Home · UAE · Abu Dhabi
← Back to home

Al Murooj Scientific Private School

ОАЭ Abu Dhabi, UAE · est. 1992 · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
67.6#172 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Al Murooj Scientific Private School has been running in Abu Dhabi since 1992 and takes boys and girls from the first Foundation Stage year to Grade 12 on a British curriculum. The school is an independent Cambridge examination centre and runs IGCSE, O Level, AS and A Level examinations itself across a wide range of subjects; it is also registered with the British Council and works as a UNESCO school, taking part in international environmental and cultural programmes. The school describes its stages in its own words: a kindergarten from the age of four in two phases, a primary school from Grade 1 to Grade 5, a middle school, and a high school from Grade 9 to Grade 12 with specialisation. A separate nursery prepares children before the kindergarten. The week runs Monday to Friday, with the gates open from 7:15 to 8:00. The main thing a parent should know: the school does not show fee amounts on its pages and publishes them instead in the regulator's approval files.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · Pearson Edexcel
Admits from
4 years
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
School website
Admissions Admission begins with online registration for the chosen academic year through the school's website. The application is reviewed and, if places are available, an assessment is arranged; if there are no places, the application goes onto a waiting list until a place opens up, or is carried over to the following academic year.
Stages and year groups The stages run right through: kindergarten starts at four and has two stages, KG1 and KG2; the primary school covers Grades 1 to 5 and is aimed at personal and academic skills; then the middle school; and the high school from Grade 9 to Grade 12, where pupils choose a specialist track. Before kindergarten there is a separate pre-kindergarten. The school gates open at 7:15 and close at 8:00; the week runs Monday to Friday, with Saturday and Sunday off.
Address Mussafah, Mohammed Bin Zayed City

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmePearson · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board

It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.

What the badge means for this school. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus:
Source: almurooj.ae

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
68
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Liwa International School - Al MushrifAbu Dhabi · 67.6Lycée Libanais Francophone Privé MeydanDubai · 67.5German International School Abu DhabiAbu Dhabi · 67.5Al Maaref American SchoolDubai · 67.5