Home · Spain · Granada
← Back to home

Colegio Monaita

Spain Granada, Spain · Private
Illustration · Granada
65.0#374 in the country
Know this school? Leave a review →

Colegio Monaita is a private bilingual school of the Attendis group in Granada, and the first thing a parent needs to know is that Attendis teaches boys and girls separately. The group calls this "educación diferenciada" and explains it thus: "adecuamos el aprendizaje a los diferentes ritmos madurativos de cada sexo, potenciando la igualdad y el liderazgo femenino". The schools therefore come in pairs, and this one's pair is Mulhacén, at its own address in the same town. The ladder runs right through: nursery (Attendis Preschool, from six months to two years), infant, primary, secondary and the baccalaureate to its second year. Teaching is bilingual from the very start: in the infant and primary years half the teaching time is in English, in secondary a third of the day and at least three curricular subjects; native speakers work in the school and run small-group conversation practice inside the timetable. From year 1 of primary a third language is added by choice - French, German or Portuguese - and in secondary and the baccalaureate it becomes a compulsory subject. The group's schools are themselves exam centres for Cambridge ESOL, Trinity College, the Alliance Française and the Goethe Institut, and the aim Attendis sets out plainly is for a pupil to leave with the Certificate in Advanced English, that is level C1. Of the IB programmes the school holds the Primary Years Programme; the group runs the IB Diploma only in Marbella and Seville. The canteen is its own, with its own kitchen, and school buses cover the surrounding area; the routes are usually run by the school's own teachers. The school does not state a tuition fee on the site.

Key facts

Tuition
Price on request
Programmes
IB · PYP, MYP · National programme
Admits from
a few months
Languages of instruction
Spanish, English
Languages taught
French, German, Portuguese
School website
About the fees The school publishes no tuition fee: not one amount appears on its stage pages. The only price on the group's domain is the nursery: the town's Attendis Preschool charges 353 euros a month with meals for ages 0-2 and opens from 9:00 to 16:45 (page /preschool-granada/). There are no amounts for the school itself, for the canteen or for the bus.
Admissions Under its own admissions policy the school takes children from 0 to 18, "sea cual sea su origen, nacionalidad, discapacidad" - whatever their origin, nationality or disability - and says plainly that pupils of different nationalities enrich learning; the one condition is that the family formally accepts the school's educational project. The procedure: an application, a conversation of the parents with the governing committee, a conversation of the child with a teacher and a diagnostic test - compulsory from primary school, in ESO and in the bachillerato - acceptance of the project, the rules of conduct and the IB policies, a decision by the management and formalisation of the place with payment of the enrolment fee and submission of documents. The school reports back on the outcome within a week at most. Siblings of pupils and children of former Attendis pupils have priority. Those coming from abroad present, in the bachillerato, the recognition of their previous studies in Spain. If English is lacking, the school decides together with the English department whether to start a language immersion plan, and warns the family honestly if its resources for the child are insufficient.
Stages and year groups Grades nursery from 6 months - year 2 of the baccalaureate. The stages run right through and are labelled on the school's services page as "Guardería - Infantil - Primaria - ESO - Bachillerato". The Attendis Preschool nursery is a separate site of the group: ages 0-2, and the school writes that it takes children "desde que tienen apenas seis meses". The project, as the group itself puts it, "continúa hasta 2º de Bachillerato". The school publishes no age bands per year group; from the IB programmes it is known that the PYP covers ages 3-12.
Address Calle Acequia de la Madraza, s/n, 18015 Granada

Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries

IB · PYP, MYP · authorised programmeAttendis · school is part of the network
school is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations →

What stands behind each entry

IBInternational Baccalaureate

A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.

What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: PYP (ages 3-12), MYP (ages 11-16). PYP is the primary stage, ages 3 to 12. It is not a set of subjects but a frame for the whole school: learning is built around lines of inquiry, and there are no exams at the end. MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible.

Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →
National programme

The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.

What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.

Attendisschool network

Attendis is a private school group in southern Spain founded in 1972. On its site the group lists 20 schools and 13 Attendis Preschool nurseries in Andalusia and Extremadura: two schools each in Algeciras, Almería, Badajoz, Granada, Huelva, Jaén, Málaga, Marbella, Seville and the El Puerto de Santa María and Jerez area. According to the group, all of its schools were started by parents inspired by the teachings of Saint Josemaría on education and the family. Since the early years the schools have been run by the public limited company Centros Familiares de Enseñanza, registered in the Seville Commercial Register. The group's site is attendis.com.

What this means for this school. The network owns or operates the school. Its accreditation and programme authorisation the school obtains separately, in its own name.

Exams and destinations from the school's official website

The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.

Facilities from the school's official website

·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
✓Catering
✓School transport
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: Its own canteen with its own kitchen: in the school's words, the school offers a canteen service on its own premises, and the menus, supervised by nutrition specialists, are prepared every day in the school's kitchens. School buses cover most of the settlements around the school, the vehicles have seats fitted for all ages, and the routes are usually run by the centre's own teachers. The school names no other facilities on its pages - no sports hall, pool, library or laboratories.
Source: attendis.com

Teaching staff from the school's official website

·Teachers listed by namenot published
·Teacher qualificationsnot stated
·Number of teachersthe school does not say
·Students per teacher or class sizenot stated
The school publishes numbers rather than names, and on its own page all of them stand as zeroed counters that a script fills in: "teachers certified to teach International Baccalaureate programmes", "hours devoted each week to personal and family guidance", "pupils entered for Cambridge certification exams in 2023". All the text shows is that some of the teachers are certified for IB programmes and that native English speakers work in the school as conversation assistants.

Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website

·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
·Counsellornot stated on the website
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school names no separate child protection policy, security staff, CCTV, medical room or psychologist on its pages. Of its support service the group describes "asesoramiento personal y familiar" - individual support for pupil and family, to which hours are given every week.

Reviews

No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.

Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets

Academics and programmes (16%)
72
Community rating (16%)
no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one
Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data
55
Accreditation and verifiability (10%)
85
Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data
55
Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data
70
Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data
55
Value for money (6%) scored at the median
74
"Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives. The full methodology →

Similar schools in the country

Colegio AltocastilloJaen · 65Colegio Arenas SurMaspalomas · 65Colegio MontecalpeAlgeciras · 65Colegio MulhacénGranada · 65