← Back to the rankingaccadis International School Bad Homburg

Bad Homburg, Germany · est. 2004 · Private
Illustration · Bad Homburg
accadis International School Bad Homburg is a private, non-profit bilingual German-English school on the SÜDCAMPUS in Bad Homburg, north of Frankfurt am Main, for children aged 2 to 18. It is a family-run school: the preschool opened in 2004, the elementary school in 2006 and the secondary school from grade 5 in the 2010-2011 school year; the accadis Hochschule university is on the same campus. The school is a state-recognised Ersatzschule of Hessen: the elementary school and grades 5-10 follow the Hessen framework curriculum with elements of international curricula, Cambridge IGCSE exams are taken in grades 9-10 and give the German Mittlerer Schulabschluss, and grades 11-12 follow the IB Diploma Programme, recognised as equivalent to the Abitur. Teaching is bilingual on the one person, one language principle: each preschool group has one educator for each language, the elementary school gives German and English equal time, and in the secondary school some subjects are taught in German and others in English; all students learn Spanish from grade 5. More than 600 students of over 50 nationalities attend, roughly half German and half international.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $10 710–22 911 a year
9 480–20 280 EUR
Programmes
IB · DP · Cambridge · IGCSE
Admits from
2 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
German, English
Registration fee
≈ $2 259
2 000 EUR
About the fees Annual fees for 2026-2027: Primary Class 9480 EUR, grades 1-4 10560 EUR, grades 5-10 12960 EUR, grades 11-12 (IB Diploma) 20280 EUR. Preschool day care fee 3600 EUR per year (until 15:15) or 4800 EUR (until 17:00). Fees are paid in three instalments (1 August, 1 December, 1 April); paying the full year at once gives a 2% discount, and siblings get 5% each, rising by 5 percentage points for each further child. For the elementary school and grades 5-10 families can apply for income and asset based fees: income up to 60000 EUR gives a 50% reduction, up to 80000 EUR 35%, up to 100000 EUR 15%. In grades 11-12 the school awards partial and full scholarships based on achievement and income. Meals, uniform, trips, textbooks and IB exam fees are not included.
Admissions For the preschool, families join a waiting list via the questionnaire on the website; when a place is available an appointment is arranged and a place offered. For the elementary school the child spends a trial day in class or meets teachers for an interview, and school management decides based on places and teacher feedback. For the secondary school and the IB Diploma Programme families send school reports for the last two years, then the student is invited to a trial day, an interview and entrance tests in Mathematics, English and German (depending on language level); the decision depends on places, tests, interview and trial day. Children with little knowledge of one language get individual support: German and English support in the elementary school, language groups by level and remedial Spanish in the secondary school. For families abroad the admission process usually takes place online; about half the students are international, from over 50 nationalities.
Stages and year groups Preschool (ages 2-5, Daisy and Sunflower groups) based on the Hessen education plan and the British Early Learning Goals; a Primary Class for 5-year-olds; elementary school grades 1-4 on the Hessen curriculum, which the school describes as based on the Hessian and the Cambridge International Curriculum (the site does not name a separate Cambridge Primary programme with exams); secondary school grades 5-10 on an international curriculum compatible with Hessen requirements, with Cambridge IGCSE exams at the end of grade 10 (a two-year course in grades 9-10): five subjects are compulsory, German (first or additional language), English, International Mathematics, Combined Sciences, History; many students also take the Spanish IGCSE by choice; the IGCSEs give the German Mittlerer Schulabschluss. Grades 11-12 follow the IB Diploma Programme in English and German (German A, English A, German B, English B, Spanish B, History, Business Management, Psychology, Biology, Physics, Chemistry, two Mathematics courses, Visual Arts; the home language can be studied with a tutor as School Supported Self Taught). The IB Diploma is recognised as equivalent to the German Abitur.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeCambridge · IGCSE · authorised programmeThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma Programme. The Cambridge register names the school as its centre; it teaches Cambridge IGCSE.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Clubs and activities: accadis-Band · aCT - accadis Theater Club · Choir · Duke of Edinburgh's International Award · Kids' Dance · Art Workshop · Early Musical Education · Drum Workshop · Hip Hop · Urban Dance · Modern Dance · Gymnastics · Parkour · Soccer · Basketball · Homework-Learning-Club
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
What the listings show: The school speaks of highly qualified teachers; PE teachers are internationally trained; staff draw on their own bilingual experience and work in multicultural settings.
Teachers, educators and assistants follow the one person, one language principle: one speaks to the children only in German, another only in English. Each mixed-age preschool group has two educators, one English-speaking and one German-speaking. Learning support teachers and assistants work with individual students and small groups. The school calls its student teacher ratio excellent but gives no figures. The site names the school and section leaders and one elementary teacher.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Filters and child protection restrictions, including SafeSearch, are in place on the school network; internet risks are discussed in elementary lessons and in secondary IT lessons. Grades 1-4 follow the Klasse 2000 health programme on preventing addiction and violence; the school is certified as a healthy school. There is learning support and support for gifted children based on an external specialist's report. The site does not publish a separate child protection policy.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)84 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)90 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country