Ranking · Argentina · Buenos Aires
← Back to the ranking

Southern International School

Аргентина Buenos Aires, Argentina · est. 1999 · Private
Illustration · Buenos Aires
69.6#40 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $3 209–11 012 a year
485 250–1.7 million ARS a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · IGCSE
Preschool stage
yes
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English, Italian
Languages taught
Portuguese
School website
Stages and year groups Grades K1 - Secundaria
Address Autopista Buenos Aires - La Plata km 33,5, 1884 Hudson, Berazategui, Buenos Aires

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeInternational Schools · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
International Schoolsschool network

An Argentine group of three schools on a shared domain, intschools.org: Islands in Belgrano, Northern in Fátima (Pilar) and Southern in Hudson (Berazategui). The site counts its beginning from a kindergarten opened in 1981 in Belgrano by the teacher Estela María Irrera de Pallaro together with Andrés Pallaro; the Islands secondary school appeared in 1988, the Northern campus opened in 1997 and Southern in 1999. Estela María Irrera de Pallaro is named as the general director of the group. Who owns the schools the site does not explain. Teaching in all three is in Spanish, English and Italian.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
Sports hall
Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Campus:
Clubs and activities: list on the school website

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
84
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
70
Value for money (6%)
70
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

St John's PilarBuenos Aires · 69.6Saint Charles CollegeMartines · 69.6Bartolomé Mitre Day School (Sede Moreno)Moreno · 69.6St. George's College - QuilmesBuenos Aires · 69.7