← Back to homeComplejo Educativo Mas Camarena

Bétera, Spain · est. 1997 · Private
Illustration · Bétera
Complejo Educativo Mas Camarena has been running outside Valencia since 1997 and holds something rare: all four International Baccalaureate programmes at once - the PYP in the second cycle of kindergarten and in primary school, the MYP in secondary, and the Diploma and the Career-related Programme in the upper school. The school states plainly that it is the only school in Spain with four active IB programmes and the only one in Valencia with full IB Continuum authorisation; it has run the Diploma since the 2015-16 year. The complex is split into four buildings plus a sports complex, and the school treats each building as a separate, self-contained school: building A for kindergarten and the first year of primary, B for years two to five, C for year six and the first two years of ESO, and the pre-university building D for the third and fourth years of ESO, the baccalaureate and the vocational cycles; buildings C and D stand in the Paterna technology park. Teaching is bilingual - the Spanish curriculum together with an international one. The school has its own residence for Spanish and international students, a sports centre, an official centre of elementary and professional music education, a medical room, a dining hall with its own kitchen, a cafeteria-restaurant and school transport. It holds Apple Distinguished School status and works with the Finnish anti-bullying programme KiVa. It states its academic results plainly: the best PAU mark in the Valencian Community seven times in the last nine years.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP, CP
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English
Admissions The school does not set out an admission procedure with steps and dates on its home page, its about page or its IB page. It does admit foreign pupils and says so itself: its complex includes a residence for Spanish and international students, the "Residencia nacional e internacional" section.
Stages and year groups Grades cycle 1 of kindergarten - baccalaureate and vocational cycles. The stages run right through: the first cycle of kindergarten, the second cycle with the PYP, primary school with the PYP, secondary with the MYP, the national baccalaureate, the IB Diploma and the IB Career-related Programme, and beyond them the vocational cycles. The buildings are divided by stage: building A for kindergarten and year 1 of primary, building B for years 2 to 5, building C for year 6 and years 1-2 of ESO, and the pre-university building D for years 3-4 of ESO, the baccalaureate and the vocational cycles.
Address Urbanización Mas Camarena, C/ Nº 1, s/n, 46117 Bétera (Valencia)
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · PYP, MYP, DP, CP · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19), CP (ages 16-19, with a vocational slant). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate. CP is the final stage with a vocational slant, ages 16 to 19: some of the DP subjects plus an applied qualification. It is meant for those heading into a trade or an applied degree rather than an academic one.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
✓Boarding
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: Four teaching buildings and a sports complex; each building is organised independently, "as four separate schools". Building A holds the general management, administration, secretariat and kindergarten classrooms; buildings B and C the primary school and the first years of ESO; the pre-university building D the upper school and the vocational cycles. Separately there is a residence for Spanish and international students, a sports centre, an official centre of elementary and professional music education, a dining hall with its own kitchen, a cafeteria-restaurant, a medical room, a uniform shop and school transport. Buildings C and D stand in the Paterna technology park.
Summer camp: the school runs its own camp; whether it takes children from outside is not stated on the website
The school describes its summer courses on a separate page: Mas Camarena Summer School - themed English entirely in English in small groups by level; a sports and adventure campus; Baby Summer for children from 4 months to 3 years, with 2 teachers per group; Activa Summer Experience for ages 12-18 in four options; and a football campus for ages 6-14. The programme includes the pool, weekly outings, basketball, padel, tennis, football, skating, swimming, zip-lining, climbing, kayaking and cooking. The page gives no dates or prices.
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has an educational-psychology and guidance department and a medical service of its own. Against bullying it works with the Finnish KiVa programme and keeps a separate "Somos colegio KiVa" page for it.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)95 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data70 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data80 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data55 Value for money (6%) scored at the median74 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country