Home · Spain · Barcelona
← Back to home

Agora Princess Margaret International School

Spain Barcelona, Spain · est. 1967 · Private
Illustration · Barcelona
65.6#353 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Agora Princess Margaret is a Barcelona school in the Horta-Guinardó district, opened in 1967 as an English school at a time when Barcelona was learning French: its founders, Mrs Gaos and Mrs Ruhí, bet on the language that went on to become the world's. English has stood at the heart of the language project from day one. In 2000 the school enlarged its site, moved to new technologies and added the secondary stage. Today the school belongs to the Globeducate group and runs a trilingual programme: in Infantil, from three to six, there is full immersion in English, while in Primary and Secondary half the subjects are taught in English, a quarter in Spanish and a quarter in Catalan, with subjects changing language from year to year so that vocabulary builds up in all three. The main thing a parent needs to know: the school does not yet have the IB Diploma Programme - it opens in September 2027 together with a new upper-stage building, and until then the school ends at sixteen.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP · National programme
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English, Spanish
Class size
Infantil about 20, Primary and Secondary up to 25 pupils
Summer camp
Yes
Admissions Admission runs in three steps: a request for information through the form or by phone, a visit to the school, in person or virtual, presenting the project, curriculum and facilities, and registration. At registration the school asks for records from the previous school, and from the second year of primary the child sits an admissions exam appropriate to their level. The school admits foreign pupils and says so directly: 35 per cent of its pupils are international, from more than thirty nationalities. Spanish and Catalan are not required for entry: for those who do not know the languages the school runs a Welcome Class - language and emotional support until the child catches up with the class.
Stages and year groups Grades Infant 3-6, Primary 6-12, Secondary 12-16; upper stage from 2027. The stages run right through from three to sixteen: Infantil 3-6, Primary 6-12, Secondary 12-16. The school has no upper stage yet: the IB Diploma Programme and a new building for it open in September 2027. Language shares by stage: full immersion in English in Infantil, then 50 per cent of subjects in English, 25 in Spanish and 25 in Catalan.
Address Passeig de la Font d'en Fargas, 15-17

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP, MYP · authorised programmeGlobeducate · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Globeducateschool network

A K12 education group bringing together bilingual and international schools as well as online programmes. The site names "65+" schools in 11 countries and 40,000 pupils, and on all the pages read these numbers agree. Whether the group owns the schools, manages them or passes on its methodology under licence is not said on the site; the year of foundation and the country of registration are not named.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A site on Passeig de la Font d'en Fargas in the Horta-Guinardó district, enlarged in 2000. The school describes its classrooms and laboratories through their equipment: an interactive digital environment in every classroom, laboratories for different skills. It promises a new upper-stage building by 2027. The facilities page gives no list of sports or other features.
Clubs and activities (7): Extracurricular activities · Summer camp · Exchanges and stays abroad · Globeducate international events · Posidonia Experience · Body, Mind & Spirit · English Centre
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
In summer the school runs a Summer Camp for children aged 3 to 13, of flexible length from one to six weeks: games and crafts, cooking, sport, the pool and intensive English lessons, oral and playful, for all levels, in small groups. The school gives no dates, hours or price on the camp page.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
The school publishes no staff list or teacher numbers. It writes that its teachers come from a variety of countries, and subjects taught in English are led by teachers with Proficiency-level or native English. Class sizes: about 20 children in Infantil, no more than 25 in Primary and Secondary.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
65
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
61
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

School Year Abroad - SpainZaragoza · 65.6Coruna British International SchoolCulleredo · 65.6Learnlife Urban HubBarcelona · 65.5IES Son PacsPalma · 65.5