Home · UAE · Abu Dhabi
← Back to home

Ajyal International School - MBZ

ОАЭ Abu Dhabi, UAE · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
69.8#118 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Ajyal International School stands in Mohammed bin Zayed City in Abu Dhabi, in a single purpose-built building, and takes children from the Foundation Stage through to Year 13 without a move to another school. Teaching follows the National Curriculum of England, with the compulsory subjects of the UAE Ministry of Education added to it - Arabic, Islamic studies and social studies - and at Key Stages 4 and 5 the school offers IGCSE, BTEC, AS and A Level. The Abu Dhabi Department of Education and Knowledge rated the school Very Good in 2024, Good in 2022 and 2018 and Developed in 2020, when distance learning was inspected. The school does not name a year of foundation and writes only of more than six years of experience. Its teachers, it says, are native English speakers, and the primary class teachers are UK-trained. The week is a short one: Monday to Thursday from 7:45 to 15:00 and Friday until 11:30.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $6 974–11 761 a year
25 611–43 192 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · BTEC
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
School website
Registration fee
≈ $272
1 000 AED
About the fees On its fees page the school sets two scales side by side: the one approved by the Abu Dhabi education authority and the one it actually charges. The second is lower than the first at every stage, and for 2026/27 it reads: 25,611 dirhams for the first foundation year, 27,117 for the second and for Year 1, 35,000 for Years 2 to 6, 40,472 for Years 7 to 10 and 43,192 for Years 11 to 13. The ADEK-approved amounts for the same stages run from 30,130 to 53,990 dirhams. A registration charge of 1,000 dirhams is included in the stated amount and is paid on enrolment; transport costs a further 5,000 dirhams a year.
Admissions An application is made by registering on the website for the chosen academic year. The school calls itself a private British-curriculum school and names no restrictions by nationality. The year of entry is set by the age scale of the Abu Dhabi education authority.
Stages and year groups The stages run right through on one campus: a foundation stage on the British EYFS framework with its seven areas of development; a primary school where the class teacher takes the core subjects while language, music and physical education go to subject teachers; then the middle and senior stages, with external examinations in Years 11, 12 and 13. The school day runs Monday to Thursday from 7:45 to 15:00 and on Friday from 7:45 to 11:30.
Address Mohammed bin Zayed City, Zone 15

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeBSME · part of the association
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BTEC

A British vocational qualification from Pearson: not an academic course with an exam at the end, but a programme of practical assignments in a particular trade, from engineering and business to art and sport.

What this means for this school. Teaching and assessment work differently from A-level: instead of written exams there is a run of practical assignments marked by the school, while Pearson checks the school itself and samples the work. British universities do accept BTEC, but not all of them and not for every course: level 3 carries the same UCAS points as A-level, and that is what a family aiming at a particular university should look at. For a child who needs the classic academic route, BTEC is not a replacement for A-level but a different path.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Campus: A single purpose-built building in Mohammed bin Zayed City, Zone 15, behind the Sheikha Fatima Mosque and about ten minutes from Mazyad Mall. The school lists science laboratories, a design and technology workshop, a library, music rooms with a recording studio, an auditorium, a swimming pool, outdoor fields, an indoor sports hall, netball courts and playgrounds.
Source: ajyal.sch.ae

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
90
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
74
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

South View SchoolDubai · 69.7SABIS International School - Yas IslandAbu Dhabi · 69.7Woodlem British SchoolAjman · 69.7Greenwood International SchoolDubai · 69.7