Beatrix College is a large Dutch public (openbaar) secondary school in the Reeshof district of Tilburg, with about 2000 students and about 200 staff. It offers vmbo-tl, havo and vwo (including vwo+ with the Wetenschap & Techniek or Talentum tracks), its own 5M stream, where students of different levels learn in one class through projects with a personal coach in the first years, and bilingual havo and vwo (tweetalig onderwijs, TTO). In TTO most subjects, such as history, mathematics and geography, are taught in English, with extra subjects drama and personal development, a trip to England in the first year, exchanges and projects; at vwo in years 5-6 students follow the Cambridge Global Perspectives programme with exams and write a Cambridge Independent Research Report, and also earn an IB certificate in English. The final exams are Dutch. Optional programmes include Cambridge English, DELF and Goethe, a debate club, Lego League, a school musical and the TechLAB with makerspace and media studio. Since 2025, students with another mother tongue who have lived in the Netherlands for less than 6 years can take extra Dutch as a second language lessons.
Key facts
Programmes
Cambridge · A-Level · National programme
Languages of instruction
Dutch, English
Languages taught
French, German
About the fees Education is free and textbooks are paid for by the school; students buy their own laptop, dictionaries, atlas, calculator and stationery. The voluntary parental contribution for regular classes and 5M is 50 EUR per year, and non-payment does not exclude a child from activities. For bilingual education the voluntary contribution is higher because the ministry does not fund this programme: for 2026-2027, 450 EUR in years 1-3 (including the year 1 trip to England), 225 EUR in year 4, 265 EUR in havo year 5 and 540 EUR in vwo year 5, and 450 EUR in vwo year 6. Families in difficulty can apply to Stichting Leergeld and the school's Stichting 28 Decemberfonds, which usually cover half the costs.
Admissions First-year students are admitted with a primary school recommendation of gl/tl, havo or vwo; applications with a kader or kader/gl recommendation are not processed. Besides the recommendation, the school must be able to provide the support the child needs. First-year registration takes place on the registration days in March; entry to year 2 or higher is possible during the year or for the next year, decided on the basis of the previous school's report, results and recommendation. After the first year the team determines the level, and the decision is binding (except in 5M, where the level is chosen in year 3). The website does not directly address the admission of foreign children; for students with another mother tongue who have lived in the Netherlands for less than 6 years, the school offers extra Dutch as a second language lessons.
Stages and year groups Grades 1-4 vmbo-tl, 1-5 havo, 1-6 vwo. Dutch curriculum: vmbo-tl (4 years), havo (5 years), vwo (6 years) with final eindexamen exams; first-year classes are vmbo-tl/havo, havo/vwo, bilingual havo/vwo or 5M. vwo+ from year 2 - the Wetenschap & Techniek or Talentum tracks with year-long projects. 5M is the school's own stream with vmbo-tl, havo and vwo students in one class, without textbooks, in four periods with final assignments. Bilingual havo (tth) and vwo (ttv): most subjects in English, while Dutch, French and German are taught in their own languages; in year 4 extra IB and Global Perspectives lessons; at havo an optional IB English Language B certificate; at vwo Cambridge Advanced in year 3, the Cambridge Global Perspectives programme with Cambridge exams in year 5, and the Cambridge Independent Research Report and the IB English Language and Literature A certificate in year 6.
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
Cambridge · A-Level · authorised programmeThe Cambridge register names the school as its centre: on the bilingual vwo track Year 5 students take Cambridge Global Perspectives with Cambridge exams, and in Year 6 the Cambridge Independent Research Report. The main curriculum is Dutch.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
CambridgeCambridge International Education
Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: A-Level (ages 16-18). A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
✓Theatre or assembly hall
✓Library
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Makerspace
Clubs and activities: Debatclub (debating club) · Lego League · Dungeons & Dragons · Boekenclub (book club) · Schrijfclub (creative writing) · Schoolmusical (school musical) · Beatrix Maatschappelijk Ondernemen (social entrepreneurship) · Model European Parliament · Cambridge English · DELF Scolaire (French with the DELF exam) · Goethe (German with the Goethe exam)
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
About 200 staff work at the school for 2000 students. Every student has a coach, and in 5M students meet their coach several times a week; the school has two specialists for gifted students, an orthopedagogue, a school social worker, a qualified teacher of Dutch as a second language and inclusive education consultants. The school hosts trainee teachers and career changers. The school does not publish teacher qualifications or class sizes.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
✓CCTV
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has a safety plan, reviewed annually based on student safety surveys, covering physical, social, emotional and digital safety. There is an anti-bullying protocol and an anti-bullying coordinator, a protocol on domestic violence and child abuse, and rules on inappropriate behaviour. There are internal and external confidential advisors for bullying, discrimination and intimidation; the school is connected to the expertise centre vertrouwenswerk.nl. Camera surveillance may be used in the building. In complex cases the school involves an advisory team including a GGD doctor and mental health services.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)82 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data75 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data65 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country