Home · UAE · Dubai
← Back to home

Citizens School

ОАЭ Dubai, UAE · est. 2022 · Private
Illustration · Dubai
63.8#299 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Citizens School is a young Dubai school next to City Walk which opened in 2022 and grows along with its pupils: at present it runs a nursery and year groups up to year ten, adding one more year group each academic year. A parent should know this plainly: the school has no senior stage yet, and its first leaving class is still ahead. Its curriculum is its own, the Citizens Future Framework, aligned with the National Curriculum for England, and it is built around entrepreneurship and venture building: the school has its own incubator and programmes in artificial intelligence, sustainable thinking, health and wellbeing, while its sustainability programme runs with Gracia Group on city garden plots and in a bee garden. From year ten, applied BTEC courses sit alongside IGCSEs. The first KHDA inspection rated the school Good, and Very Good for innovation and personal development. The campus covers 43,000 square metres: STEM labs, a production studio, a wellbeing centre, a library, sports facilities, a Social Gym and a canteen. A school nurse and a school doctor of its own are named on the staff list.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $12 253–23 145 a year
45 000–85 000 AED
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE · BTEC
Admits from
3 years
Languages
English
School website
About the fees The KHDA-approved annual fee is 45,000 dirhams in FS1, 55,000 in FS2, 65,000 from year one to year six, 75,000 in years seven and eight, 80,000 in year nine and 85,000 in year ten. For 2026-2027 the school offers discounts on these amounts: 5 per cent in FS1 and FS2, 2.5 per cent from year one to year six, 5 per cent from year seven to year nine and 10 per cent in year ten, which brings the amounts payable to 42,750, 52,250, 63,375, 71,250, 76,000 and 76,500 dirhams. The nursery is not part of this schedule.
Stages and year groups Grades nursery from 3 months, EYFS from age 3 - year 10. The school has a nursery for children from three months to three years, then EYFS for ages three to five, then a primary stage from year one to year six and a secondary stage from year seven. At present the school ends at year ten and adds one year group per academic year; the IGCSE and BTEC examination courses begin in year ten.
Address 243 22D St / Al Safa St (Opposite City Walk)

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

CIS · membershipCOBIS · membership
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CISCouncil of International Schools

It accredits international schools and is a paying association at the same time. It examines governance and ownership, the curriculum, teaching, student wellbeing, staff and premises; a team of volunteers from other CIS accredited schools visits the school. Membership and accreditation are different things here, and schools confuse them more often than anything else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
COBISCouncil of British International Schools

An association of British schools abroad with a quality inspection of its own. It has nine membership categories, and the word "accredited" appears in seven of them, although COBIS does its own inspection in one: in the rest it recognises an accreditation granted by somebody else.

What the badge means for this school. The school belongs to this organisation but has not been through its accreditation. The difference matters: membership is usually paid for and has no external inspection behind it. The entry is confirmed in the organisation's open directory.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
CambridgeIGCSE

Programmes of the University of Cambridge: the school teaches to Cambridge syllabuses and enters its pupils for exams that Cambridge marks itself. IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate.

What this means for this school. The papers are marked by Cambridge, not by the school, so a leaver's grade does not depend on how strict their own teachers are with them. To enter pupils for these exams a school has to be registered as a Cambridge exam centre; registration as a centre is permission to run exams rather than accreditation of the school, and it says nothing about the quality of teaching. IGCSE is taken at around Year 10 or 11 and A-Level in the final years, and it is the A-Level results that carry a pupil into British and many other universities.

BTEC

A British vocational qualification from Pearson: not an academic course with an exam at the end, but a programme of practical assignments in a particular trade, from engineering and business to art and sport.

What this means for this school. Teaching and assessment work differently from A-level: instead of written exams there is a run of practical assignments marked by the school, while Pearson checks the school itself and samples the work. British universities do accept BTEC, but not all of them and not for every course: level 3 carries the same UCAS points as A-level, and that is what a family aiming at a particular university should look at. For a child who needs the classic academic route, BTEC is not a replacement for A-level but a different path.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field
Campus: A campus of 43,000 square metres next to City Walk. It holds STEM labs, a library, a wellbeing centre, a canteen, sports facilities, a production studio and a Social Gym. School transport is provided.
Source: citizens.me

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
✓Nurse or medical room
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school names a nurse and a school doctor of its own, by name, with a shared clinic email address. There is a wellbeing centre on campus. The school does not separately name a child protection policy, security staff or a psychologist; it publishes its school policy in the KHDA section.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
65
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%)
56
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Queen International SchoolDubai · 63.8Al Ain American SchoolAl Ain · 63.8The Winchester SchoolDubai · 63.7Modern British AcademyAbu Dhabi · 63.7