Home · Spain · Alicante
← Back to home

Centro Educativo Ángel de la Guarda

Spain Alicante, Spain · Private
Illustration · Alicante
72.7#129 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Centro Educativo Ángel de la Guarda is a private Catholic school in Alicante, from nursery to baccalaureate, for children from 0 to 18. The school is run by the secular institute Ignis Ardens, approved in 1999 by the bishop of Orihuela-Alicante; according to the director Gloria Pertegal, the institute has run the school for thirty-five years, the first ten of them only as an infant school, and then added the secondary school and the baccalaureate, national and international. The school describes its project as built on faith, respect, culture, the search for truth and the defence of life, and religious life is part of the school year: Candlemas, the Three Kings parade, the Holy Week procession. There are more than 800 pupils, and the school speaks of itself as an international community with pupils of different cultures and countries. The school has run the IB Diploma Programme since 2015, alongside the national baccalaureate; the IB programme lists biology, physics, chemistry, business management, world religions, environmental systems and societies, two mathematics courses, language A, language B, theory of knowledge, CAS and the extended essay. Some IB teachers are examiners. To help IB graduates enter Spanish universities, the school has been a UNED partner for three years. On its home page the school gives 200 baccalaureate graduates, 97 per cent university entry and 85 per cent of pupils who went all the way from infant school to baccalaureate. The teaching language is Spanish; English runs as a separate project from infant school, Valencian is a compulsory subject and PAU exam, and French is an option in year 4 of ESO. Many pages of the site (teachers, facilities, educational project, primary and secondary) are password-protected.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · DP
Admits from
a few months · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
Spanish
Languages taught
English, French, Catalan
School website
Students
more than 800 pupils, about 100 of them in the infant school
Summer camp
Yes, open to all
Admissions Enrolment is open from infant school to baccalaureate. Admission takes three steps: an enquiry to the office of the relevant stage through the form or by e-mail, a meeting with the pedagogical director of the stage, where the school gets to know the child, then a pre-registration by which places are allocated; if there is a place, the school contacts the family and completes enrolment through the website. The school says it has children of different cultures and countries and names no separate conditions for international pupils.
Stages and year groups Grades nursery (age 0) - baccalaureate year 2. First cycle of infant school: a class for babies under one, a class of one-year-olds and two classes of two-year-olds; the second cycle from three to five with two classes per year, about 100 young children in all. Then primary school, secondary school (ESO), the national baccalaureate and the IB Diploma Programme for ages 16-19.
Address Calle Andalucía, 17-20, 03016 Alicante, España

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · DP · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: DP (ages 16-19). DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results The school reports that IB Diploma graduates obtained an average of 7.7 out of 10 in the university entrance exams. It does not publish average IB scores.
Where leavers go: Universidad de Alicante · Universidad Miguel Hernández
The school gives 97 per cent university entry. There is no list of universities by name; graduate testimonials mention the University of Alicante and Miguel Hernández University in Elche.

Facilities from the school's official website

✓Swimming pool
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground
Campus: The school is in Alicante, on Calle Andalucía. Only the infant school facilities are described openly: 10 classrooms, its own kitchen and dining room, 5 play areas with swings, a sports court for futsal or two basketball courts and 2 swimming pools. Food is cooked on site to a dietitian's menu, with gluten-free and other special menus. School buses have run since 1985, now operated by the family company MI SOL from Elche: six routes across Alicante and the San Juan beach area, morning and evening, buses with air conditioning, seat belts and child seats. The full facilities page is password-protected.
Clubs and activities: Sports clubs · Dance · Art · Music · Chess (kindergarten project)
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp and takes children from outside as well
Summer programme away from campus:
In summer there are three programmes. The summer school for children from 0 to 10 (infant school - year 4) and Campus for pupils from year 5 run all July, from 9:00 to 17:00, drop-off from 7:30: games, pool, sport, languages, theatre, and in Campus also bike trips three times a week, water sports, climbing and an overnight hike. Price: a month 480 euros for own pupils and 580 for others, a week 152 and 183 euros, the first short week 91 and 110 euros. A nurse is on duty all day and participants are insured. Separately there is the residential tent camp El Hontanar for primary pupils, ESO, baccalaureate and university students: 180, 225, 315 and 550 euros by session.

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school does not openly publish the number or qualifications of its teachers: the teachers page is password-protected. The IB page says that some of the programme's teachers are IB examiners. The infant school canteen works with a qualified dietitian, Virtudes Domenech Gandía.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

The school says nothing on its website about security, medical care or pupil support.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
82
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
75
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
73
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
74
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Complejo Educativo Mas CamarenaBétera · 72.7Colegio Santa María del CaminoMadrid · 72.7Dallington SchoolMadrid · 72.8Shackleton International SchoolBurjassot · 72.8