Home · Spain · Cuarte de Huerva
← Back to home

Colegio Británico de Aragón

Spain Cuarte de Huerva, Spain · est. 1974 · Private
Illustration · Cuarte de Huerva
74.7#95 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Colegio Británico de Aragón is a private international school south of Zaragoza, opposite Cuarte de Huerva, on a 50000 square metre site in natural surroundings with access to the Z40 and the A-23 motorway. It has run its project since 1974 and is now marking 50 years. The school is authorised for all three IB programmes - PEP, PAI and PD, that is PYP, MYP and the Diploma - and calls itself the only school in Zaragoza where the Diploma is taught in English: up to 70 per cent of the teaching load depending on the subjects chosen. Lessons are in English and Spanish, physical education entirely in English, and French and German complete the set; almost half of the 2024-2025 graduating class obtained the Cambridge C2 certificate. The school is an Apple Distinguished School, the only one in Aragón, with personal iPads and Macs for pupils from primary school to bachillerato; it holds EFQM 5 star certification and the Aragón Empresa gold seal. The youngest come early: the OKLU nursery takes children from 4 months, and English immersion begins at 6 months. Its own kitchen prepares more than 800 lunches a day, and 10 bus routes run with an escort. In summer the school takes children to an English-language camp in the Pyrenees and runs a city summer school in Zaragoza. The school does not publish its fees on the site.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP, DP
Admits from
4 months · Pre-School
Languages of instruction
English, Spanish
Languages taught
French, German
School website
Admissions The school invites families to a personal visit and warns that places are limited; registration is through the form on the site, by telephone or by e-mail, and it publishes no entrance test, documents or deadlines for the younger stages. Admission to the IB Diploma Programme is by interview, assessing English, Spanish for pupils with another mother tongue, a handwritten letter of motivation, a recommendation from the previous school, social projects and the marks of the last term of ESO year 4. The school does not write directly about pupils from other countries or their documents.
Stages and year groups Grades OKLU nursery from 4 months - bachillerato (IB Diploma). The stages run without a break: the OKLU nursery from 4 months to 2 years with English immersion from 6 months, kindergarten for children of 2-5 years under the PYP, primary school from year 1 to year 6 under the PYP, ESO under the MYP and bachillerato - the IB Diploma Programme. Diploma graduates enter Spanish universities without the EvAU examination, by conversion of IB points. The kindergarten has no traditional classrooms, using mixed-level spaces.
Address Carretera Valencia km 8,500, 50410 Cuarte de Huerva, Zaragoza

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP, MYP, DP · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results Almost half of the 2024-2025 graduating class obtained the Cambridge C2 certificate. The school does not publish IB Diploma points; it points out that the diploma is awarded with a minimum of 24 points.
Where leavers go: Universidad Francisco de Vitoria
The school publishes no list of universities, but on its alumni page it tells the stories of several leavers: a double degree in business and law in Pamplona, architecture at Universidad Francisco de Vitoria in Madrid, digital design, primary teaching with English. The IB Diploma, it says, is recognised by leading universities worldwide, and Spanish universities admit it without the EvAU examination.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
✓Sports hall
✓Laboratories
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
✓Library
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Also on site: Sports ground or field · Playground · Makerspace
Campus: A 50000 square metre site in natural surroundings south of Zaragoza; 10000 square metres are built in three buildings - kindergarten, primary and secondary school, bachillerato. The nursery has the 240 square metre OKLU area with its own kitchen and toilets, gardens and play areas. The main building has a makerspace with laboratories, a soundproofed music room, art areas, robotics, flexible classrooms, a video and radio studio and terraces. Sport: an artificial grass football pitch of 1700 square metres, 3 mini-basketball courts, a hockey pitch, a rugby pitch and a sports hall with two basketball courts and a futsal court. Its own kitchen and a canteen with more than 300 seats prepare more than 800 lunches a day. Two car parks for 125 and 225 cars and a separate one for teachers. 10 morning bus routes and afternoon runs.
Summer programme away from campus: . The school runs no camp of its own on campus
Summer Camp CBA is a residential English-language camp in Sarvisé, in the Aragonese Pyrenees at the entrance to the Ordesa valley: in 2026 from 1 to 10 July, for pupils from primary year 2 to ESO year 3, in two groups - Little Adventurers and Big Explorers. Hiking, rafting, zip-lining, tree climbing, horse riding, creative workshops and an evening programme; places are allocated in order of registration. For those who stay in the city there is the Summer School CBA in Zaragoza.

Teaching staff

The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
Each school bus has an escort who sees that safety rules are observed, and the BAT ON ROUTE app shows parents where the bus is and notifies them when the child gets on and off. A psycho-pedagogical department is named in the school's structure. The school names no security staff, no video surveillance, no medical worker and no anti-bullying policy.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
95
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
85
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
74
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Lycée Français International d'Alicante Pierre DeschampsEl Campello · 74.7The British International School of MarbellaMarbella · 74.7Xàbia International CollegeJávea · 74.7Green Valley SchoolPalma · 74.8