Home · Austria · Vienna
← Back to home

American International School Vienna

Austria Vienna, Austria · est. 1959 · Private
Illustration · Vienna
78.2#3 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

American International School Vienna was founded on 1 September 1959 from the Vienna International Community School and since 1961 has occupied its own site by the Vienna Woods in the 19th district. It is a non-profit school: its US corporation holds 501(c)(3) status. About 780 students from Pre-K to Grade 12 come from 77 countries, about half of them American or Austrian; about 200 new students join each year. "Instruction is in English", and the school follows the American system with an international flavour. All graduates receive the US high school diploma, and most students in Grades 11-12 also take the IB Diploma, offered since 1977. Most students study German every year, from beginner to native level; French and Spanish are added in middle school. The high school has 39 educators, 36 of them with advanced degrees.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $17 954–32 836 a year
15 892–29 065 EUR
Programmes
IB · DP · AP · American programme
Admits from
4 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
German, French, Spanish
School website
Students
780
Class size
20 pupils
Registration fee
≈ $791
700 EUR
Deposit
≈ $3 389
3 000 EUR
About the fees Annual tuition in euros: Pre-Kindergarten 15892, Kindergarten - Grade 5 24816, Grades 6-8 27536, Grades 9-10 28640, Grades 11-12 29065. The fees page refers to the Tuition & Fees 2026-2027 schedule; an instalment plan is available for an additional fee. Payment is in euros only.
Admissions The school admits students able to complete its programme within the regular classroom. Until 1 April places are allocated in this order: 1) children of US and Canadian diplomats, qualifying school staff and ambassadors; 2) siblings of enrolled students; 3) children whose strongest academic or native language is English; 4) children of diplomatic and international families, with priority for under-represented nationalities; 5) children of alumni and returning families; 6) Austrian residents and citizens not in these groups. A firm condition: "Students and at least one parent/guardian must be legally authorized to reside and attend school in Austria" for the whole enrolment, and the student lives with parents or an AIS-approved guardian; there is no boarding. English: the elementary school accepts beginners with EAL support (at most 20% of a class in Grades 1-5 and 30% in Pre-K and Kindergarten), Grades 6-8 require intermediate English, Grades 9-12 accept only proficient C1 speakers, with no EAL. Children must be 4 by 1 September for Pre-K, 5 for Kindergarten and 6 for Grade 1; students must graduate before turning 20. Students with mild and moderate learning differences are accepted into mainstream classes.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-K - Grade 12. Elementary School (Pre-K - Grade 5), Middle School (Grades 6-8), High School (Grades 9-12). "All AIS Vienna graduates receive the US high school diploma"; most students in Grades 11-12 also pursue the IB Diploma. The school has offered the IB Diploma since 1977 and describes itself as the 72nd IB school authorised worldwide. In 1958 the Austrian Ministry of Education recognised the school's American curriculum.
Address Salmannsdorfer Strasse 47, 1190 Wien

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programmeCIS · accreditationMSA · accreditationCollege Board · authorised programmeCEESA · part of the association
The IB register lists the Diploma Programme at the school. The school is accredited by CIS and by MSA (Middle States Association), listed as Active in the MSA directory, first accredited in 1987 and valid until 2031. It appears in the College Board AP Course Ledger for the 2025-2026 school year with one subject. It is a full member of CEESA.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
MSAMiddle States Association of Colleges and Schools

One of the oldest American accreditations, working since 1887 in more than a hundred countries and linked to the Office of Overseas Schools of the US State Department. It judges the school as an institution across twelve areas, including finances, governance, premises and student support.

