← Back to the rankingInternational School Laren

Laren, Netherlands · est. 2018 · State
Illustration · Laren
International School Laren (ISL) is a government-subsidised Dutch international secondary school for students aged 11-18 in Laren, in the Het Gooi region near Hilversum. The school was founded in 2018 and is intentionally small; students come from more than 30 nationalities. IB programmes: the Middle Years Programme in Grade 6-10 (ages 11-16) and the Diploma Programme in Grade 11-12, which the school has offered since September 2022. Teaching and communication at school are in English; Dutch and Spanish are taught as acquired languages, and Dutch for native speakers as language and literature. ISL shares its campus with the Dutch bilingual school Laar & Berg. Each new student gets a buddy and a mentor, and there is a house system. The school is a candidate for the IB Career-related Programme in sports or creative media, aiming to start in 2027-2028.
Key facts
Tuition
≈ $6 049–7 048 a year
5 354–6 239 EUR
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Dutch, Spanish
Class size
small classes, the school does not give an exact number
Registration fee
≈ $169
150 EUR
About the fees Fees for 2026-2027: Grade 6 5354 EUR, Grade 7-10 5574 EUR, DP1-2 6239 EUR per year. Exams are extra: 613 EUR in Grade 10 and 850 EUR in DP2. MacBook lease is extra: 699 EUR in Grade 6-8 and 1275 EUR in Grade 9-12 for the whole term. Half of the annual fee is non-refundable when leaving during the year; mid-year starters pay less. Prices are indexed.
Admissions The school admits: students with a non-Dutch passport whose parent or parents are temporarily employed in the Netherlands; Dutch citizens educated in English abroad for two years or more; students whose parents intend to move abroad within two years and who need an international education. Admission is open for Grade 6-10 and DP1. Fluent English is not required, but applicants for Grade 9 and 10 take an English test. DP1 applicants from the Dutch system need a passing vwo 4 report or a havo diploma and sufficient English. Steps: an application form with two years of reports (translated into English), a passport, special needs documents, a reference from the current school if needed, then an interview (online possible); after the decision a non-refundable 150 EUR registration fee. Enrolment is possible at any time of the year. The school does not help with visas.
Stages and year groups Grades Grade 6-10 (MYP), Grade 11-12 (DP1-2). Secondary only, IB programmes in English. Middle Years Programme in Grade 6-10: English and Dutch language and literature, Dutch and Spanish acquisition, history and humanities, biology, chemistry, physics, mathematics, theatre, music, design, PHE, plus mentor lessons, Challenge Hour and EAL; the MYP certificate in Grade 10. Diploma Programme in Grade 11-12: English language and literature compulsory, Dutch for native speakers or a self-taught mother tongue, Dutch ab initio or B, global politics, economics or business management, biology, chemistry, physics or sports, exercise and health science, two mathematics courses, film. Candidate for the IB Career-related Programme from 2027-2028.
Address Langsakker 4a, 1251 GB Laren
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · MYP, DP · authorised programmeThe school is listed in the IB register and runs the Middle Years and Diploma programmes.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Art studio
Clubs and activities: Yearbook club · ISL MUN · Arts Club · ISL Futsal Club · Photography Club · Basketball Club · Cooking club · Volleyball club
Teaching staff from the school's official website
·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: highly qualified staff
The school describes highly qualified staff and small classes; the full list of teachers with subjects is published on the website, and there is a SEN coordinator and a careers counsellor.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school has a five-step bully protocol involving the mentor, the head of school and parents, and a social media policy; there is a student wellbeing model. Each new student is assigned a buddy and a mentor, and there is a house system. There is a SEN coordinator.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)88 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data65 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data75 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country