Home · Spain · Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
← Back to home

Colegio Hispano Ingles de Las Palmas

Spain Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain · Private
Illustration · Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
73.4#117 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Colegio Hispano Ingles is a private, secular school in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, and its central idea is the double qualification: a pupil follows the British and the Spanish curriculum at the same time and gains both official certifications - the Spanish Bachillerato with the EBAU and the British IGCSE and A-Levels. Every pupil has two tutors, Spanish and British, working side by side. There are four languages, and the school certifies all four: Spanish, English, German and Mandarin Chinese, with teaching staff recruited from Spain, the British Isles, Germany and China. Public speaking is a project in its own right: from the age of four children go on stage at the Alfredo Kraus auditorium in four languages, and older pupils take part in national debating leagues and Model United Nations. The school has more than two hundred iMacs, all its pupils learn Python, and a nutrition department designs the school menu. For more than ten years it has held an agreement with the Philharmonic Society of Las Palmas: its families attend concerts at the Perez Galdos theatre. The school shows its results by name: top in Spain in Cambridge English and International Mathematics in 2013, 2018, 2019, 2021, 2023 and 2024, top in the world in Cambridge English in 2014, and several of the best EBAU results in Spain.

Key facts

Tuition
≈ $4 338–7 501 a year
384–664 EUR a month
The year is counted as ten payments: the school does not say how many payments it takes.
Programmes
Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · National programme
Admits from
8 months
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English
Languages taught
German, Chinese
About the fees The school states its fee on its home page, in the questions section: instead of paying for services separately it has a single all-inclusive monthly fee - from 664 euros, the highest, down to 384 euros, the lowest, depending on how many brothers and sisters attend the school. It covers all educational services, the dual Spanish and British curriculum, daily German and Chinese lessons, morning drop-off from 7:30, all meals (plus breakfasts and snacks in the baby school), accident and civil liability insurance, the psycho-pedagogical service with psychologists and speech therapists, school visits and outings with transport, and access to the school support fund, which lets a child continue at the school up to the bachillerato if the father or mother dies of illness or in an accident.
Admissions To enrol a child, the family fills in an online form, after which the school gets in touch, arranges a time and explains its project; families are invited to visit by booking through the site or by phone, Monday to Friday from 9:00 to 14:00. Places, the school says, are limited and are allocated in the order of the visits. The Beagle Baby House takes children from eight months, and places there are especially few, so the school advises booking early. The school names no entrance tests, documents or conditions for foreigners.
Stages and year groups The school runs two curricula at once, British and Spanish, and issues two qualifications on completion: the Spanish Bachillerato with the EBAU examination and the British IGCSE and A-Levels. From the age of four pupils perform on stage in four languages; in secondary school and the Bachillerato national debating leagues and Model United Nations are added.

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

Cambridge · IGCSE, A-Level · authorised programme
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

CambridgeCambridge International Education

Part of the University of Cambridge. It allows a school to teach the Cambridge programmes and to enter pupils for the exams. There are four stages and they are authorised separately: primary, lower secondary, IGCSE and A Level. If the stages are known they are named in the line below; if that line is missing, the school does not publish them, and the Cambridge registry does not show stages either - it gives only the name of the centre, the country and whether private candidates are accepted. Cambridge calls what it does registration rather than accreditation, and the network holds about ten thousand schools.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: IGCSE (ages 14-16), A-Level (ages 16-18). IGCSE means exams at around Year 10 or 11, the British counterpart of a lower secondary leaving certificate. A-Level is the senior years, and their results are what British and many other universities admit on.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

Exam results The school writes that all its pupils pass IGCSE with grades from A* to C in international mathematics, biology, chemistry, physics, English, Spanish, German, history, geography, economics, enterprise and computer science; the exams are held at the school under the supervision of Cambridge International Education inspectors. The average mark of its leavers in the EBAU university entrance exam is, it says, the highest in the province of Las Palmas among private, state and state-funded schools. By name it lists the top in Spain in the EBAU in 2010, 2012, 2016, 2017, 2021 and 2025, the top in Spain in Cambridge international mathematics in 2018, 2019, 2023 and 2025 and in Cambridge English in 2013 and 2021, and the top result in the world in Cambridge English in 2014. The school does not publish a numerical average mark or pass rates by year.
Where leavers go: King's College London · University College London · Universität Berlin · Changchun Normal University (长春师范大学) · Universidad Carlos III de Madrid · ESADE · The University of Arizona · Eindhoven University of Technology

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: A campus in the Ciudad Jardin district of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria; the school has more than two hundred iMacs worked on with computer engineers and developers, and its own school garden with animals cared for by the pupils.
Clubs and activities: Basketball · Football · Volleyball · Speakers' corner · Debating and Model United Nations · Python programming · Performances at the Alfredo Kraus theatre

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school does not publish the number of its teachers, but says they come from Spain, the British Isles, Germany, China and other countries, and that languages are taught by native speakers; each pupil has two form tutors, Spanish and British, who guide them in parallel through the two curricula. In the baby school language is taught with a very low ratio of children to native teacher, but the school gives no figure. The psycho-pedagogical service is run by staff psychologists and speech therapists. The school publishes no qualifications or class sizes.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school includes in its fee a psycho-pedagogical service with staff psychologists and speech therapists, and accident and civil liability insurance; it has pupil conduct rules and a parents' school. It names no security staff, no medical room and no written child protection policy.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
85
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
80
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
60
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
60
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
78
Value for money (6%)
83
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 8 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Emilio Sánchez American SchoolEl Prat de Llobregat · 73.4Canterbury SchoolLas Palmas de Gran Canaria · 73.4Thames British SchoolMajadahonda · 73.4Colegio Virgen de EuropaBoadilla del Monte · 73.4