Home · UAE · Abu Dhabi
← Back to home

Al Basma British School

ОАЭ Abu Dhabi, UAE · est. 1980 · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
72.2#52 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Al Basma British School traces its origins to Giggles English School, opened in Abu Dhabi in 1980, and has worked under its present name since a relaunch in 2014. Teaching follows the National Curriculum of England: the Foundation Stage, the primary school, Key Stage 3, iGCSE at Key Stage 4 and A Level at Key Stage 5. The Abu Dhabi Department of Education and Knowledge rates the school Very Good with Outstanding Features. The campus is divided into primary and secondary buildings with subject-dedicated laboratories. In the summer of 2025 seventy-two Year 11 pupils sat 527 GCSE examinations, and 15 per cent of all grades awarded were an 8 or a 9; Year 13 leavers go on to medicine, computer science and engineering. The main thing a parent should know: the school is markedly cheaper than most British schools in Abu Dhabi, from 21,890 to 44,380 dirhams a year, and the bus is not included in those sums.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $5 961–12 084 a year
21 890–44 380 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
3 years
Languages
English
School website
About the fees Fees for 2026/27 by year of study: AED 21,890 in the first early years year, 24,110 in the second, 26,610 in Year 1, 27,840 in Year 2, 31,030 in Year 3, 32,940 in Years 4 and 5, 34,200 in Year 6, 35,550 in Year 7, 36,800 in Year 8, 38,040 in Year 9, 39,280 in Year 10, 41,880 in Year 11, 43,130 in Year 12 and 44,380 in Year 13. School transport costs AED 5,000 and is added to the fee separately. The school checks its own figures against the scale approved by the Abu Dhabi education authority and publishes both.
Admissions The application form is filled in on the website, and the school says in advance what has to be attached to it. For the early years stages and the first two school years that means the child's UAE identity card or passport page, a birth certificate and the parent's documents; from Year 3 to Year 13 documents from the previous school are added. Every required field of the application has to be filled in, and the contact details must match across all the children of one family; the school asks for the details of two adults, at least one of whom is a parent or legal guardian.
Stages and year groups The stages run straight through: an early years stage on the British EYFS framework, the primary school, Key Stage 3, Key Stage 4 with iGCSE exams at the end of Year 11, and Key Stage 5 with A Levels. The primary and secondary schools occupy separate buildings.
Address Al Houri Street, Al Bahia, behind Deerfields Mall

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeBSO · accreditationBSME · part of the association
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The campus behind Deerfields Mall in the Al Bahia area is divided into primary and secondary buildings. The school names subject-dedicated laboratories, classrooms with technology and sports facilities, but gives no itemised list. A new building for the younger stages was completed in 2017.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
73
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Raffles International SchoolDubai · 72.3Liwa International School - Falaj HazzaAl Ain · 72.3The Apple International SchoolDubai · 72.4English Private School of KalbaKalba · 72.4