← Back to homeCol·legi Montserrat

Barcelona, Spain · est. 1926 · Private
Illustration · Barcelona
Col·legi Montserrat is a private school in Barcelona, at the foot of the Collserola natural park, founded on 29 September 1926 by the Misioneras Hijas de la Sagrada Familia de Nazaret congregation and part of its worldwide Nazaret Global Education network - 36 schools in nine countries. The school's ladder is a long one and starts earlier than usual: the Tripod LC programme for expectant parents and babies, a nursery from birth to two, infant education from three to six, then primary, secondary and two upper-school routes - the national LOMLOE baccalaureate and the IB Diploma. Of the IB programmes the school runs two: the Diploma since 2012 (it was one of the first schools in Catalonia) and the Middle Years Programme, authorised in 2022; the stage is labelled in the menu exactly that way - "Ed. Secundària - MYP". The school awards a bilingual diploma - "Diploma Bilingüe" - and its pupils attend the World Student Conferences the IB holds each year in different countries. At the middle stage some complementary subjects are taught in English: the school states plainly that for Drama and for the ExpeRImental Lab courses "la llengua d'aprenentatge és l'anglès". It has its own psychopedagogical service working with pupils, families and teachers alike and drawing on the regional EAP service. Extracurricular provision is split into separate "schools": sport, STEM with robotics, music, dance, languages, art and a learning support programme. The school runs its site in Catalan, and the main language of lessons is Catalan; in primary school English has five hours a week and several more subjects are taught in English, together about 30 per cent of the curriculum, and at secondary level Drama, Film and the ExpeRImental Lab laboratory courses are taught in English. Spanish is taught as a subject, and from primary school pupils try French, German and Italian by term and then choose a French or a German track. The school does not state a fee on the site.
Key facts
Programmes
IB · MYP, DP · National programme
Languages of instruction
English
Languages taught
Spanish, French, German, Italian
About the fees There is no fee on the site: the school has no tuition page at all, and no amount appears on any of the pages read. Of the paid items the menu names the canteen, the cafeteria, after-school care ("Permanència"), parking and uniforms, but their tariffs sit on pages the domain would not serve to the browser.
Admissions The school does not publish its admission procedure as text: the section "Informació i noves admissions" carries an enquiry form, and pre-registration runs in two separate streams, for kindergarten, primary and secondary school and separately for the bachillerato. The school names no entrance tests, no language requirements and no conditions for foreign families. On the IB programme pages the school says that it publishes its own programme policies: principles, policies and assessment procedures.
Stages and year groups Grades Tripod LC (prenatal and babies), nursery 0-2 - baccalaureate. The school lists its stages in its own menu as: Tripod LC (Prenatal i nadons), Llar d'infants (0-2 anys), Ed. Infantil (3-6 anys), Ed. Primària, Ed. Secundària - MYP, Batxillerat - PD, Batxillerat LOMLOE. That is, the upper stage splits into two routes: the national baccalaureate and the IB Diploma. The school publishes no daily timetable on the pages read.
Address Avinguda de Vallvidrera, 68, 08017 Barcelona
Accreditations and programmes verified against official registries
IB · MYP, DP · authorised programmeschool is in an official registryconfirmed by a school document, by membership or by taking part in a networkclaimed by the school, no confirmation, not counted in the scoreGuide to all organisations → What stands behind each entry
IBInternational Baccalaureate
A Swiss non-profit, working since 1968. Its programmes are among the most widely recognised school programmes in the world. Authorisation is granted stage by stage, so a school with the final stage does not necessarily run the younger ones; which stages this school holds is set out in the line below.
What the badge means for this school. The school is allowed to run this programme and to award its certificate. This is a confirmation of the programme, not a judgement on the school as a whole. The entry stands in the organisation's public register - anyone can check it. At this school: MYP (ages 11-16), DP (ages 16-19). MYP is the middle stage, ages 11 to 16. There are no exams here either; at the end an optional electronic assessment of pupils' work is possible. DP is the final stage, ages 16 to 19: six subjects plus a compulsory core of theory of knowledge, an extended essay and CAS. The diploma is accepted by universities all over the world, and in a number of countries it counts for admission on the same footing as the local leaving certificate.
