Ranking · Kazakhstan · Astana
← Back to the ranking

Spectrum International School

Казахстан Astana, Kazakhstan · est. 2008 · Private
Illustration · Astana
81.4#5 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $13 995–20 333 a year
6.5–9.4 million KZT
Programmes
Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
6 years · Pre-School
Languages
English
School website
Registration fee
≈ $2 163
1 000 000 KZT
Stages and year groups Grades 0-12

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · Primary, Lower Secondary, IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeCIS · accreditationNEASC · accreditation
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: Primary (ages 5-11), Lower Secondary (ages 11-14), IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). Primary is the primary stage, ages 5 to 11: English, mathematics and science to Cambridge syllabuses. At the end of the stage a school may run the optional Checkpoint test, which is marked in Cambridge. Lower Secondary is the middle stage, ages 11 to 14, with the same optional Checkpoint test at the end. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
NEASCNew England Association of Schools and Colleges

An American accreditation working since 1885. For international schools it uses an approach where the visitors look first at live lessons rather than at folders of paperwork: the team works in the school for about a week. It is the only one here whose public directory honestly separates accredited schools from candidates.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Where leavers go: University of Cambridge · Imperial College London · University College London · King's College London · Nanyang Technological University · KAIST University · Yonsei University · Singapore Institute of Management · City University of Hong Kong · Pennsylvania State University · The University of Winnipeg · Temple University (Japan) и другие, всего 19 вузов в списке школы

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus:
Clubs and activities: list on the school website
Summer programme away from campus: Программа обучения за рубежом: школа заявляет, что более 100 учеников обучались в 21 стране. Отдельной страницы программы на сайте нет.. The school runs no camp of its own on campus

Teaching staff from the school's official website

Teachers listed by namepublished
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

CCTV
·Security staffnot stated on the website
Access control
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
Counsellor
Child protection policy
Staff training
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
85
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
95
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
56
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Almaty International School (QSI)Almaty · 81.4Zaman SchoolAlmaty · 81.7Haileybury AstanaAstana · 81.1Miras International School AlmatyAlmaty · 82.5