What the badge means for this school. The school has been through this organisation's accreditation. It was judged as a whole: governance, safeguarding, staff, premises, teaching. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
College BoardCollege Board, the AP programme

An American organisation that allows a school to put the letters AP on a pupil's transcript. The permission is granted course by course and tied to a particular teacher, it has to be renewed every year, and College Board reads the course syllabus before granting it.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run advanced AP courses - not the school as a whole, but one by one: by subject and by teacher. Governance, safeguarding and the primary years are not part of that check. Which subjects are actually approved is visible in the ledger. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. Authorisation here runs a year at a time: the register lists the school for the 2025-2026 school year.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CEESACentral and Eastern European Schools Association

About thirty international schools in the region. It runs conferences, teacher development and competitions between schools: robotics, football, volleyball, debating. An accreditation from CIS, NEASC, MSA, WASC or Cognia is a condition of entry here, not an outcome.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to the association. CEESA runs no inspection of its own, but a school is not admitted without somebody else's accreditation - so the school holds one, and that is what to look at. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
AP

Advanced Placement: American advanced courses for the senior years. The exam for a course is set and marked by the College Board, not by the school. A good result is counted by American universities as a first-year course already passed, which saves a student time and money.

What this means for this school. A school does not get to call a course AP automatically: the College Board reads the course syllabus and approves it separately for every subject and every teacher, and the permission has to be renewed each year. Every approved school in the world is listed in the open AP Course Ledger, and this school's entry there stands as a line in the accreditation block above. How many courses a school is approved for, and in which subjects, the ledger does not show in its general listing. AP has no leaving certificate of its own: it sits on top of the school's main programme rather than being a separate system.

American programme

The American school programme, with the High School Diploma at the end. It usually comes together with AP courses, which the College Board stands behind, and with an American accreditation - MSA, NEASC or Cognia.

What this means for this school. The diploma is written out by the school itself: the American programme has no common leaving exam, and the content of the senior years is set by the school. Outside checking therefore rests on two things here - the accreditation of the school, and the AP exams if the school runs them.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Average IB score
35 (world average 30.88)
Exam results Average IB Diploma points: class of 2025 35 (world 31), 2024 36 (world 30), 2023 33 (world 30). In the class of 2026, 68 of 73 seniors (93%) are taking the full IB Diploma. The school does not run an AP programme ("AIS Vienna offers the International Baccalaureate instead of an AP program"), but some students take AP exams after their IB courses.
Where leavers go: University College London · London School of Economics and Political Science · Queen Mary University of London · University of Edinburgh · University of St Andrews · The University of Liverpool · University of Leeds · University of Manchester · New York University · Syracuse University · Tufts University · University of California, Berkeley and others, 14 universities in the school's list in all
According to the high school profile, the classes of 2023-2025 received 580 acceptances at 255 institutions in 27 countries. Graduates went on to study 35% in the EU, 32% in the USA, 23% in the UK, 7% in Canada and 4% elsewhere. The list above shows universities where graduates enrolled.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Clubs and activities: Student Council · Student Led MUN Club · Speech, Debate, & Acting (SDA) · Knowledge Bowl · Robotics Team · Senior Math Team · Junior Math Team · MS Math Counts · Knights Chronicle Newspaper · Yearbook Club · NHS (National Honor Society) · Amnesty Youth · Environmental Club · Gardening Club · Chess Club · German Corner · Medical Outreach Club · Romanian Children's Relief · Stem for Kids · Business Innovation Club · Beamline Competition · Set Crew · MS Play · Girl Scout Troop 84 · Scouts BSA · Soccer · Cross Country · Volleyball · Basketball · Swimming · Track and Field · Softball · Baseball · Tennis
Source: ais.at

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: More than 80% of teachers hold advanced degrees, several have doctorates.
The faculty numbers more than 100, mostly US citizens, with teachers from Europe, Canada, the Middle East, the Far East and South America; the average staff member stays more than 10 years. A typical class has 20 students, language classes are considerably smaller. According to the high school profile, the high school has 39 educators, 36 with advanced degrees and 5 with doctorates, averaging 21 years in the classroom.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
✓Staff training
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
All staff are checked against police records for the past 10 years and re-screened every five years. Everyone, including temporary staff, volunteers and Board members, receives regular child-protection training; the Director reviews the policy annually and reports to the Board. The school has a Safeguarding Handbook and a Safeguarding Code of Conduct. Five counselors work at the school: one in the elementary school, one in the middle school and three in the high school.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
87
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
100
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
80
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
67
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

AMADEUS International School ViennaVienna · 77.6Vienna International SchoolVienna · 77.5St. Gilgen International SchoolSt Gilgen · 79Schloss Krumbach International SchoolKrumbach · 77.2