Register to check for yourself, and the full guide →National programme
The state school programme of the country the school stands in: it is set by that country's ministry of education, which also licenses the school and awards the leaving certificate. That certificate is used for entry to local universities, and abroad it is matched to the local one.
What this means for this school. This entry does not count towards the score, and that is deliberate. Every lawful school in a country works to the national programme, so on its own it tells one school apart from no other - unlike the French, German or Russian programmes, which are carried abroad and confirmed by the register of their organisation. We show it because a parent needs to know what programme their child is taught and what certificate the child will get. Counting it would lift the whole ranking at once and still tell nobody apart.
Exams and destinations from the school's official website
The school publishes nothing about where its leavers go: no share going on to university, no exam results, no list of universities.
Facilities from the school's official website
·Swimming poolnot stated on the website
·Sports hallnot stated on the website
·Laboratoriesnot stated on the website
·Theatre or assembly hallnot stated on the website
·Librarynot stated on the website
·Cateringnot stated on the website
·School transportnot stated on the website
·Boardingnot stated on the website
Campus: The school stands at the foot of the Collserola natural park, on Av. Vallvidrera, and describes this itself as an advantage: "Lluny de l'estrès i la contaminació de la ciutat... amb nivells significativament més baixos de CO2". It explains its use of space thus: "L'escola és una globalitat: tots els espais són educatius", stressing the role of shared multi-purpose zones alongside ordinary classrooms. The "Instal·lacions" page gives no itemised list of facilities. It is reached from the foot of the funicular, by the S1 and S2 trains to Pl. Borràs and by buses H2, V7 and 130.
Clubs and activities (7): Sports school · STEM and robotics · Music school · Dance school · Language school · Art school · Learning support programme
Teaching staff
The school publishes neither the number of its teachers nor their qualifications.
Safety and wellbeing from the school's official website
·CCTVnot stated on the website
·Security staffnot stated on the website
·Access controlnot stated on the website
·Nurse or medical roomnot stated on the website
✓Counsellor
·Child protection policynot stated on the website
·Staff trainingnot stated on the website
·Anti-bullying policynot stated on the website
The school has its own psychopedagogical service - the Departament d'Orientació Psicopedagògica - working with pupils, with teaching teams and with all families. It administers psychopedagogical tests to find learning difficulties and careers tests at the end of ESO, gives individual support and follow-up to those who need it, and advises teachers on a pupil's specific needs; it draws on the regional EAP service (Equip d'Assessorament Psicopedagògic del Departament d'Ensenyament). The school's menu carries a separate "Safe Guarding" item, but that page would not open.
Reviews
No reviews yet. The community rating counts towards the score once a school has five verified reviews - until then we do not show a zero, so as not to mislead.
Criteria breakdown criterion weight in brackets
Academics and programmes (16%)88 Community rating (16%)no dataparent reviews are needed: the criterion switches on at the fifth verified one Exams and destinations (12%) scored on disclosed data55 Safety and wellbeing (12%) scored on disclosed data60 Accreditation and verifiability (10%)85 Teaching staff (10%) scored on disclosed data55 Facilities (10%) scored on disclosed data60 Clubs and activities (8%) scored on disclosed data78 Value for money (6%) scored at the median61 "Scored on disclosed data" stands where we count only what the school has written about itself on its own site: exams and destinations, safety and wellbeing, teaching staff, facilities, clubs and activities. A low score here means the school does not write about this, not that the school does not have it: a school with good security and a sparse site will score low. A school can fill in its profile, and the score will be counted again.
The score is counted from 7 of the 9 criteria.Only those with checkable data count: programmes and accreditations from official registers, the fee from a published price list. Where it says "scored on the median", the school has no data and the middle of the list is put in its place, so that a gap gives no advantage. Admissions, teaching staff and reviews come in as their data arrives.
The full methodology → Similar schools in the country