← Back to the rankingInternationales Stiftungsgymnasium Magdeburg

Magdeburg, Germany · Private
Illustration · Magdeburg
Internationales Stiftungsgymnasium Magdeburg (ISG) is a private Gymnasium in Magdeburg (Saxony-Anhalt) run by the Protestant youth welfare foundation Stiftung Evangelische Jugendhilfe St. Johannis Bernburg; the school is open to all religions and worldviews. The Gymnasium leads to the German Abitur and in grades 11-12 also offers the IB Diploma as an additional qualification. The main language of instruction is German; the school focuses on language immersion: English and French from grade 5 (one of them as the first foreign language), and a third language, Latin, Spanish or Russian, from grade 9. In the IB Diploma German is Language A, while history or psychology, mathematics and physics or biology are additionally taught with English immersion; according to the school IB lessons are mainly in English. Each year group has three classes of 26 students. The school takes part in the state's digital learning programme, with students working on their own devices, all grades have a happiness subject on the timetable, and hybrid days take place every year. After school care runs from 7:00 to 17:00 and in the holidays.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
German, English
Languages taught
French, Spanish, Russian, Latin
About the fees The fee list has no school year. Tuition is 150 EUR per month, 120 EUR for a second child at the foundation's schools and 100 EUR for a third. Each family makes a one-time interest-free loan of 1000 EUR to the school, repaid when the last child leaves. IB Diploma students pay an additional monthly fee covering exams and learning software; the amount is not stated on the website. The foundation can waive, defer or suspend fees, the loan and charges on application.
Admissions Registration for grade 5 is online from the start of the school year until 30 November of the preceding year; families then send the grade 3 report, and the child must attend a two-hour trial lesson on a Saturday (for 2027-2028 on 9 January 2027). For three classes of 26 places the school selects children by pedagogical and social criteria, taking into account previous schooling and siblings; under the admissions policy good to very good grades in grade 4 and in the admission assessment, motivation and polite behaviour are expected. A written answer arrives by mid-February; those without a place join a waiting pool, from which places are drawn by lot. Entry into other grades is by e-mail to the stage coordinator. The IB Diploma admits students qualified for the Oberstufe after grade 10, following a compulsory counselling session in the first half of grade 10; good English is recommended. Students whose first language is not German get German as a second language groups and study groups; an international student who wants the IB Diploma without the Abitur can study their mother tongue as a self-taught Language A.
Stages and year groups Grades 5-12. A Gymnasium for grades 5-12 leading to the Abitur (Allgemeine Hochschulreife) under the Saxony-Anhalt curriculum; English and French from grade 5, a third language (Latin, Spanish or Russian) from grade 9. The IB Diploma Programme in grades 11-12 runs alongside the Abitur: six subjects (three HL and three SL) - German, English, history or psychology, mathematics, physics or biology and French or a second social science, plus TOK, CAS and the Extended Essay; Language A is German, Language B English or French. Individual IB courses with certificates are also possible. There is no Cambridge or Pearson programme; the school prepares students for the DELF French exam.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · DP · authorised programmeThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Diploma Programme. The IB track runs inside a German Gymnasium: in the upper grades students take the IB Diploma alongside the Abitur.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Clubs and activities: Physik zum Anfassen (hands-on physics) · Choir · Schulband (school band) · LEGO-FLL (First Lego League preparation) · Spanisch review (Spanish) · DELF (French exam preparation) · Table tennis · Selbstbehauptung (self-assertion) · Badminton · Football · Hula-Hoop · Rangeln (wrestling games) · Entspannung (relaxation) · Yoga · MUN · Jugend debattiert (youth debating competition) · Theater (theatre)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The team page presents the leadership and about 60 teachers by name with biographies, as well as the after school staff; many teachers studied or worked abroad (USA, Tunisia, Ivory Coast, Russia, Australia). Three coordinators lead the IB Diploma team. The school has a special educational needs teacher and a German as a second language teacher.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
A school social worker provides crisis intervention, counselling for young people and parents, group sessions on social learning and conflict resolution, and prevention work. One of the educators is a child protection specialist. There are school rules, inclusion and academic integrity policies, student mentors, a self-defence course and addiction prevention; children with diagnoses can apply each year for adjustments in assessment.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data70 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median84 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country