Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

Raffles International School

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · Private
Illustration · Dubai
72.3#50 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Raffles International School stands in the residential area of Umm Suqeim 3 on Al Baghla Street, right by the sea and looking out on the Burj Al Arab, and belongs to the Innoventures Education group, founded in 2005. The curriculum is the English national one, from the nursery group and FS1 through to Year 13, with EYFS in the youngest years. The campus was built for the school and takes up almost 315 thousand square feet: at its core are three large, light-filled atriums, with the classrooms opening straight onto them. Sport here is strong: a competition pool and a training pool, a large sports hall, cricket nets, a multi-use games area, a big playing field and purpose-laid outdoor areas of artificial grass around the whole school, and more than forty different teams train here - football, touch rugby, athletics, volleyball. There is a separate music studio, ICT rooms and drama spaces. The school's language provision is wide. Teaching is in English, and Arabic is compulsory for everyone up to and including Year 12: Arabic A for Arab pupils, Arabic B for the rest, split into beginner, intermediate and advanced groups in every year. From Year 3 everyone picks an additional language - French, Spanish or Chinese - and it runs to the end of Year 9, after which the language choice is settled by the GCSE and IGCSE subjects. Beyond that the school keeps mother tongue programmes with native speakers and coordinators of their own: French, Spanish, Russian, Hindi and German, timetabled inside the school day or after lessons where the group is small. Pupils weak in English are given support decided by an entry assessment from the teachers and the EAL service. Co-curricular classes and sports programmes run from Monday to Thursday after lessons and are free.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $9 273–23 639 a year
34 055–86 815 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic, French, Spanish, Chinese, Russian, Hindi, German
School website
About the fees The 2026-2027 fee table runs in two columns: the KHDA approved figure and the one the school actually charges, and from Year 5 onwards the second is lower than the first. The figures actually charged: FS1 and FS2 at 34,055 dirhams, Year 1 42,092, Years 2 and 3 at 54,080, Year 4 54,488, Years 5 and 6 at 63,881, Year 7 64,950, Years 8, 9 and 10 at 72,269, Year 11 76,619, and Years 12 and 13 at 86,815. It is paid in three parts, due on 28 August, 31 December and 9 April, while a registration fee of ten per cent of the annual fee is paid in advance and deducted from the first instalment; for existing pupils it becomes a re-registration fee of five per cent due on 4 April. Co-curricular and sports programmes are free.
Admissions The admissions procedure is set out on the Admissions Process page, alongside a separate page of questions and answers and a re-enrolment form. The level of English is no barrier to admission: pupils new to English or developing their fluency are given support based on entry assessments by teachers and the EAL service. The school runs a scholarship programme with its own application form.
Stages and year groups Grades FS1 from age 3 - Year 13, up to age 18. The stages run straight through: a nursery group, FS1 and FS2 on the EYFS, the primary school, Key Stage 3, Key Stage 4 with GCSE and IGCSE examinations, and a Sixth Form with A Levels. The school gives the age for each year group in the fee table itself: FS1 at three, FS2 at four to five, Year 1 at five to six and so on a year per group up to Year 13 at seventeen to eighteen.
Address Al Baghla Street, Umm Suqeim 3

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmeBSO · accreditationBSME · part of the association
The school has its own accreditations page, but it names no accrediting organisation: what stands there are two inspections. The school was inspected under the British Schools Overseas scheme by the Education Development Trust in November 2021 and the quality of education was judged Outstanding, while the Dubai Schools Inspection Bureau rated it Very Good after a December 2022 inspection. Neither is entered in the card: we have not checked the BSO or EDT registries for the UAE, and BSME is not yet in our directory of organisations. The Cambridge registration is taken from the registry.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSOBritish government inspection of schools overseas

A scheme of the UK Department for Education: a school abroad is inspected against the standards for independent schools in England, including safeguarding and the standards for boarding. The inspections are done by independent inspectorates approved by the department, and the inspectorates themselves are monitored annually by Ofsted. The reports are published in full on the government website.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BSMEAssociation of British schools in the Middle East

One hundred and eighty schools in ten countries - Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE; more than half of the membership is in the UAE. It runs no inspections of its own at all. Instead it requires somebody else's accreditation, and the requirement is strict: a school not already accredited on joining must gain accreditation within two years and then maintain it. The inspectorates are EDT or ISI, which means the accreditation in question is the British government's BSO scheme. The organisation has withdrawn its former lighter routes in - one route remains.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association, and the association requires its members to hold a real accreditation: for Gulf schools that is almost always BSO. What to look at is that accreditation rather than this badge. Nor is the badge empty - there is no inspection of its own behind it, but a school is not admitted to the association without somebody else's accreditation. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio · Playground
Campus:
Clubs and activities: Football · Touch rugby · Athletics · Volleyball

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
70
Value for money (6%)
56
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Liwa International School - Falaj HazzaAl Ain · 72.3Al Basma British SchoolAbu Dhabi · 72.2The Apple International SchoolDubai · 72.4English Private School of KalbaKalba · 72.4