio
Campus: The Phú Lâm campus in the Bình Tân district, about 10,000 square metres, most of it green space; the Vo Van Kiet highway runs nearby. Classrooms with air conditioning, projectors, magnetic and felt boards, and furniture that is rearranged for work alone, in groups and as a whole class. A computer room with powerful machines and large screens. An indoor sports area with table tennis, martial arts and a climbing wall; a swimming pool with two separate zones by stage; an open ground with a lawn and a small play area.
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
The Summer Camp session runs at the Phú Lâm campus too: its fee is set out in a separate table, PL-summer-camp.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical roomA medical room at the school. A medical room with the necessary equipment, staffed by a doctor in the field and medical staff.
✓CounsellorThe school names counselling specialists of its own for its pupils.
✓Child protection policyThe school does not publish a separate child protection policy, recruitment vetting procedure or staff training.
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school changes and cleans the pool water regularly, watching its clarity and its pH level.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)95 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data80 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country