Home · UAE · Sharjah
← Back to home

Al Ma'arifa International Private School

ОАЭ Sharjah, UAE · est. 1986 · Private
Illustration · Sharjah
69.9#115 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Al Ma'arifa International Private School has run in Sharjah since 1986: a large school of more than 3,500 pupils and over 550 staff, and it runs two curricula at once - American and British - from Pre-KG to Year 13. They part only at the senior stage: the road is common to Grade 8, after which it is either the American Grades 9 to 12 or the British Years 10 to 13. Teaching is in English, with Arabic as a subject. The British side the school runs through Cambridge International and Pearson Edexcel - IGCSE, A Level and BTEC - and it also works as an official College Board centre for the SAT and AP and as an ACT centre, so its pupils sit their external examinations on site. Children are taken into the kindergarten from age three, and admission is set out by year of birth: Pre-KG for children born in 2023, KG1 in 2022, KG2 in 2021 and Grade 1 in 2020. The fee is approved by the Sharjah Private Education Authority and runs by year group from 14,360 dirhams in Pre-KG to 27,470 in Grade 12; textbooks are not included, transport is charged by emirate, and payment can be made only by bank transfer - the school does not accept cash. What sets it apart is its own set of external ties: the school lists partnerships with IDP Education, ACER, IEA TIMSS, the OECD and UNESCO, and it tracks quality through external NWEA assessments. There is a medical room: the contacts give separate internal numbers for the nurse. The main thing a parent needs to know: the school's site is a single page and very sparse - no campus facilities, no clubs, no leaver or university figures - and the site itself is served only over unsecured http.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $3 910–7 480 a year
14 360–27 470 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · Pearson Edexcel · BTEC · AP · American programme
Admits from
3 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
School website
About the fees The annual fee on the American programme, 2025-2026 table approved by the Sharjah Private Education Authority: Pre-KG and KG1 at 14,360 dirhams each, KG2 14,675, grade 1 16,780, grade 2 17,390, grade 3 18,338, grade 4 19,110, grade 5 20,233, grade 6 20,215, grade 7 22,348, grade 8 22,675, grade 9 23,483, grade 10 24,605, grade 11 25,899 and grade 12 27,470. Transport is not included and is charged by emirate: 5,500 dirhams a year for Sharjah, 6,300 each for Ajman and Dubai and 6,500 for Umm Al Quwain. Payment is by bank transfer only; the school accepts no cash.
Admissions Admission to the kindergarten and grade 1 goes strictly by year of birth: Pre-KG takes children born in 2023, KG1 those born in 2022, KG2 in 2021 and grade 1 in 2020, that is at three, four, five and six years old. The documents are an Emirates ID and passport, a birth certificate, previous school reports for two years, a transfer certificate, a vaccination certificate and six photographs. The admissions office works Monday to Thursday from 7:30 to 14:30.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-KG from age 3 - grade 12 of the American stage or Year 13 of the British one. The stages are a Pre-KG to KG2 kindergarten, primary grades 1-4, middle school grades 5-8, and a senior stage that is either American grades 9-12 or British Years 10-13. The choice between the two programmes is made at the senior stage; until then the path is shared.
Address Al Istiqlal Street, Yarmouk Area, P.O. Box 7190

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

MSA · accreditationCognia · accreditationCambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmePearson · authorised programmeACS WASC · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programme
The school calls itself accredited by Cognia and licensed by the UAE Ministry of Education, and alongside these it lists examination-centre statuses: an official College Board centre (SAT and AP), an authorised Pearson Edexcel centre (IGCSE, A Level, BTEC), an ACT centre and a Cambridge International centre. An examination-centre status confirms nothing about a school's quality: any school able to run an exam securely can hold it. The school separately names an AIAA/ASC accreditation - the American International Accreditation Association - which is not in our reference book and is therefore not entered in the card.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

MSAMiddle States Association of Colleges and Schools

One of the oldest American accreditations, working since 1887 in more than a hundred countries and linked to the Office of Overseas Schools of the US State Department. It judges the school as an institution across twelve areas, including finances, governance, premises and student support.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CogniaCognia, formerly AdvancED

The widest-reaching American accreditation: some forty thousand schools in over a hundred countries. It accredits both individual schools and whole school systems. It also sells a paid membership with no inspection behind it, and that membership is often passed off as accreditation.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board

It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.

What this status would mean. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The school is not in the organisation's register: the status comes from the school's own words. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
ACS WASCAccrediting Commission for Schools of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges

An American regional accreditation of the institution, working since 1962 and covering some 5,500 schools in California, the Pacific and Asia. It judges the whole school: a self-study, then a team visit. It gives the same status to supplementary and virtual programmes, so the category of an entry is worth checking separately.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
BTEC

A British vocational qualification from Pearson: not an academic course with an exam at the end, but a programme of practical assignments in a particular trade, from engineering and business to art and sport.

What this means for this school. Teaching and assessment work differently from A-level: instead of written exams there is a run of practical assignments marked by the school, while Pearson checks the school itself and samples the work. British universities do accept BTEC, but not all of them and not for every course: level 3 carries the same UCAS points as A-level, and that is what a family aiming at a particular university should look at. For a child who needs the classic academic route, BTEC is not a replacement for A-level but a different path.

AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

American programme

The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.

What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities

The school does not describe its premises on its website.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has a clinic: the contact section gives separate internal numbers for the nurse. The school names neither a child protection policy, nor a psychologist, nor security staff.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
90
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
100
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
85
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

School of Modern SkillsDubai · 69.9Greenfield International SchoolDubai · 69.9American Academy for GirlsDubai · 70Philadelphia Private School (PPS) DubaiDubai · 70