Home · Portugal · Loulé
← Back to home

Bright International School

Португалия Loulé, Portugal · Private
Illustration · Loulé
71.0#24 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

The school stands in Loulé, in the town industrial park, and takes children through the Cambridge International programme: Early Years from age 3, Primary, Lower Secondary and Upper Secondary leading to IGCSE in Years 10-11. The language of lessons is English: the site, the IGCSE booklet and the pages for parents are written in English, in Early Years the school states the aim of bringing children to fluency in English, and for parents who do not speak English it offers support in Portuguese and Spanish. English, mathematics and at least one science are compulsory at IGCSE, Portuguese is taken as a first or second language, French and Spanish as foreign languages; Portuguese second language is examined by Pearson Edexcel, the rest by Cambridge. Classes hold no more than 18. Children of more than 30 nationalities attend and the school has no religious affiliation. The team numbers over 50: teachers with degrees from British, Portuguese, South African, German and other universities, some of them native English speakers, plus an educational psychologist, a head of learning support qualified as SENCo, and an exams officer. The school publishes a safeguarding and child protection policy and an anti-bullying policy. Lunches are included in the fees and the school provides stationery and schoolbooks itself; uniform is required.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $9 003–17 844 a year
7 750–15 360 EUR
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · Pearson Edexcel
Admits from
3 years · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Portuguese, Spanish, French
School website
Class size
18 pupils
About the fees Annual fees for 2025-26: 7750 EUR in Early Years, 9900 in Years 1-2, 11150 in Years 3-4, 12565 in Years 5-6, 14980 in Years 7-9, 15360 in Years 10-11. The termly instalment is 2650 to 5250 EUR. Fees include learning resources and stationery; after-school activities are not included.
Admissions The school takes applications year round and states that children of more than 30 nationalities attend, and in its questions and answers more than 25. It has no religious affiliation and calls itself non-discriminatory. For children whose English is not a first language there is ESL support; with parents who do not speak English the school communicates in Portuguese and Spanish. Classes take no more than 18. The admission rules are published as a separate Admissions Policy document.
Stages and year groups Grades Pre-Reception, Reception, Year 1 - Year 11. Stages follow the Cambridge programme: Early Years for ages 3 to 5 (Pre-Reception and Reception), Primary Years 1-6, Lower Secondary Years 7-9, Upper Secondary Years 10-11 with IGCSE courses that start in September of Year 10 and end with examinations in May and June of Year 11, at ages 14 to 16. The school describes the Cambridge Pathway up to age 19 and names A Level as a continuation, but tuition fees are published only up to Year 11.
Address Parque Industrial de Loulé, Zona Industrial B, Lote 14, 8100-272 Loulé

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programmePearson · authorised programme
The school names Pearson Edexcel as the examination board for Portuguese as a second language at IGCSE. The school is not in the official Pearson registry: the Portuguese list was swept in full on 27.09.2026 and agreed with the registry's own counter. The record therefore stands on the school's own word and does not count towards the score.
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
PearsonPearson Edexcel, a British exam board

It gives a school approved centre status: that means Pearson exams can be sat in the school itself. What is checked is the premises, the equipment, the secure storage of papers and the presence of trained invigilators.

What this status would mean. The school can run Pearson exams on its own premises. The status says nothing about teaching, about results or about the school itself: any school able to run an exam securely holds it. The school is not in the organisation's register: the status comes from the school's own words. Which Pearson qualifications this school is approved for is not stated here.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Playground
Campus: Learning spaces are arranged around six themes - Islands, Port and Market, Beach, Fort, Cliff and Caves, Nature - with places for collaboration, quiet zones, work pods and outdoor learning areas. The school is open from 8:30 to 17:00, lunches are cooked for all pupils, stationery and schoolbooks are included in the fees, and there is a school bus and a uniform.
Clubs and activities: Ballet · Karate · Playball · Music · Inventors · Dance & Drama Club · Cooking Club · Art Club · Robothink Club · Monkeynastix

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
✓Teacher qualifications
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
✓Students per teacher or class sizein the key facts above
What the listings show: Teachers hold degrees from the University of Exeter, University of Reading, Roehampton University, Curtin University, Universidade do Algarve, Faculdade de Letras da Universidade de Lisboa, Universidade Lusófona, University of the Western Cape, University of Pretoria, University of South Africa, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität, Glion, Les Roches and the University of Havana. Many hold master's degrees, a PGCE or separate specialist certifications.
The school has over 50 teaching and support staff. Some teachers are native English speakers from the United Kingdom, the United States, Australia and South Africa, the others come from various countries. On the staff are an educational psychologist, a head of learning support qualified as SENCo with over 20 years of experience, and an exams officer. Classes hold no more than 18.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
✓Child protection policy
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
✓Anti-bullying policy
The school publishes a safeguarding and child protection policy, an anti-bullying policy, a behaviour and discipline policy, a separate behaviour and reward policy for Early Years, an academic integrity policy and school bus rules. On the staff are an educational psychologist and a head of learning support qualified as SENCo.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
70
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
63
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Prime School EstorilEstoril · 70.9Colégio AtlânticoSeixal · 71.3St. Peter's International SchoolPalmela · 71.4NOBEL Algarve British International School - LagoaLagoa · 71.4