Home · UAE · Abu Dhabi
← Back to home

Liwa International School - Al Mushrif

ОАЭ Abu Dhabi, UAE · est. 2019 · Private
Illustration · Abu Dhabi
67.6#172 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Liwa International School - Al Mushrif opened in 2019 in the Al Mushrif district of Abu Dhabi and belongs to the Liwa Education group. It teaches the American programme to California state standards alongside the requirements of the UAE national agenda, with Arabic and UAE social studies as separate subjects. The main thing a parent needs to know: the school is still growing and currently ends with grade 11 - it has no grade 12, that is no leaving year, and no leavers of its own. Of its facilities the school names science laboratories, a computer lab, sports facilities, art and music rooms, a prayer room, playgrounds, a library, an auditorium, a food technology lab, a robotics lab, a cafeteria and medical clinics. The leadership is published by name: the principal, a vice principal, the head of inclusion and two assistant vice principals for the middle and high school.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
AP · American programme
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Arabic
School website
Stages and year groups Grades KG1 - grade 11. The school currently ends with grade 11: it has no leaving year, grade 12.
Address Al Mushrif

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cognia · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programmeLiwa Education · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CogniaCognia, formerly AdvancED

The widest-reaching American accreditation: some forty thousand schools in over a hundred countries. It accredits both individual schools and whole school systems. It also sells a paid membership with no inspection behind it, and that membership is often passed off as accreditation.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

American programme

The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.

What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.

Liwa Educationschool network

Liwa Education is a school group in Abu Dhabi and Al Ain; its site liwaeducation.com dates the group itself to 2019 («Liwa Education is established. LISM is founded in Abu Dhabi») and runs the school history from 1992: «Liwa Private School is established with 60 registered students in its first year. It is then renamed Liwa International School (LIS)». The school list has four entries, all American curriculum: Liwa International School - Falaj Hazza (LISF), Liwa International School - Al Mushrif (LISM), Liwa International School for Girls (LISG, first year 2015) and Liwa International School - Al Qattara (LISQ, opening promised for 2022 in Al Ain); in 2020 the group added the Teddy Bear Nurseries chain. The geography is given as «Our schools and nurseries across Al Ain and Abu Dhabi offer a challenging American curriculum education». There are no group-wide figures on the site: the only ones printed are from 2018 and cover a single school - «LIS is now home to over 2500 students and 370 staff members and has produced 691 graduates». Ownership and management are not addressed; of the nurseries the site says they were acquired.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Art studio · Playground
Campus: Science laboratories, a computer lab, sports facilities, art and music rooms, a prayer room, playgrounds, a library, an auditorium, a food technology lab, a robotics lab, a cafeteria and medical clinics.
Source: lism.ae

Teaching staff

There is no data for this section yet.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
There are medical clinics on campus, and a separate inclusion service with a head is named.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
75
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
90
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
68
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Al Murooj Scientific Private SchoolAbu Dhabi · 67.6Lycée Libanais Francophone Privé MeydanDubai · 67.5German International School Abu DhabiAbu Dhabi · 67.5Al Maaref American SchoolDubai · 67.5